We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 54: English reviews
Jersey Shore, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I choose this place due to the price as it was cheap and near my internship. The price I was given through Expedia was $147 and it stated a refrigerator & microwave were included. At check in, I was told it was $20 extra a day to get a room with a refrigerator. I declined and then was told I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loralitz
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

We're very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. The rate that you received through Expedia did not include tax. Our tax is 13%. 6% State and 7% County tax. Also, if you felt there were discrepancies in your bill upon check out, we would have been more than happy to go over it with you...

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The best thing I had was the access to the internet location and the parking space they have. Other than that, all was bad to me. Cleanliness of the room and the staff who came to clean my room were terrible. The swimming pool was also terrible. I can't recommend it to any of my friends.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mohammed A
Ms_Maggee_May, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your August stay with us. We deeply regret that your 7 days at our property was not more pleasant. We take pride in giving all our guests the best service possible. It would have helped us to make other future guests stays more enjoyable if we had gotten your review sooner. That way, we could...

New Port Richey, Florida
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Ugh...! This is a perfect example of people managing a facility who have poor quality standards. The rooms were quite dated, Bathtub riddled with cigarete burns, the shower head was a super water saver type, no dirt remavl with this. The morning breakfast consisted of yesterday's milk and OJ, being 1/3 filled @ openoing time 7:00A.M. The morning staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shooster365
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property and for showing us your perspective. We try very hard to keep our property nice, while keeping our prices as low as possible, but it makes it very hard when inconsiderate guests damage our property. We will do our best to have the nicest property possible at the most reasonable price possible.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Make sure you have cash on you, because there is a $50 cash only security deposit required at check-in. Once we got to the room, we saw how sketchy and run down the back of the hotel looks like, the bath tub had mildew and was very dirty, there was a dead beetle body under my comforter, at breakfast, there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sth527
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and I'm terribly sorry that you did not find your stay more pleasant. The conditions that you state are unacceptable and I have instructed our housekeeping and maintenance staff to go through all back rooms with a fine tooth comb. I trust that the next time you stay with us...

Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We booked this room at the last minute mainly because the it cost half as much as the other 2 hotels nearby (the Radisson and Hilton). Between the low prices and the negative reviews, we were definitely worried that it was not going to be a good experience, but we were most definitely wrong! From the outside it looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dave C
dharmacorp, Public Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kindly honest comments. Our main goal is to keep price for the hotel room rental affordable while providing a clean and comfortable place to spend a night. Our downtown location adds value for money if one prefer to stay closer to downtown life.

Petersham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

As a city Scranton hasn't discovered how to appeal to visitors. The downtown area is missing good options for dining and relaxing, especially for people who have come to visit the National Park's Steamtown. This motel certainly did not offer anything other than a very low rate. It certainly deserves a low rating. My first "nonsmoking" room smelled like it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thirdgate
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. I'm very sorry that you were not very pleased with our property or our area. I have warned our housekeeping staff to be more attentive to their work, especially if they find someone has smoked in a nonsmoking room. As for your issues with our internet, we have recently upgraded our system...

Pittston, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I was not intending to stay in Scranton but that's what occurred. I searched for a motel that I could drive up to and unload, since my SUV was loaded to the gills. That's the one reason I drove the 10-15 miles from Pittston PA. On a Friday night I was scrambling and so I settled and accepted the circumstances.The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dante C
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, Scranton. I'm deeply sorry that you were dissatisfied with our property. We take your criticism to heart and will do our best to make the necessary improvements and updates to our property. I have shared your remarks with both our...

London
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August during a trip to the States to see a band nearby. We got the Greyhound to Scranton and this place wasn't too far a walk from the station. It is in a quiet area of town, but we did not feel unsafe. The rooms are ok, we didnt leave with any bites,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank skylar09
DhanPatel, Guest Relations Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your past stay at the Red Carpet Inn & Suites, Scranton. We continually strive to give our guests a comfortable stay at a reasonable price. The information that you share allows us to see our operation from your perspective and make improvements where needed.

Batavia, NY
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had a very pleasant stay here. Room was clean and comfortable with all the normal amenities, frig, hair dryer, iron, coffee maker etc. Breakfast was included and we expected the normal continental of fruit, donuts, rolls, muffins and so on but were pleasantly surprised with a hot breakfast that included scrambled eggs and make your own waffles that were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Livinfortheride
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We were very pleased with the staff and their helpfulness. The room was very nice and quite adequate. The restaurant on the other hand was not good. The waiter didn't know the menu. He had to run back and forth to the kitchen to get answers to basic questions. He was the only one for waiting and seating. We waited...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chrisrose502

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scranton hotels
0.8 km away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
0.7 km away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 10 in Scranton
373 reviews
7.7 km away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
581 reviews
4.7 km away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton

Address: 320 Franklin Avenue, Scranton, PA 18503 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Price Range: €53 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton Hotel Scranton
Red Carpet Inn And Suites Scranton
Red Carpet Inn Scranton
Scranton Red Carpet Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Red Carpet Inn & Suites Scranton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“scary on bottom floor..parking lot dark and near parking garage I would do second floor”
 of 5 bubbles Trish7313, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at south side have a nicer view, but I prefer the north side that is toward the mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles I7906QZpetera, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Don't choose this place.”
 of 5 bubbles Labonn1e, 19 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Not sure there are any. Ours was street level.”
 of 5 bubbles emilyzh, 16 Oct 2014 | Read review
“there aren't any don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles 889carol, 15 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5