We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1460 US Highway 211 E, Luray, VA 22835-4634
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$97
TravelocityUS$97
Orbitz.comUS$97
TripadvisorUS$97
FindHotel
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 9 hotels in Luray
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We are a family ran (3rd generation) family friendly motel. We are nestled between the Blue Ridge and Massanutten Mountains. Only minutes from the Thornton Gap entrance of the Skyline Drive. We are conveniently located near all there is to do, see and enjoy in the Shenandoah Valley! Please contact us for all of your traveling needs. We are seasonal open between April and October of each year. Please email us if for reservations starting April 26,2019!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Quaint
169Reviews6Q+A39Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 75
  • 67
  • 22
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Virgin Island Traveler wrote a review 1 Aug
St. Thomas232 contributions144 helpful votes
Stayed late July. Nice property for a short stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Front desk closed early, so call ahead if you're arriving late. Pool was very clean. They had a fire pit going at night. Very convenient location. We would return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cruiser262187 wrote a review Sep 2021
10 contributions3 helpful votes
The employees were great & the view was even better. Just for a quick one night stay — very nice. They were very quick to accommodate us as we were checking in late & also need a letter check out —- We did see some of the OTHER Motels in the area & This one THE HILLSIDE was the best Aesthetically I pleasing and again great reviews Thank you so much
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Doyle Armbrust wrote a review Aug 2021
Chicago, Illinois6 contributions3 helpful votes
When visiting a National Park, our family never expects to spend much time indoors, so we always look for a great motel nearby. Hillside Motel is clean, reasonable, and situated perfectly near an entrance to Shenandoah National Park. The staff is friendly, the vibe is quiet, and spotty WiFi was our only issue. If your vacation is about the hotel, this is probably not your spot. If a clean, affordable room that gets you quickly to the trails is what you’re after, this is the place. NB: Room 19 was ideal for giving us a little space from our 7yo, with a separate bedroom allowing us to watch a movie or play a board game while he slept.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Good food can be hard to come by in Luray. Moonshadows restaurant and the Corner Store in nearby...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Griffith, General Manager at Hillside Motel
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Hi Doyle. Thank you for choosing the Hillside Motel and taking time to provide us with a rating and review. Yes, room 19 (our suite) is great for families wanting a little extra space with the second room. We do apologize for the WiFi as we know it's a little spotty but we have installed an extra router in hopes of that helping. Come see us again the next time you are visiting the area!
Read more
erica210 wrote a review Jul 2021
New York City, New York55 contributions57 helpful votes
10min from Shenandoah or Luray Caverns (highly recommend). Double room is tight to maneuver as the furniture takes up most of the space. Room was presentable but the bed linens we're unpleasantly stained and in need of replacement. It was fine for a one night stay. One issue to note: wifi non-existent. Couldn't get it to connect and there is little-to-no cell service. Plan ahead.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lisa H wrote a review Jul 2021
Smyrna, Delaware43 contributions23 helpful votes
Thanks for a great visit, we very much enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean, the bed was comfy and the folks were friendly. It’s roadside but quiet sleeping. We appreciated being able to bring our dogs, and if we had more time we would’ve hung out by the fire pit and borrowed one of the grills you offer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We only stayed overnight, but it would be a nice place to spend a few days
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Griffith, General Manager at Hillside Motel
Responded 6 Jul 2021
Thanks Lisa. We are glad you stayed with us and that the room met your expectations! Come see us again soon!
Read more
Steve5863 wrote a review Jun 2021
Avon, Ohio13020 contributions4125 helpful votes
+1
Stayed three nights at this older. basic hotel located close to the Thorton Gap entrance to Shenandoah National Park but the is little else nearby. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was large and there was a microwave and mini-fridge in the room but our room was the third or fourth from one end of the hotel and the Wi-Fi was useless; coupled with weak mobile data, this was a real inconvenience. The room rate was attractive and if looking for good access to the park, and satisfied with basic accommodations, Hillside is a viable option.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid the rooms toward either end if you want to be able to use the Wi-Fi
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Griffith, General Manager at Hillside Motel
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Thanks Steve for choosing the Hillside Motel. We are sorry that the WiFi wasn't the best for you but we have just this week had an additional modem/router installed to help with WiFi in the upper rooms. We are happy to see that you was able to enjoy the Shenandoah National Park, it's definitely a beautiful attraction. We are glad to hear that room met you needs as well.
Read more
Map238 wrote a review Jun 2021
Columbus, Ohio99 contributions47 helpful votes
Motel is clean and had everything you need including a small refrigerator and microwave in our room. We enjoyed the mountainview and the tables and chairs outside each room, also our room (1) had a table and 2 chairs in the room. Nice large tub in the spacious bath. Parking right outside the rooms. Guests quiet and everyone was friendly and considerate. We chose this motel based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. This motel is reminiscent of the camp motel I stayed in when I was growing up. It is an older motel but a good value and it is very clean and the bed comfortable!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Griffith, General Manager at Hillside Motel
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Thanks you for taking time to provide us with an excellent rating and a wonderful review. So happy to see that you had a great stay and that the room provided all that you needed. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Duckfeats wrote a review Jun 2021
United States6 contributions1 helpful vote
We made a great choice staying here. The staff were very friendly and the room was probably the cleanest I’ve ever been in. The view from the porch was beautiful. It was perfectly located so everything we wanted to go to was very close by. Loved the flowers and the pool was refreshing after a long hot day.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Griffith, General Manager at Hillside Motel
Responded 23 Jun 2021
We are happy you stayed with us too and that you had a great stay! Thank you for the kinds words about our staff (they are wonderful) and they really appreciate guests noticing their hard work in keeping the rooms clean. Come see us again soon!
Read more
Chabrro wrote a review Jun 2021
New York City, New York362 contributions158 helpful votes
Location is five minutes from the entrance to Shenandoah. It's an older motel that is kept perfectly clean and had all that we needed. A lovely outdoor pool was a great treat after a hot day in Shenandoah. Best though, was the very nice women who ran the motel- she was so sweet and and made us feel so welcome. Gave us some history of the area, as she has lived there her whole life. The prices are very reasonable too.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Griffith, General Manager at Hillside Motel
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Thank you for the kind words. We are happy that you found us and that your stay was excellent. Our staff is the greatest. They love our guest and treat them just like family! Hope you make it back again in the near future!
Read more
runkledp wrote a review Jun 2021
Limerick, PA31 contributions30 helpful votes
After reading reviews we were looking forward to staying here. We had booked 2 rooms, staying with my elderly parents. We had confirmation email with room numbers. We travelled 7 hours to be told they did not have our rooms. My father has Parkinsons, not fun to have to try and find another place to stay at 630 pm on Friday night after travelling all day. BAD BUSINESS
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Diane Griffith, General Manager at Hillside Motel
Responded 9 Jun 2021
Hi. We are sorry that you were not able to stay with us. We had your reservation for Saturday night stay (not Friday) via the phone call you had made to the office. Unfortunately you did not provide us with an email so we could send a confirmation. Again we are sorry that you were not able to stay with us.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$76 - US$99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesVirginiaLuray
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hillside Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Hillside Motel?
Nearby attractions include Stony Man Mountain Hike (6.3 km), Skyline Drive (4.2 km), and Luray Caverns (7.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hillside Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Hillside Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Hillside Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hillside Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Triple Crown BBQ, West Main Market, and Gathering Grounds Patisserie & Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hillside Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Hillside Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hillside Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.