We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk

Save
Share
900 N Main Ave, San Antonio, TX 78212-4729
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$83
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Expedia.com
US$83
View deal
BestWestern.com
US$82
View deal
TravelocityUS$83
Hotels.comUS$83
TripadvisorUS$82
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#177 of 393 hotels in San Antonio
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
At the SureStay Hotel By Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk in San Antonio, TX, you're sure to find rewarding value and quality. Everything you need, nothing you don't want. SureStay® Hotels by Best Western welcome those who like to travel simply and casually.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, German
50Reviews1Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 2
  • 1
  • 3
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
MawMawPawT wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
The room was clean check in and out was a breeze. However we did encounter a couple issues. There was no ice machine working the first night. We saw a couple of roaches. And the highway traffic is very loud. It was not within walking distance of the Riverwalk and Alamo as it showed.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Gutierrez, Owner at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are glad to know that you had a nice stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the issues you faced. We will speak with our team to ensure that similar incidents will be prevented in the future. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a better stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah D wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
DO NOT STAY HERE. NOT SAFE. I checked in on Saturday around 4:15pm. Went to my room and at about 445pm “security” came and opened my door with a key. Luckily I had the safety lock on so he didn’t get inside. After a few minutes of back and forth he finally left. I immediately went to the front desk and was told that he was sent by mistake. He was supposed to go to the room two doors down. The front desk seemed apologetic and assured it wouldn’t happen again. On my way back to my room, the same security stopped me in the parking lot and apologized again, but I was starting to get sketched out. I left my room at 615 and returned at around 10. At around 1015 a man comes BANGING at my door demanding that I open it. It was a different guy wearing shades(at night) and a big jacket- nothing that indicated he was ACTUAL security so I got scared and called 911. He stayed banging my door until the police got there. Once again, I went to the front desk and before I could even express my concerns, the front desk guy Jesse told me that I was overacting by calling the cops. I explained that this was the second time security made me feel unsafe. he dismissed my concerns and said that I had two noise complaints, despite the fact that I had been gone all evening. I was clearly upset, so I asked for a refund so I could go somewhere else. Instead of issuing the refund, both him and the “security” were smirking and basically told me “oh well too bad.” At this point, im crying out of frustration and was then told to leave the property. DO NOT STAY HERE. Upon reading more reviews, this does not look like a one time incident. There are several reports of similar situations.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Angela wrote a review Nov 2022
9 contributions
My husband and I stayed in room 206 in this hotel from 11/9-11/12. After we checked in and went to the room, my 1.5 years old daughter opened the drawer of the night stand, the night stand was completely fell on her. We went to emergency clinic and found out that my daughter has bone fractures on two of her toes. We came back to speak with the front desk about this issue. The guy at the front desk called the GM (Latoya Avliez) on the phone. The GM was very rude. She blamed on us bothering her sleeping. She blamed on us that we did not watch our daughter. She did not care and wanted to get us off the phone. This night stand is definitely a problem. Anyone including toddlers can easily pull the drawer and the whole night stand will completely fall down. We stayed in many hotels in the past, all the night stands are sturdy. However, the night stand in this hotel is so light, very cheap, and poor quality. During our stay, we had a Do Not Disturb sign hanging at the door; however, we knew someone came into our room after we left. We turned off the entrance light when we left the room. When we came back to the room, the entrance light was on. The stuff on the night stand was moved. Do not stay in this hotel if you want to have a good night sleep. The highway noise is so loud. You can hear it the whole night. The light for the smoking detector was keep flashing and bothering us sleeping. When we were taking the shower, the water was leaking out of the bathtub and was all over the floor outside the bathroom. Shady people were always around the hotel. This was the worst hotel experience that we ever had in our lives.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Gutierrez, Owner at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We have investigated this issue with our management and we have found out your claim is false. As you did not provide any documentation and we are not responsible for whatever you faced inside the room. Also, no hotel in the world, bolts down all of their appliances and nightstands and tv stands and all that. Request you to not put false allegations about the property on social platforms.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MKeenom wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Clean comfortable room. I was on a trip for work and this hotel was less than 3 miles from my jobsite. I would and likely will stay here again. Internet was good and easy to sign on to. Great hot water in the shower. Located right in the middle of San Antonio, only minutes from where ever you need to go.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Gutierrez, Owner at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your awesome review! Reviews like yours are what keep us going the extra mile to deliver our best. We are happy that you are enjoying our services. We will always ensure that we keep delighting you with our facilities and services. We hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one. Keep exploring, Happy staying!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charles D wrote a review Nov 2022
SureStay is well kept and you can tell it is due to the drive and passion of those that run the place. Clean rooms, secure, very nice breakfast spread and friendly service. Conveniently close to city center, too. Recommend to those looking for a great value.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Gutierrez, Owner at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your awesome review! Reviews like yours are what keep us going the extra mile to deliver our best. We are happy that you are enjoying our services. We will always ensure that we keep delighting you with our facilities and services. Keep exploring, Happy staying!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
heatherwells218 wrote a review Nov 2022
Dayton, Ohio1 contribution
This hotel is a great find! The rooms are spacious and clean, with blackout blinds that actually work to block the light! The shower was clean, and the lighted mirror was appreciated greatly by my kids for a fun photo shoot. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, going above and beyond to help reunite my daughter with some jewelry she left behind.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Gutierrez, Owner at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We are exceptionally thankful that you have honored our staff members with praiseworthy words. Our Team sincerely appreciates your feedback and is happy to hear you had a great experience with us. We will always ensure that we keep delighting you with our facilities and services. Keep exploring, Happy staying!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emi M wrote a review Nov 2022
The manager is an angel! I traveled to Texas from New Hampshire for a funeral, and with the normal travel stress, I was not the happy upbeat person I usually am. My best friend, her mom and I arrived at the hotel hours before check-in so our room wasn’t ready, but when we asked to change in the office bathroom, she pulled some string and got us into a room 30 seconds later!! She was amazing and so welcoming, she gave us a huge list of restaurants and sightseeing to do, and she was absolutely correct about all of them! As a foodie, I was seriously impressed by the complimentary breakfast. The breakfasts were delicious and so full of variety for every diet and picky eater (aka my travel companions). 15 minutes before we were due to check out, our connecting flight got cancelled and we were stranded until the following day. We walked over to the office where the staff assumed we were checking out, but as soon as they saw our faces they realized what happened and after asking what time we needed to be out, we were back in the SAME ROOM for another night, again, in 30 seconds! I was shocked how seamless all these split moment decisions and accommodations were!!! I spent hours on the phone with the airline and our vehicle rental, so for this team to make having shelter so insanely easy was the biggest relief! We had to be out by 4am and they were gracious enough to make us a massive goodie back of breakfast snacks since we were missing the daily complimentary breakfast timeframe. I cannot stress enough how amazing this team was, and how cared for we felt. The room itself was clean, comfy and absolutely perfect for 3 women on a short visit. The location is directly off the highway so navigation was a breeze! Thank you so much for making such a sad, frustrating trip so amazing!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from front desk, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk
Responded 3 weeks ago
You guys were an absolute blessing, to have as guest. Was worried as to you guys getting home safely especially with the obstacles. Thank you so much for allowing me and my staff to host you guys. And girl I told you the food was awesome. LaToya
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Genevieve wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
1st timer here and I was so impressed with the way everything was taken care of. From over the phone before arriving to the check out. They are really sweet and so friendly! The rooms are spacious and look luxurious. Not at all what I was expecting. Will definitely be back when in town. I recommend this hotel 100%
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Gutierrez, Owner at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. Wish you a pleasant stay in the future as well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daydream19380318757 wrote a review Nov 2022
Everything was very good. And Latoya was wonderful. Very welcoming, friendly and helpful thank you, Latoya! We liked the location, were able to walk to the center, river walk and even to the botanical gardens
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Gutierrez, Owner at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Receiving compliments from our guests for our friendly, hardworking staff is always a delight, and we can't wait to pass along your compliments. Thank you for choosing us. We look forward to sharing another exceptional experience when your adventures bring you back our way.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristin G wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Not the Best! Booked into Surestay by Best Western - San Antonio Riverwalk, October 23, 2022, left Surestay the same day. They charged a $50 deposit as well as the fees for a two night stay. The room was very dirty - hairs over the bed as well. After complaining, we were assigned a different room. We left for a while to get something to eat. When we returned to our room, we were horrified to discover a multitude of cockroaches, even in the bed! Disgusting!! Again, a visit with the front desk. We were again offered a different room, but we decided to leave and requested a full refund. The front desk is not authorized to refund, had to contact the hotel manager. Refused a full refund! The manager would only refund the fee for one night! Haven't got our $50 deposit either. Better hotel options for nearly the same price, don't waste your time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sophia Gutierrez, Owner at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk
Responded 26 Oct 2022
Dear Guest, It is saddening for us to read about your recent experience with us. The conditions and service that you describe are not typical, however, we have escalated this issue to our Management. They are still investigating this issue and will get back to you soon. If you have any queries regarding this issue, please call up the property for further assistance.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$66 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rodeway inn downtown hotel san antonio, rodeway inn san antonio, san antonio rodeway inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Americas Best Value Inn Riverwalk Downtown Market Square
LOCATION
United StatesTexasSan Antonio
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SURESTAY HOTEL BY BEST WESTERN SAN ANTONIO RIVERWALK - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (TX) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk
Which popular attractions are close to SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk?
Nearby attractions include Hopscotch (1.0 km), San Antonio Museum of Art (1.1 km), and Nightly Spirits (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Panaderia, Bohanan's Prime Steak and Seafood, and The Original Blanco Cafe.
Are pets allowed at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Antonio Riverwalk?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Alamo (1.4 km), King William Historic District (2.6 km), and The Guenther House Museum (2.8 km).