We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 605: English reviews
Houston, TX
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I booked this hotel for 4 nights in December as I was in San Antonio on business. Upon checking in and stepping into the elevator, I immediately knew that this was NOT a 3-Star hotel. The elevator was old and SLOW. I got off on my floor and the walls and ceilings were peeling and the carpet was stained. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobby R
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to express your opinion with us. I am sorry that you had some difficulties with your key and thought that our rating should be something else. I will tell you that our elevator cabs are being redone in January and we are very excited. Ben/GM

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Steve the shuttle driver was awesome. I wish the shuttle ran a little later in the evening. Front desk staff was also great at check in. Room was nice, but bathroom seemed a little dingy. We would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you! I will make sure Steve gets to see your comments too. Ben/GM

Vancouver Canada
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Although the motel is not right downtown, the free shuttle was always available and never more that 10 minute wait. Pick up from Downtown was convenient with a simple cell phone call. Room was first class and clean, and staff very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhylNoel
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. Ben/GM

Victoria, TX
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

BEWARE. We have been lulled into receiving complimentary breakfast at hotels much nicer than this one so we naturally did not ask. There was a small sign turned sideways at the entrance to the eating area. After we finished eating we were presented a bill for $11.99 plus tax and tip. We could well afford the bill but did believe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JEHWoodHi
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about you experience. I am sorry that you made the assumption that we included breakfast. Our hotel, like all Holiday Inns, is required to have a restaurant, bar and room service offered onsite. Our restaurant, bar and room service also all have a menu that states the items and cost. We...

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

This was not a great stay. Upon arrival, we waited 20 minutes to get checked in. It was around dinner time and three families preceded us in line, with two following. Not a great start. Once we got to our room, the keys did not work, so back to the line we went. As we finally entered our room, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica C
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

I am very sorry that your experience while checking did not start in a more pleasant manner for you. I will be sharing your comments with the Housekeeping and Front Desk staff. Sincerely Ben/GM

Devine, Texas, United States
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We had some initial difficulties with check-in, but they were resolved effectively. Valet services are worth the expense because parking in downtown San Antonio is limited - just like in any other city in the USA. Ernesto is a very polite, friendly, and efficient front desk clerk and deserves recognition as he truly helps the guests. The restaurant has a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura E
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you! Ben/GM

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Great location-hotel has an exit that goes into the river walk. I had stayed at this location a couple years ago and I can tell it has been renovated. Our room was on the 23rd floor looking at the river walk (not much to see because we were so high up) but the city view was nice. It was clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clausanjuan
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the comment however this is another Hotel. Ben/Gm

Victoria, Texas
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Well we walked into our room after a late basketball game only to find roaches running on the large tv stand. Talked to the manager that offered and discount which we accepted because we knew finding a different hotel in downtown SA would be a huge hassle. We will never again stay at this property. It definitely needs updates and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maricela G
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not perfect. I will make sure that our service company has inspected your room and addressed any issue. Thank you for telling us about this. Ben/GM

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

Passing thru Texas dropped in here for the night. Very nice it's old but hanging in there. Good welcome room prepaid No vouchers for a beer or free breakfast still good to arrive. Room lovely and big and clean too! Good level of amenities also So all in all pretty good. Wifi is good strength in the rooms too. Centrally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HerrFUDGE
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Ben/GM

Cheshire
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We stayed here for two days and the hotel is right on the river walk and has great views. However, you have to pay extra for car parking and this makes the sat expensive. We were there for Thanksgiving and ate in the restaurant and the meal was very good and quite reasonable. However the next night was the river...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FansofGreece
GeneralManagerBBaker, General Manager at Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for the comment however this is for a different Holiday Inn. Ben/GM

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Courtyard San Antonio Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenida Guadalupe
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Downtown
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Do...
#121 of 354 in San Antonio
87 reviews
Arsenal
La Quinta Inn & Suites  San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Downtown-Market Square is located just 2 blocks to Market Square, 6 blocks to the River Walk area, 8 blocks to Convention Center, 10 blocks to the Alamodome. We have beautifully renovated all of the guest rooms, lobby, fitness center, and pool area! We offer interior corridors, complimentary parking and wi-fi. Madera Restaurant & Bar. Large outdoor pool with spa and sundeck. Business center and sundry shop. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown

Address: 318 West Cesar Chavez, San Antonio, TX 78204
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Avenida Guadalupe , Downtown
Price Range: €100 - €198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Brownsville, Texas, United States
8 months ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some first floor rooms have hall access plus a sliding door, leading to parking lot. Convenient when loading and unloading.”
  • Workout Room
 of 5 bubbles elainem280, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our second floor was bright, even just over-looking the roof.”
 of 5 bubbles PhylNoel, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hotel Not so expensive on San Antonio River Walk”
 of 5 bubbles clausanjuan, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Back of hotel away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles HerrFUDGE, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay there”
 of 5 bubbles Shanon911, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5