We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

PricelineUS$114*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$167*
US$114*
Great Deal
US$163*
US$163*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

755 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
See the most recent reviews
Showing 734: English reviews
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewed 5 May 2015

We had an event at this hotel for 30 people. That means everything was needed from the hotel from hotel rooms, meeting rooms, A/V equipment, food & beverage. The hotel was AWESOME. It was a great location to be near the River Walk, other restaurants, and nightlife. Highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here again during my...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Danielle D
K Timothy M, Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Danielle D, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay/event at the Sheraton Gunter. We truly appreciate it and we are looking forward to your return. Regards, K. Timothy McDonald Director Of Operations

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Very nice older hotel, very clean, staff very helpful. Rooms were nice but a little small because of the older style. Beds were very comfortable, and the room very clean. It is near the amenities of downtown San Antonio, and a short walk to Riverwalk, The Alamo etc. The parking was pricey. I enjoyed my stay.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank AlwaysReadyToGo77
K Timothy M, Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review

Dear AlwaysReadyToGo77, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We hope to see you return soon. Regards, K. Timothy McDonald Director Of Operations

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Beautiful lobby and very nice staff. However, the main problem is that rooms are European-sized (i.e. extremely small so you have use caution walking around the bed to not bump into furniture). The closet was so shallow that regular shirts or jackets on standard hangars will only fit if you bend the hangars sideways (not kidding). The air conditioner was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adamchik
K Timothy M, Manager at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Adamchik, Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. Although you had an immense amount of positive feedback I am truly sorry for the experience you received regarding the room size/configuration. Although I understand it can be an inconvenience I hope that in the future if you are not satisfied you will let us know and please contact me...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 20 April 2015

I work in Sales for a Luxury Boutique hotel in Houston. I was actually looking forward to staying at the Sheraton Gunter for a night away with my husband. Unfortunately, we couldn't wait to check-out of this hotel. It's quite deceiving as the lobby is chic and attractive. So are the guest corridors and the historic artwork is tasteful too....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle H
K Timothy M, Director Of Operations at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Michele H, While I am glad that you were a guest in our hotel and I am grateful that you added feedback to TripAdvisor, I am truly sorry that your room was in the condition you describe. I will be investigating the reason why you were given a room that clearly was not ready for an overnight guest to...

Ajijic, Mexico
Reviewed 19 April 2015

Just spent 5 nights here. Location is perfect and the bell staff is top notch. Didn't eat in the restaurant as the tripadvisor reviews are not good. Bohanan's prime steak is next door and Biga on the Banks is north on St Mary's 3 blocks. Elevators are fast too.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank tomgyakima
K Timothy M, Director Of Operations at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review

Dear tomgyakima, Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Gunter. I am very grateful for the feedback and I am glad that you had a great time in San Antonio during your stay. We are looking forward to your return, K. Timothy McDonald Director Of Operations

Reviewed 17 April 2015

My boyfriend and I wanted to stay in a very specific room at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel - room 636, which is where the murder took place in 1965. When requesting the room, the hotel staff was very informative and told us the murder ACTUALLY took place in room 620. So, after a few email exchanges with the Director of...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank stephanie f
K Timothy M, Director Of Operations at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, Thanks for all of the accolades. It was great meeting both of you and we are looking forward to your return. See you soon! K. Timothy McDonald Director Of Operations

Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 11 April 2015

On a recent business trip I booked a stay at the Sheraton Gunter. When I checked it out on line, the location seemed great (which is generally is), the lobby attractive (true) and the rooms nice (wrong!) When I arrived I was very impressed by the modern chic lobby. Looked very South Beach, white, airy and cool. Nice start for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cburnssr
K Timothy M, Director Of Operations at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Colin, While I am glad that you were a guest in our hotel and I am grateful that you added feedback to TripAdvisor, I am truly sorry that your room did not meet your expectations. I will be personally inspecting the rooms that have a step into the bathroom so I can find the room with the over-caulking. This...

Beverly Hills, California
Reviewed 10 April 2015

The Sheraton Gunter Hotel was our preferred destination during a short vacation stay in San Antonio. Having researched the local brands, and experienced first hand what a stay on the Riverwalk might look and sound like, we were confident this historic landmark just a short walk from the Riverwalk was the best choice. The renovation has upgraded an already classic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JRGuest
K Timothy M, Director Of Operations at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review

Dear JRGuest, Thank you for staying with us during your time in San Antonio. On behalf of all of the associates of the hotel we are highly appreciative of your positive comments and we are looking forward to your return. Thank you once again for the feedback, K. Timothy McDonald Director OF Operations

Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous! When we first arrived my original room I had booked was filled so they upgraded for no extra cost for the iinconvienece. The staff was extremely friendly and so helpful. The location is prime. Just a block away you have access to the river walk. No need to rent a car staying here. I will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Erin L
K Timothy M, Director Of Operations at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Erin L. Thank you for staying with us. We are very glad that you had such a great time while in San Antonio and we look forward to your next visit. K. Timothy McDonald Director Of Operations

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 3 April 2015

This historic hotel is gorgeous and well placed for exploring the downtown area. While not large, the hotel room felt light and airy due to high ceilings and large windows. There is a small sink in an alcove leading to the very tiny 5x5' room containing the tub/shower and toilet. If you can overlook the bathroom issue, I highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jodi L
K Timothy M, Director Of Operations at Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio, responded to this review

Dear Jodi L, Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel. I am grateful that you added feedback to TripAdvisor and had a great experience during your stay. Great advice for travelers regarding taking a cab. Thank you once again for the feedback, K. Timothy McDonald Director Of Operations

358 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (65)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (185)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (58)
Viewed
Double Room (25)
Viewed
King Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard San Antonio Riverwalk
#50 of 354 in San Antonio
524 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Embrace history and timeless design at the Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio. 13 conference rooms and Grand Ballroom. Our flexible space can accommodate up to 500 guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio

Address: 205 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1801
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Price Range: €120 - €224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Antonio
San Antonio Sheraton
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Clarkston, Michigan
2 months ago
Clarkston, Michigan
3 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be cautious of interior rooms that have no windows.”
travelrascel, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room with a connecting door.”
416siyut, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“12th floor is wonderful”
TiVoFanWis, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“If noise is an issue for you, get a room away from the streets.”
TexasJimC, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Excellent corner rooms with an excellent view of the city”
ejmclaughlin, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$114* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$163
Orbitz.comUS$163
HotelQuicklyUS$167
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates