We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza

Save
Share
425 Bonham Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2011
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Members Always Save 5%
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$116
View deal
Expedia.comUS$116
Hotels.comUS$116
Official WebsiteUS$116
TravelocityUS$116
PricelineUS$116
AlgotelsUS$147
View all 19 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (190)
Room & Suite (103)
Dining (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#11 of 393 hotels in San Antonio
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Green
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese
Hotel links
Special Offer:Members Always Save 5%
962Reviews19Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 618
  • 248
  • 66
  • 14
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Cesar wrote a review Nov 2022
Texas3 contributions
+1
When we arrived the valet was rushing us out of the car. Then as we are unloading our children and luggage they make us move our car. We went to get checked in and they put us in a room that was still being worked on. We walked into the room to find a service cart with chemicals on it, the coffee table flipped upside down, tools and a work iPad on the kitchen table, and it smelled like fresh paint and other chemicals. I requested to speak with the manager and her response was, “do you mind if we switch your room?” I tried to be polite, but my response was, “ma’am, you NEED to switch our room. We cannot stay in that room with the chemicals smell and the tools.” They put us in another room and it was dirty. There was chewed up gum on the floor behind one of the toilets and there was shaved pubic hair or facial hair residue on the shower’s toiletries. And last but not least, one of the showers did not have hot water at all. Very bizarre experience as I have never had such a terrible hotel experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Gilbert A wrote a review Jul 2021
Alpine, Texas37 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The motel was in a nice location. The room was very spacious. Everything you need. Only downfall was having to pay so much for parking and the pool was small. Jacuzzi was broken. the beers in the fridges by the front counter were very expensive. Other than that you couldn't have more friendly staff that were very helpful in finding us some places to eat and things to do.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dusty Kellie Smith, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza
Responded 24 Sep 2021
Thank you for this kind review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael B wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
The ladies in the front welcome and check in were the nicest,people and big ❤️ for every customer as my self. Big thanks to Mana-Kareen-Maysa were the Best Great value for a very nice place to stay. The included Breakfast was awesome as well as the people working there. Thanks Michael Boucher New Braunfels Texas 805 433-4115
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dusty Smith, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review. I will share your comments with the staff. Much appreciation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travel6345 wrote a review Oct 2022
San Jose191 contributions125 helpful votes
We had a good stay at Sonesta and San Antonio is wonderful. It was located pretty close to the Riverwalk the highlight of Texas, easily walkable, the Alamo is practically across the street. Much closer than it looks on the map. While I hate paying for parking, the valets were nice and it was pretty convenient, you just text before you leave your room and the car is there. There was no resort fee. Our room had a kitchen with stove, full size refrigerator and freezer, a living room and a separate bedroom. The pull out sofa worked for our small child but was pretty uncomfortable for adults, very thin mattress and I wish we had a queen bed instead of a double. The breakfast was convenient and included. We were able to walk with a stroller to the saga and market square, tower of America's, and to the Riverwalk. The zoo, Chris Madrid's, the Japanese garden, and the pearl were 15 minute drives and the hotel was easy access to the freeways. As far as location goes you could stay anywhere in that area or south of pecan st and walk to the Riverwalk, you don't need a hotel right on it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dusty Smith, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza
Responded 24 Oct 2022
Thank you for staying with us and for providing a review of your stay. Please come back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Drinkwater wrote a review Oct 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
On our way out on 10/17 about 7:30-750 in that time frame. Walking around the corner with my family we saw a young man stretched out backwards across the service desk. At first I thought it was a Halloween decoration. Then he heard us and jumped up and started moving and stretching all across the walk area. I had to say excuse me before he ran into us the girl at desk didn’t seem bothered. He was very shady looking. On 10/16 they were out of regular Dr.Pepper that was ok. However on 10/17 we were out and I had became sick and felt I really needed that Dr.Pepper So before we headed back in I called to see if they had restocked. I spoke with Maria at 9:17 and she confirmed they were still out. I said thank you I just wanted to grab one before we came back in and she said ugh-huh and mumbled something else I couldn’t understand. Very unprofessional of Maria and to let people like the Crackhead looking guy hang out in lobby area also very unprofessional.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dusty Smith, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza
Responded 24 Oct 2022
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to San Antonio. I do apologize for the actions of a guest of the hotel during your stay. That was dealt with and we did view the security footage and see exactly what you saw. Again, my apologies. We will work to see our market is stocked moving forward. Thank you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
D5851ONellens wrote a review Sep 2022
2 contributions
Do Not Book this hotel. You will not be able to get a refund, even if you cancel 10 days in advance and you live where Hurricane Ian is expected to hit. Poor service. I travel a lot and will never book with this chain again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dusty Smith, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza
Responded 27 Sep 2022
D58510Nellens: Please contact the hotel so that we can resolve this. We certainly can look into this issue regarding an advance booking and situations out of your control. Again, we can work with you on this. If the reservation was booked via a third party, we may have some work to do, but we will do it. My apologies. Dusty Smith
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
julie o wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
hotel was nice and the breakfast was great. close to everything. Mercedes was amazing providing excellent customer service! I would definitely stay here again. convenient to all things in the downtown area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: room was nice and clean
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dusty Smith, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza
Responded 15 Sep 2022
Thank you so much for this kind review and for staying with us. I will certainly recognize Mercedes for making an inpression. Thanks again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yasmin S wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The staff were attentive, a very friendly atmosphere. The room was well maintained we got a very spacious room. They offered valet parking in which they did a great job having our vehicle 🚗 on time. ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dusty Smith, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza
Responded 15 Sep 2022
Thank you for your kind review. Please come back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Justin W wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We stayed here for a whole month while my fiancé was working at the on-base hospital. I tagged along and spent most of the month working remote from the hotel. Staff was so friendly and kind. Always welcoming you back when you return the the hotel. Highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dusty Smith, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza
Responded 6 Sep 2022
Thank you so much for staying with us and for this kind and generous review. Please come back soon! I will share with the team. Safe travels! Dusty Smith
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
I seriously do not do reviews… Unless… I am upset or extremely pleased. I believe you’ll be able to tell what type of review this is at the end…😊…or before I have stayed at many a hotel throughout my life, but this one was over the top! My cousins and I had planned to go to the 78th International General Assembly for the Church of God. It was three of us women and we needed a specific type of room. I found a two bedroom suite with two full baths and a kitchenette/ living room combined. Price was very comparable. They accommodated us with a view of downtown and the night view was simply beautiful. The sunrise was magnificent as well! From the time I made the reservation, back in March of 2022, I knew that the people were going to be special. Jenna was the first person I actually spoke to over the phone. She helped me understand exactly what the room offered and it met our needs to a T. When we arrived the young ladies at the front desk were so pleasant. From the first day to the last we met so many different young ladies who worked there, at the front desk and I want to mention them and I hope I don’t forget anyone’s name… There was Mercedes, Desiree, Monica, Maysa,Maria,(It was really hard keeping all the ‘M’s’ straight 😳 (don’t forget Jenna too!) there were also a couple of gentlemen outside who did the car valet. I don’t recall the one gentleman‘s name, but he was so helpful. One night he ran all the way down the street to check out a parking lot for us late one night and ran all the way back! I’ll never forget it. His name I don’t recall but he did have curly/reddish blonde hair. Thank you for what you did! There was also another gentleman who was talking to us about Corpus Christi where he would go fishing and he was giving us some highlights of the place that we would be visiting the next day. Thank you as well! The kitchen staff who prepared such a wonderful breakfast every morning and kept things supplied/filled. They had a lot of people to deal with and I always saw a pleasant smile on their faces. Wonderful job! The two ladies that I encountered from housekeeping on our 12th floor… Great job… You’re outstanding! I want to give many many “Thank you’s” to the efficiency and pleasantness (is there such a word?) to the staff that worked there. (even though I don’t recall some of their names, I’m sure you as their managers will recognize who they are so please recognize them along with the ones whose names I did not forget!) This was an extremely busy time of year(July24-29) and not once did I see/hear any of the staff become annoyed in any way shape or form to anyone. No matter how they were treated. You have a wonderful staff there. Don’t lose them! If I am ever to go to San Antonio again this is the ONLY placeI will consider staying. SONESTA ES Alamo Plaza😊 Thank you again… For everything! I will never forget you. Most of all I will keep you in my prayers Miss Jackie 😘 (#1211)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dusty Smith, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza
Responded 6 Aug 2022
Miss Jackie! Thank you so very much for this very kind and generous review. I will definitely share with the staff and have already shared with my leader, and she has shared with her leaders. What a great way to start a weekend. Thank you so much and be assured that I will recognize the mentioned and un mentioned employees that took part in the mentions in your review. Again, thank you so much and please come back soon... and please tell some friends. We humbly accept your compliments. Thanks so much! Dusty Smith
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$116 - US$188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn san antonio downtown/alamo plaza hotel san antonio, residence inn alamo plaza, san antonio residence inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
LOCATION
United StatesTexasSan AntonioDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
220
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SONESTA ES SUITES SAN ANTONIO DOWNTOWN ALAMO PLAZA - UPDATED 2022 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (TX) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza
Which popular attractions are close to Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza?
Nearby attractions include The Alamo (0.3 km), The Magicians Agency Theatre (0.4 km), and San Antonio Fire Museum (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza?
Conveniently located restaurants include Colonial Room Restaurant, Fogo de Chão Brazilian Steakhouse, and Yard House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of San Antonio.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sonesta ES Suites San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.