We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amelia Payson House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Amelia Payson House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Amelia Payson House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 198: English reviews
Fairhope, Alabama
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I have been to Salem every year for the last 7 years. And this year my best friend and I stayed at Amelia Payson House. First time staying there but not my last!!!! I loved the house and the owners. Ida and Don are wonderful host. The rooms are very open and large with your own bathroom and to say...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Salem67
California
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was Excellent! We are BB's people and this BB was the cleanest I've been in. Their hospiatlity was wonderful, our flight was a horrible one and we arrived at 8AM they let us stay in the livingroom to rest until our room was ready how thoughtful is that! Highly reccommend this Bed and Breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MHSR
Eldorado, Oklahoma
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed 18-23 Oct 2012. First and foremost, the house was immaculate! Our hosts were attentive, accomodating and ready to assist us at every turn. Ada and Donald have a wealth of info and are eager to help their guests make the most out of their time. The website does not adequately describe the breakfasts. We never left the table...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MCTC2
99.5, Owner at Amelia Payson House, responded to this review

Thank you Margie & Thomas for taking the time to post your stay experience on TripAdvisor; the go-to place nowadays for candid comments, assisting visitors as they select their vacation destination or business travel. Don and I are so happy you had a great stay and that Salem was all that you hoped it would be and more and that...

Atco, NJ
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Our first trip to Salem 10/15-10/17. We really enjoyed our stay at the Amelia Payson House from the time we arrived and was met by Ada to the day we left. The B&B is in a great location, we walked everywhere (we love walking); in fact, after walking all day, we came back to our room and rested and then...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KathyAtco_NJ
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 16 October 2012

This was our first time staying at a bed and breakfast.Usually we travel with small children so we stay at hotels. Our first experience was great! Ada and Don are great hosts, very insightful on things to do and how to get places. It was nice having breakfast in the morning, sitting and talking with them, but it was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our first trip to Salem and we could not be happier with the experience. The Amelia Payson House is the perfect place to stay. Close to everything. Off-street parking. Best feature: owners Donald and Ada! Warm and friendly people who provided both guidance and insider tips. Breakfast each morning with them and the other guests was a highlight. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian K
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was a lovely B&B in Salem. Location was great - walking distance from the village area, the room was clean and much more spacious than many B&B's, and the hosts were very gracious. We had a very nice (continental) breakfast and they sat with us and made interesting and intelligent conversation. We were only in Salem for one night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cyndy12
keystone heights, fl
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Were looking for a couple of nights lodging around Boston. Glad to find this B&B. Ada & Don were personable and very helpful with information about the area & best route to Logan Airport. Breakfast with fresh fruit & heart shaped pancakes was very nice. Also nice to have a stocked coffee (thanks for having decaf!) & snack area upstairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gtrtravel
Croswell, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 20 September 2012

we stayed at the Amelia Payson House B&B in Sept of this year. This was the first time either of us had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast. It was wonderful !!!! The owners Ada and Don are such nice people and made our stay that much more. The home is beautiful. Ada filled us in on all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacey K
Lilburn
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Amelia Payson House for the second time this past June......the first being about ten years ago. Its a great B&B with nice and cordial owners. Salem is a great alternative and less expensive than staying in Boston. If you want to go into Boston its an easy 30 minute train ride. Salem is an interesting and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jack J
99.5, Owner at Amelia Payson House, responded to this review

Jack, Thank you for your contribution to Trip Advisor. Returning guests are the measure of our success and even though it’s been 10 years since your last visit, we were glad to hear it was as memorable as your first. Can’t say where we will be in another 10 years, but with God’s blessing and good health, hopefully we will...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.6 km away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,892 reviews
8.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
0.3 km away
Stepping Stone Inn
Stepping Stone Inn
#4 of 9 in Salem
211 reviews
0.7 km away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A little bit about us...Celebrating 27 years as innkeepers, Ada & Donald invite you to their 1845 Greek Revival home. Guest will not only enjoy the grace and charm that is tradition at a true Bed & Breakfast Host Home, but will also appreciate our convenient Historic District location; just steps from all of Salem's limitless activities. Forget about your car, a five minute stroll finds the Witch Museum, the National Park Service Visitor's Center, the Peabody Essex Museum, the House of the Seven Gables, and all the shops, restaurants, whale watching & harbor tours located at Pickering Wharf Marina. Amtrak train service and/or passenger Ferry to Boston is just four blocks away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amelia Payson House

Address: 16 Winter Street, Salem, MA 01970
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Price Range: €124 - €230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Amelia Payson House staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Amelia Payson House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor rooms shared a nice lounge, it felt like a suite”
 of 5 bubbles DougViages, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a the first floor room with an electric fireplace. We had a queen size bed and a daybed, plus a private bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles thetatzs, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I believe any available room is good. There is, of course, no elevator to the 2nd floor rooms. The other room is on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles BruceR3, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you're traveling in the fall, especially approaching Halloween, make your reservations early.”
 of 5 bubbles phh1, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Clean, friendly, and just about perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles P2224SWjessicab, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5