We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 233: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely splendid. Cozy rooms right on the Big Thompson. Mere steps from Rock Mountain National Park. Oh, and did I mention the hot tub? Stayed here in November during the 'off season' but it was totally ON! We were met with perfect weather and a magnificent staff. Added bonus of the Dunraven Inn next door which was a great place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wesley J
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Thank You Wes- We appreciate your review. We feel so fortunate to be able to share our paradise with guests like yourselves. Hope to see you in the future. Enjoy your mug!! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We stayed in Lodge #6 last month for a couple of relaxing days. All of the pictures you see are exactly what you can experience. Peace, tranquility, beauty beyond belief, and complete relaxation. After an hour there, a family of elk wandered by, drinking in the big Thompson River which was 10 feet from our deck. The sound of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Nancy & Kevin- We appreciate your great review. The elk have put on quite a show this season. Glad you had a chance to experience our "neighborhood elk family". Hopefully, you can stay a little longer on your next visit. Warm Regards- Gary & Coni More 

Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This is the fourth year we have stayed with Gary and Coni. As in the past three years, we found the accomadations clean and neat. Gary and Coni are always more than willing to help in any way to make our stay relaxing and memorable. Being able to sit by the river each night and just relax is wonderful. If... More 

Helpful?
Thank Woody M
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Ann & Woody- It's always a pleasure when you walk into the office to check in. We appreciate your choice to make Swiftcurrent Lodge a regular stop on your yearly travels. Congratulations to Woody for his retirement. We look forward to your return next year! You two are great!! Thanks for being you. Gary & Coni More 

Erie, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

While planning a last minute trip to Colorado, my husband and I were fortunate enough to get a room at the Swiftcurrent Lodge. We stayed in a lodge room, not a cabin. Our room was modest, clean and comfortable. Had all we needed. With the beautiful surroundings we were only in our room to sleep. We liked that we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank dbqsam
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Thank You for posting a review. We are so lucky to have lived here for over 20 years. We wake up each day and still have a hard time believing that RMNP is only 300 yards from our door. It is a blessing to have guests like yourselves. The fall colors are spectacular this time of the year. We hope... More 

1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed here for a week during our honeymoon. The kitchenette was so well stocked we were able to cook full breakfasts and dinners. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. We had a beautiful view of the river with our patio right on the river. The owners are extremely customer service oriented and truly care about you enjoying your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melinda N
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Melinda & Brian- Is was our pleasure to be part of you honeymoon experience. We always appreciate reviews and are very thankful to have guests like yourselves. Having RMNP in our backyard is a blessing. We look forward to seeing you on your anniversary. Coni & Gary More 

Cookeville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

This was our 4th visit to Swiftcurrent Lodge. We absolutely love it! Right on the Big Thompson River and with the old RMNP road just a few yards from our back door we can walk right into the park!! We stayed 10 days and it still wasn't long enough! Gary and Coni are great hosts and we will definitely visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank sandra r
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Sandra & Ron- Always a pleasure to see you. Thank you for your review. We are so lucky to have RMNP as our back yard! Hope to see you next year! Gary & Coni More 

Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

The BEST place in Estes Park spent 10 fantastic days ... What a view out back and a Great Room Lodge # 5 ...As always Gary and Coni are terrific owners and hosts and Donna does an excellent job on this intimate hidden wonderful property ...Been 5 times in last 6 years and it just seems to get more beautiful... More 

Helpful?
Thank JOHN M
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi John & Pattye- It was fun being part of Pattye's surprise birthday present! We always enjoy your visits. We appreciate your review, and are looking forward to next years visit. Gary & Coni More 

Ottawa, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2016

This lodge is nestled against the Big Thompson river and has tables and BBQ equipment available for all residents. The property is literally next to Rocky Mountain National Park, the trail starts at the property line, several hiking trails are right there. The rooms are nice, clean, have direct TV, coffee maker, microwave and fridge. The price point is very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Steve & Rae- We are so lucky to have RMNP as our back yard! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again. Gary & Coni More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Excellent location and perfect view! We stayed in room 201. The Swiftcurrent Lodge has a BEAUTIFUL view of the Big Thompson River with peaceful seating along the river's edge. After a full day of hiking, it was nice to come back to a reserved hot tub and gaze at the beautiful river and mountains. The room was very clean, had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosanne G
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Hi Rosanne & Nathan- We really enjoyed getting to help you with hikes, etc. Being here for over 20 years here have given us some knowledge about the area. It's good to hear we did good. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Can't beat that hot tub! Gary & Coni More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My partner and I reserved a cottage in March. When we showed up we were refused service. We were forced to find other lodging in the middle of summer in Estes Park. Never have I been treated so poorly. Unfortunately our children were with us and witnessed how horribly we were treated. I would NEVER recommend staying at this property.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily K
Coni-Gary, Owner at Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River, responded to this review

Emily- I apologize for not responding to your review sooner. To give our side of the story, you booked a room on-line that clearly states that the maximum number of people in that unit is 3. Your on-line booking showed 2 adults, no children. When you showed up with two adults and 4 children, we offered you the room for... More 

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
3.9 km away
StoneBrook Resort
StoneBrook Resort
#1 of 28 in Estes Park
543 reviews
5.7 km away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
2,196 reviews
7.1 km away
Quality Inn Estes Park
Quality Inn Estes Park
#8 of 28 in Estes Park
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 28 in Estes Park
284 reviews
4.5 km away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#10 of 77 in Estes Park
212 reviews
4.4 km away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#31 of 77 in Estes Park
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swiftcurrent Lodge is 3 miles southwest of downtown Estes Park on the Old Road into Rocky Mountain National Park. We are open Year Round for your Rocky Mountain Experience. Enjoy viewing the abundant wildlife during your stay. Fish from your doorstep on the Big Thompson River. We are only 300 yards from Rocky Mountain National Park. Come join us on "the Edge of Wilderness." ... more   less 

Additional Information about Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River

Address: 2512 Spur 66, Estes Park, CO 80517
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Price Range: €69 - €163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River Hotel Estes Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swiftcurrent Lodge On The River staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with a river view - it's beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles melindan204, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Riverside would be choice”
 of 5 bubbles StephenW843, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a riverside room. Even though we did not, we were still able to thoroughly enjoy the scenery and river!”
 of 5 bubbles rosanneg307, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The cabins along the river are the best!!”
 of 5 bubbles MadMonk44, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Every room is good.”
 of 5 bubbles nd2knit, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5