We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

717 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 652: English reviews
Brandon, Florida
Reviewed 11 January 2017

First, our room smelled of chemicals, whether cleaning or the huge new spackle stuck to the ceiling, not sure. Then, the ceiling outside our room fell down in chunks!! Customer service left much to be desired and the "free shuttle" around town was a joke. Only when there were no airline personnel needing it! Will never stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiamonapoli
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 7 January 2017

If you want your car to have it's window smashed in and robbed, then go to the Red Lion in Salt Lake City. They have no security cameras outside and they're "parking security" obviously was not patrolling the parking lot. Read on to find out more! We will NOT be returning to this hotel. Although the room was very nice...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomasbC8048GH
Nikki S, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear thomasbC8048GH, Thank you for your recent review. I'm sorry to hear about your car and the lack of empathy from the desk agent, our guest should never feel pushed aside regardless of the reason. We have security here and they patrol the entire property, but do spend the majority of their time outside. Again, we are sorry. Thank you...

Twin Falls, Idaho
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Very cold . no carpet in the room. Room heat did not work. No hominess or atmosphere whatsoever. Breakfast was good. Coffee excellent. Customer service was very good. Might be okay to stay during summer months .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 941janad
Nikki S, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear 941janad, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear the heater didn't work in your room, I hope you gave the room number to the agents so our engineering team to check the unit. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast and service! We hope to see you again the next time you are in SLC....

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Get rid of the noise problem with the central heater and sound proof the room partition door and you got yourself 5 out of 5! This was on of the first places I've stayed that didn't offer complementary breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayM2749XX
Nikki S, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear jayM2749XX, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I appreciate the feedback about the HVAC and partition door, we will definitely review that with the corporate office to see what we can do. Thank you again and we hope to see you next time you are in SLC. Sincerely, Nikki S AGM

Burley, Idaho
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Nice hotel. Very friendly service, easy access to downtown and the freeway. Room did not have a couch or overstuffed chair. Bathroom needed repairs but everything was functional. Better than a Super 8 or Motel 6. Excellent breakfast (when reserved on the internet and it is included). Great price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeremyn2017
Nikki S, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear jeremyn2017, Thank you for the great review and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry your room didn't have an additional piece of furniture. We have a second phase to our renovation and those are included, hopefully in the next few months. Thank you again. Sincerely, Nikki S AGM

Twin Falls, Idaho
Reviewed 28 December 2016

I was put in three different rooms. All FREEZING from the old wall of windows that need replaced. I could hear the elevators going up and down from all three rooms ALL night. There was body hair and purple wax all over the room. The rooms are NOT FULLY renovated. The bathroom had 1970 yellow gross tile.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeremydC4982IC
Nikki S, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear jeremydC4982IC, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear you had a poor experience, we never want that for our guests. The rooms are a phased project that will be completed over the next few years. I do hope you mentioned the housekeeping issues to the desk so they could pass the information along. Again, I'm...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 21 December 2016

After driving from Washington State on our way to the Grand Canyon we decided to stop in Salt Lake City. Our fur baby left us with limited options but Red Lion was very accommodating and even waived the pet fee without us asking. My first impression of the hotel was a good one. It's clean and little lively. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris H
Nikki S, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear Chris H, Thank you for the great review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay on your trip and I hope your fur baby enjoyed it too! We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to SLC. Sincerely, Nikki S AGM

St. George, Utah
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Hotel RL offers some beautiful views (not common for downtown hotels). The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. We stayed here in the summer and the difference in cleanliness from then to now is night and day. Keep up the great work!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shellie H
Nikki S, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear Shellie H, Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We have been making strides to provide a greater experience for our guests, thank you for noticing. Thank you again! Nikki S AGM

Logan, Utah
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Apparently RL would rather please the Millennials than have the personal touch and feeling when you enter their hotel. They have gotten rid of the check in desk and put two kiosk's in the foyer to check in. Thank goodness we still had someone there to check us because they are still in transition and they had a rolling cart...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank F8694ORjanets
Nikki S, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear F8694ORjanets, Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I'm sorry you feel the hotel has moved to a product that lacks personal touch and feeling. The concept of Hotel RL isn't to just satisfy the Millennial traveler, but to keep up with the technology and wants asked of the current traveler. Our check in concept will be...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Very unwelcoming at reception with basic book-in skills. After spelling my 5 letter fairly common surname twice, was told "just give me the ID" in an impatient manner. Our booking was made 7 months ago and got us a room behind the lift shaft with unacceptable noise levels. We paid for breakfast but were told it wasn't included on first...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z7556WJpeterb
Nikki S, Manager at Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City, responded to this review

Dear Z7556WJpeterb, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I'm very sorry to hear about how you were treated by the agents at the desk. We never want our guest to feel unwelcomed or unappreciated, and I'm saddened the staff didn't do their part to make you feel at home. The feedback is a great tool to share with the...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#47 of 75 in Salt Lake City
222 reviews
0.2 km away
Metropolitan Inn
Metropolitan Inn
#49 of 75 in Salt Lake City
214 reviews
0.8 km away
Peery Hotel
Peery Hotel
#48 of 75 in Salt Lake City
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
Sheraton Salt Lake City Hotel
#28 of 75 in Salt Lake City
850 reviews
0.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
0.1 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Utah's state capitol, our downtown Salt Lake City hotel is ideal for groups of urban adventurers or intrepid solo travelers-anyone looking to experience the area like an SLC native. Welcome to the brand new Hotel RL Salt Lake City. Guests can make themselves at home with our great on-site amenities and satisfy their wanderlust with the sights and sounds of the city. Grab a cup of artisanal coffee from the on-site Victrola Coffee Roasters and help yourself to a free bike rental for an eco-friendly way to explore nearby attractions. Uniquely positioned near Temple Square, our hotel in Salt Lake City offers unrivaled access to this thriving city. Discover the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, check out the views from the Ensign Peak Hiking Trail, or learn about the cosmos at Clark Planetarium. In the evening you can catch a show at the Living Stage, our recently launched on-site venue featuring local artists and performers. Sit back and swap stories with other guests while you enjoy the laid-back atmosphere. These unique facilities, along with our prime location and comfortable accommodations, make Hotel RL an ideal starting point for your Salt Lake City adventure. THE LIVING STAGE From lectures to performances to hands-on demonstrations, the Living Stage at Hotel RL invites people from all walks of life to share their knowledge and passion for community awareness, health, creativity, and innovation. Designed to ignite conversations and promote a deeper understanding of the world around us, The Living Stage incorporates authors, artists, musicians, community leaders, local start-ups and more. PROJECT WAKE-UP-CALL We believe everyone deserves to sleep with a roof over his or her head. That's why we started Project Wake Up Call, a philanthropic initiative to help end homelessness one new hotel opening at a time. Learn more about Project Wake Up Call and our Salt Lake City partner: The Road Home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City

Address: 161 W 600 S, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-2702
Region: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Price Range: €90 - €220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City 3*
Number of rooms: 394
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Red Lion
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Kansas City, Missouri
SLC
8 months ago
Durango, Colorado

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel RL By Red Lion Salt Lake City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for renovated room”
  • Bathroom vent
 of 5 bubbles TJAMROCK, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a newly renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles gleon1011, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the most updated room available.”
 of 5 bubbles chachi69, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a tower room. These seem to suck less than the main building - but they still suck non-the-less.”
 of 5 bubbles mikewI5062TB, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The top floor stays on high heat (stifling) and the elevator frequently stops working”
 of 5 bubbles TravelLoverUT, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5