We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Booking.comUS$78*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$90*
US$78*
Great Deal
US$79*
US$79*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 315: English reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

When you have someone to greet you with a smile, warm words and such gracious hospitality, and you are provided a neat and cosy room, you know you have made the right choice. We were in a fix about our accomodation at Franz josef and decided to go ahead with Bella vista on our tour operators suggestion; and we are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drmannambeth
Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Bella Vista Motel in Franz Josef. Our room was well equipped, staff was friendly and helpful and we're provided daily towels, refreshment and free parking. Rooms were clean and warm, shower was nice and modern with a lot of warm water. Bathrooms came with towel racks and the motel had also a laundry facility....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anneh_7011
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your positive review. I'm glad you enjoyed our well equipped rooms! Hope you enjoyed the rest of your South Island travels. Kindly Adam

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2015 via mobile

We found this hotel perfectly comfortable and useful and entirely suitable for its price. The host friendly and helpful, the kitchen reasonably well equipped, bed very comfortable and overall very clean and warm. Nice added touches of a stock of DVDs to borrow and a nicely equipped laundry. We'd stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank now__voyager_melb
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

A mix review on Bella Vista Franz Josef. A good resort to come too and Bella Vista being a chain you should know what you're going to get. On the positives, the reception staff member was very helpful and cheerful, a good asset for the venue. Room size was good with everything in that was listed. The tips for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a r
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Yes, we are lucky to have the English style Alice May Restaurant next door. I hope you found some warmer weather as you traveled. Your stay was during the coldest week of the winter. You are right about pre-heating the rooms! On colder days we do usually pre-heat the rooms from...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2015

A good accommodation for couple of days for the price they offer , nothing extra special, The team there was very helpful.Their help guided me to the beautiful locations in and around Fox glacier that too when you have to make the best use of your time available and one among them was Lake Mathewson and picture perfect location ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RejiThomson
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2015

The rudest man to deal with. Our mistake we had booked wrong date! We did not get a email and he overcharged us by double. We had stayed at Bella vista Wanaka the 2 nights before with friendly staff, franz Josef has put us off Bella Vistas. Found a much nicer, larger and friendly motel, alpine glacier motel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lwakes
Adam H, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you your review. My sincere apologies if I came across as being rude, I certainly did not mean to come across that way. My aim was to find the best solution in line with our network policy on no-shows. This policy is clear, and was agreed to by you in the terms and conditions of your booking. As you...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 August 2015

So-so hotel in a great location. Biggest complaint, we checked out early (6am) and the front desk was locked with no where to drop the key. There was a number to call but no one answered. With left our keys in the room and hoped for the best. Bathroom could use a hard core scrubbing and was musty. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jebian
Mount Gambier, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Clean and friendly and amazing views from our mountain view room. Heating was a little quirky and the bathroom floors were freezing but they have heated towel rails and the best shower heads and water pressure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
Otago Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 July 2015

The view from our room was amazing. Very cold morning with below zero temperature. Carpark very icy and office door lock although it was past opening hours, had to ring doorbell couple of times to get attention to hand back keys. Would be nice if owner can advise when booking in that keys can be left in room upon departure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinVet
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Room was nice and service fantastic and very friendly. Shower a bit average but otherwise perfect. Heater was even put on for us when we arrived. Wifi was free and unlimited which was a big plus. Not a 5 star hotel but brilliant value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tommykb_

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
0.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,337 reviews
0.3 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,146 reviews
0.1 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.1 km away
10 Cottages
10 Cottages
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
242 reviews
0.2 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are just a minute's walk to a variety of flights, glacier hikes, restaurants, the Wildlife Center with its Kiwis and the Glacier Hot Pools. Offering a range of modern studio accommodation including, spa bath, queen and twin studio, mountain view studio and larger one bedroom family accommodation. All accommodation includes in-room phones, free Wi-Fi, hairdryers, complimentary tea, coffee, drinking chocolate & fresh milk, fridge, small microwave, toaster and a hot water kettle. Some rooms have full kitchen facilities. Off-street parking, guest laundry and BBQ area are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier

Address: 34 Cron Street, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: €62 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel Franz Josef
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Franz Josef
#7 Luxury Hotel in Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Franz Josef Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“None of our (18 people) group had anything negative to say about The Bella Vista Motel at Franz Josef.”
petermariealexm, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs would be better”
  • Pretty good view from room first thing in morning
The_Dizzys, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Mountain view rooms are on first floor - we thought it was worth paying a little extra for them.”
JuliaB246, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Visitors who may have mobility issues or trouble carrying luggage up stairs may want to consider booking ground floor accommodation.”
  • A view of the mountains from across the car park outside Bella Vista Motel
Bridstow, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“doesnt matter”
victoriaschav, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$78* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$79
Agoda.comUS$79
CancelonUS$90
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates