We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 191: English reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

After being dropped off by our coach service, we had to drag our luggages to the main office which wasn't easy on gravelled road. We were promptly greeted by the barks of two labradoodles which were pretty friendly and inquisitive. Unfortunately, the lodge was about 2.1km away from restaurants and any other civilisation so it was pretty inconvenient without our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Haley C
Westwood0112, Owner at Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chow Family Thank you for your review. Unfortunately travelling my the Intercity /Newmans bus service does make your stay with us a little more restrictive. The Coach has an arrival time of approximately 5pm & unfortunately being a public Coach Service they will not drive down our driveway to reception & do drop you off on the Main Road...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Why we did not come in by front door ? Why did our travel agent booked a place that is 2 km from town ? We are leaving 730 am tomorrow. We can only have cereal, yoghurt, fruits and milk in the room. We cannot request for sandwiches because it is not allowed on the bus and the kitchen is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Eliza C
Westwood0112, Owner at Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eliza I belief I have already responded via your daughters review. I totally understand your frustration on having such restrictions due to the Intercity / Newmans bus timetable. Arriving at 5pm & having to depart at 7.15am certainly means you are very limited on what you can do in such a short stay. As we discussed when you checked...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 December 2016

This was one of the better accommodations we stayed at during our tour of NZ. We were warmly welcomed by Kas on Reception and after checking us in, she offered to help with any dinner or excursion bookings and also gave advice on where to visit. We stayed in one of the suites, which was modern, practical and comfortable. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
Westwood0112, Guest Relations Manager at Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Westwood Lodge. Pleased to hear that Christina has awarded us a gold star for having a good hair dryer! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the rather damp weather you had during your stay. I hope you have enjoyed...

Oviedo, Florida
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Kaz and her staff were great, breakfasts were huge and varied. We particularly loved the heated bathroom floors since we happened to stay a couple days that were unseasonably cold. The suites are huge, a feature I particularly like since I read late into the night and don't like to keep my wife awake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesse M
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We had a lovely coach house, very spacious with nice furnishings and our own private seating patio area. The bathroom was large and spacious with a lovely large walk in shower area. Breakfast is served in the main reception area. Lots of fruit, cereals etc and then a good cooked breakfast of you wanted it. Wifi is complimentary, but is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moxxy-girl
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The lodge was such a beautiful place to stay. The room we had was a suite and it had a seating area and beautiful bathroom with standalone tub and huge shower. Not only was the place beautiful, but the staff was welcoming and friendly with great recommendations for dinner and they provided a great breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn G
Westwood0112, Owner at Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kathryn Many thanks for your kind words & sharing your experience of your stay. It was our pleasure having you stay with us & should your future travels bring you back this way at some time we do hope to welcome you back. Best Wishes Kaz & the Team from Westwood Lodge

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Like another reviewer, we were a little concerned when we pulled in off the highway that the Westwood was a "motel," rather than hotel or inn. But both the guest rooms and the common areas in the lodge are beautiful. We stayed in a coach house suite, I believe #6. Both the room itself and the bathroom were spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheScheduler
Long Beach, California
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

THE base for a truly stunning glacier experience. Yet another example of the warmth and friendliness of the people of New Zealand, and the accomodations were superb, the food excellent. Lovely, quiet, and relaxing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imacdavid
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 August 2016

When we drive up to this place we thought it was a typical motel. We couldn't have been more wrong. The main part of the hotel is positively beautiful. A big, warm, comfy lodge awaited us, along with a wood burning stove and a beautiful gas fireplace. The owner Kaz, and her two affable labradoodles Benton and Zachary greeted us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celia F
Westwood0112, Owner at Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Celia Many thanks for your kind words. It was our pleasure hosting & meeting you all here at Westwood Lodge. We delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Benson & Zak so enjoy meeting new guests & are part of the Westwood greeting. I hope you enjoyed the drive to Queenstown & your time there. I do hope that...

West Midlands
Reviewed 25 August 2016

This is just out of town but they are happy to book a table in local restaurant which sends a stretched Hummer to pick you up. Very Hollywood! The accommodation is first class.All very Scandinavian wood style with excellent fittings.The view from the balcony is stunning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Voyager28

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
1.2 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,117 reviews
1.3 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
658 reviews
1.3 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
2.3 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
330 reviews
1.3 km away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Westwood Lodge offer stylish cotemporary accommodation set in a delightful landscaped native garden with Alpine & Glacier views. All rooms are superbly comfortable, choose between the Main House Suites with a luxurious French tub or a Coach House suite with fantastic alpine views. All suites have underfloor heated spacious ensuites with dual handbasins & large open titled showers. For total comfort all include complimentary toiletries, robes & hairdryers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel

Address: State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7952, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: €163 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Devon, England
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Westwood Lodge- A Select Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms seem accessible.”
urbanrenewal, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main building may have some cross noise from the hallway.”
mudrunner2016, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a Coach House Suite and while pricier, the views and gorgeous tranquil garden were worth it!”
  • Franz Joseph glacier
  • View from our patio
  • Gorgeous gardens out our room door
322shaunat, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Back porches are nice in the morning”
  • bathroom!
  • our room
lindsays495, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The suites in the central building are more convenient for accessing the lounge, breakfast, etc.”
GlennW64, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5