We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Franz Alpine Retreat

Booking.comUS$80*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Franz Alpine Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Franz Alpine Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 277: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We were recommended this place by family who had stayed there before. Hosts very friendly and welcoming. Had a lovely two bedroom villa for two nights which was warm enough despite the cold temperatures outside. They had great recommendations for dinner and were able to give us a voucher for a discount on a helicopter trip up the glacier! unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna M
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is just as beautiful in the Winter as well as the Summer. Sorry you didnt get to enjoy the Helicopter, just means you will have to come back and see us again. Kind Regards Mel & Nigel

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

What a great place- from the moment we arrived we knew we had found the perfect spot for what we were looking for.... Quiet, peacefull, clean, lovely chalets and all of this only 4 mins drive from town. The chalets were nice and warm on a cold wintery evening. We were also brought an amazing cooked breakfast the next morning-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tanja C
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have just started offering Full Cooked Breakfast so glad that you liked them. We hope you enjoy your holiday and look forward to accommodating you in the future Kind Regards Mel & Nigel

Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

We found this place through a booking website and thought that we were getting a really good deal at the discounted price, to be fair it was what it was worth, certainly not full tariffs. The cottages are clean and well presented but pretty bland, just a little touch would make such a difference and being slightly out of town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lathy
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of upgrading our rooms and find that the majority of our guests like being out of the township, and a 4 min drive is just still close enough to be able to enjoy the area without the noise and hussle of town. We hope you enjoy your remainder of time...

Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Very well equiped cottages, real cozy with very good services. The owners are very nice persons and really caring. I recommend to stay here. We've enjoyed our stay here. The place is well maintained, seems relatively new. It is not far from franz josef city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a lovely spot to unwind and relax after travelling. Enjoy your remainder time in our beautiful country. Kind Regards Mel & Nigel

Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Nice small house with two bedroom, good kitchen and bathroom. With a very good view of the mountain and the valley, a little away from Franz Josef, but absolute no problem Good service and advising of Franz Josef area and the small village

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PerVest2015
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is very peaceful out here and in all seasons the views are wonderful and relaxing. Enjoy the remainder of your holiday. Kind Regards Mel & Nigel

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 9 July 2015

2 bedrooms, a nice kitchen and living room, all you need. Beautiful surroundings. A small front deck where you can sit and enjoy a drink or two. But skip the offered breakfast and drive into the local supermarket and get what you need. A small drive into town but it's easy to get a taxi or use the shuttle service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
MelO776, General Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of updating the Breakfasts and offering Full cooked and Continental breakfasts now instead of just a light snack. Regards Mel & Nigel

berkshire
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Accommodation knows as JAGS...... Managers Mel and Nigel, whilst quite helpful on arrival with phone calls etc you could not help but notice the stale smell of cigarettes on Mel, which was not very pleasant. My husband also commented on an alcohol smell? Roomy, but Basic accommodation - Nowhere to hang clothes! Not even one coat hanger. No mirror or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laracroftBerkshire
MelO776, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

We are most disturbed and utterly disappointed with your unfactual review. Firstly we did not smell of stale smoke. Nigel was doing a burn off prior to you checking in and for this we are sorry if this offended you. As Nigel has not drunk alcohol for over 10 years and Mel had just had a glass of wine with...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 June 2015

I am writing this review after travelling as a family group of 3 adults on a package deal around the South Island. During 2 weeks we stayed in 7 hotels/resorts. Due to knowing only the total cost of the trip, I cannot comment on prices or value for money. This group of cottages is about 5-10 mins north of Franz...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iana4417
MelO776, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed the peaceful of the countryside whilst only being 4 mins from town. Enjoy the remainder of your holiday.

Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We arrived on a misty evening in May, after a long drive. Although the accomodation is not "Petfriendy" the lovely owners gave us a beautiful room with a stunning view on the mountains for a very good price! Thx thx for the hospitality and kindness!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jurjendelange
MelO776, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We wish you well on the rest of your adventure

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2015

Our stay in the lodge was very comfortable. Everything is there so you can be self sufficient and the continental breakfast ingredients are delivered the evening before. Wifi is free but intermittent due to the location on the Island. The management are very helpful - explaining about attractions and what to do. It is a little way out of town,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pixy1951
MelO776, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Intermittent WIFI can be a challenge in Franz Josef with 1 cable into the town, but the scenery makes up for it. Enjoy the remainder of your Holiday

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.8 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,147 reviews
3.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,337 reviews
0.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
663 reviews
3.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.0 km away
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
Glenfern Villas Franz Josef
#1 of 12 in Franz Josef
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: €68 - €190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Franz Alpine Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Franz Alpine Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All cabins were built so that you could see the view. All accessible with car parked at side.”
  • Thius was the view from the lounge window
HazelH36, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We showed up unannounced and got a good deal so; do you chance it or not to book or wing it???? LOl.”
maxannie, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book early and enjoy the peace and quiet and the views”
C7824UVjohnn, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“This was a hotel but motel units.”
BeverleyW186, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 has great views from the living room.”
638beccag, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$80* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$93
Hotwire.comUS$93
PricelineUS$80
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates