We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Franz Alpine Retreat

Hotels.comUS$102*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$139*
US$102*
Great Deal
US$139*
US$120*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Franz Alpine Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
Start your review of Franz Alpine Retreat
 Click to rate
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A fantastic welcome at the reception office when we first arrived, spacious clean comfortable rooms, and excellent facilities. Went out to look around town in the cold at night and came back to the curtains closed and the heater on which is amazing! Only concern is that we left too early to say thank you in person! P.S. Partner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monique I
FranzA554, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review Monique. Being avid travelers ourselves, we try to ensure that our guests experience what we would want to experience on our travels. To come home after a long day to a warm and inviting room is what everybody wants. We hope you enjoy the rest of your journey in our wonderful country.

Haifa, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This retreat was a nice surprize. A bit out of town but fully equiped for a family on the go. The family cottage had all the needed ammenites. We even baked a birthday cake. There is a communal laundry room with washer and dryer. The owner was helpful and very friendly. Our only regret was that we only spent 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raanan S
FranzA554, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and a happy belated birthday to you. Safe travels.

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This cabin was ideal for our one night stay. The kitchen facilities were excellent and I cooked our evening meal. We enjoyed it while looking out at the amazing view of the glacier area and watched the colours changing in the evening sun. Only complaint we had was that we could not stay longer!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hazel H
FranzA554, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks Hazel. Our Retreat, being outside of the township, exudes peace and tranquility, just what most travelers need when they get here - which take some effort. We are not for the party types, that's for the town accommodation. We hope you have the time to visit our "peace" of paradise again soon.

Williton, Somerset
Reviewed 11 March 2017

As a English B&B owner, all i can say our stay in December was just perfect, we showed up unannounced. Its on the edge of town not an issue for us. They had a special offer on; just perfect, We were overwhelmed by the kindness and hospitality of the hosts. The two roomed apartment was spotless, warm and cosy which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxannie
Xjapie, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks you for your lovely review. It is heartening to know that sometimes our hard work and effort is appreciated. We hope we can have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Rowayton, Connecticut
Reviewed 8 March 2017

This accommodation was fine for our needs, but a no-frills sort of cabin. A second bedroom was locked - we would have liked to store our clothing and suitcases there as the room in which we slept was just a bit bigger than the bed. Still - we found everything we needed, were able to use the laundry ($12 per...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcleeds
FranzA554, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing our Retreat. We used to leave the second room open when a guest rented only 1 room in a chalet for exactly that purpose - to store cases. Unfortunately some guests in the past have then taken advantage of this second bedroom being opened and have then used all the beds and towels etc in both rooms,...

Long Valley, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

The Franz Alpine Retreat is a barebones apartment style facility. Our 2 bedroom unit had only one bathroom with a noisy plywood floor. The kitchen was stocked with the basics but nothing for cleaning. The sign in the kitchen said we may incur additional cleaning expenses if we didn't wash, dry and put away our dishes only there wasn't a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dpeirson
FranzA554, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

For the record, our Retreat is a Motel - not an apartment or Hotel. "Barebones" ? I am yet to find a Motel/Chalet style self contained accommodation unit anywhere in Australia or New Zealand that has two bedrooms AND two bathrooms, perhaps you thought you had booked a Hotel? You obviously did not open the cupboard under the kitchen sink,...

Reviewed 23 February 2017

We stayed at Franz Alpine Retreat on the 8th of January, 2017. We did book a chalet and I must say our stay was brilliant. The room was comfortable, clean and warm. Our kids loved it. As for the management, I have nothing but great things to say about them. They were courteous and willing to help. We needed a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sujay V
FranzA554, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for you lovely review Sujay. Hospitality is a difficult industryu to be in as one can never please everybody but when one gets a review like this one, it makes it all worthwhile. I hope we have the pleasure of your company again in the future and hope the rest of your holiday was an experience to remeber. Safe...

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here one night. We booked a cottage, as opposed to a chalet (cottage was all that was left at time of booking). The cottage units are much older than the chalets. The unit we stayed in most definitely showed its age and is in need of updating throughout. We did have a peek at a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Spf3111119
FranzA554, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

You are so right. A cottage is defined by wikipedia as " cottage is, typically, a small house. It may carry the connotation of being an old or old-fashioned building. In modern usage, a cottage is usually a modest, often cosy dwelling, typically in a rural or semi-rural location". So if that is what you are want - fine. If...

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely 2 bedroomed chalets, well appointed kitchens with everything you need for an away from it all break. Good location away from the village, so forward planning for good etc is best. We stocked up with everything we thought we would need at Countdown in Greymouth, and avoided the prices charged in FJ. Handy for trips to the glacier and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rickawl
FranzA554, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our Retreat Rickawl. I am glad you also found the time to visit Okarito while here. It is a little gem in Glacier Country that most visitors don't see because they think there is only the Glacier here. A lot of visitors rush through the West Coast and miss probably 80% of it's...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 5 February 2017

This was a great setup for families, but unfortunately not set up for the wet weather. The little portico does not give any shelter from the wet, so when packing and unpacking in the rain everything and everyone gets soaked. Can't leave your wet shoes outside as they become drenched, so needs a carport over the driveways and a larger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne F
FranzA554, Manager at Franz Alpine Retreat, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our Retreat Dianne. Unfortunately when one lives near a Rain Forest, one of the main factors is - you've got it - RAIN. The portico is normally sufficient, but when one get horizontal rain, nothing will really keep one dry outside. If you were able to compare the prices of like sized, fully...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franz Josef hotels
2.8 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,115 reviews
3.1 km away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,325 reviews
0.5 km away
Franz Josef Oasis
Franz Josef Oasis
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
3.1 km away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
658 reviews
3.2 km away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Franz Alpine Retreat gives you the perfect retreat in the most beautiful location this country has to offer. Whether you are travelling alone, as a group or a family, it has personalised facilities that fully immerse you in the surrounding environment.Franz Alpine Retreat has been purpose built with facilities that allow you to feel at home, relax, do your own thing and ultimately enjoy the breathtaking environment around you. Our chalets can sleep up to 5. Chalets are equipped with full gas cooking, kitchen - dining room, electric blankets, SKY + Freeview, Wireless Internet, Phone & insect screens. Other facilities within the complex DVD library, BBQ, full laundry facilities, continental breakfast.A perfect place to stay - your home away from home! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Franz Alpine Retreat

Address: 2 Donovan Drive | State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Franz Josef
Price Range: €89 - €188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Franz Alpine Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Franz Alpine Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz Alpine Retreat Hotel Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Franz Alpine Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Franz Alpine Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All cabins were built so that you could see the view. All accessible with car parked at side.”
  • Thius was the view from the lounge window
HazelH36, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We showed up unannounced and got a good deal so; do you chance it or not to book or wing it???? LOl.”
maxannie, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book early and enjoy the peace and quiet and the views”
C7824UVjohnn, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“This was a hotel but motel units.”
BeverleyW186, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 has great views from the living room.”
638beccag, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$102* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$139
PricelineUS$120
TripAdvisorUS$102
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates