We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunset Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 294: English reviews
Start your review of Sunset Motel
 Click to rate
New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stay elsewhere! This was literally the only unpleasant experience we had in an otherwise incredible two weeks in New Zealand. The room was dirty. There was food stuck to the appliances, the counters were dirty and there was thick dust all over the vents. The drinking glasses were dirty. The bed was old and thin. Springs were popping up out...

Thank evancorn
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

I think most people will see through your false review. You were unhappy before you even arrived. Due to the Booking.com cancellation policy you would have been charged for your booking and you had wanted to cancel earlier. You must have cleaned the room before you left, as when I entered the room it was spotless. You can see from...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Sunset motel is one of not many accomodation providers in the Fox Glacier area. I stayed in the studio unit with mountain view. Yes, the view is great especially through the pane of window that's located above the sliding doors, you can actually see the snow capped peaks though the window. The sliding door leads to the backyard or front...

Lexington, MA
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sunset Motel features well designed rooms that include a kitchenette with microwave and refrigerator. The Motel is located a short walk from the center of Fox Glacier. It does not have a restaurant, but there are many great places do eat within walking distance include the The Last Kitchen and the Lake Matheson Cafe. Worth a walk around Lake...

Thank WellTraveled3
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I only rate this three stars because I want people to realize it is an Ok place to stay with limited amenities. When you have a flat rating system (1-5 stars) it is hard to factor in cost and all the accoutrements that one can consider when picking a place to stay.What do I mean by limited? Well, for example,...

Thank Jack K
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed the night and the room was comfortable and clean. TV channels were limited and only cooking was a microwave. Location is about 1km west of the town with a view of Mt Tasman and Cook. Motel close to a helipad which is a bit noisy during the day but fine in the evening and at night.

Thank Graeme M
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Nice, simple rooms with a fully fitted kitchennette. Great location, near restaurants and a short drive awa' from Fox Glacier. Fast but intermittent wifi - not a real problem and forgot to mention it as we stayed for only one night. Easy and friendly check in and out. Really wish I was able to stay longer!

Thank redjasper
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Motel on New Year's Eve and never heard a sound Fantastic We love peace and quiet The Motel is modern and the staff are friendly and helpful We booked the two bedroom unit as we were travelling with my aged mother The unit was clean and had plenty of room for us all Will definitely stay...

Thank stegeb
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We were in a two bedroom unit here and we found it very comfortable. Our unit was small but lovely, very clean and excellent wifi. The views from our room were outstanding and we had no issues whatsoever with our stay, everything went very smoothly from check in to check out. We will be back in Fox Glacier in future...

Thank GwagFunk
Reviewed 10 January 2017

One of the best motel I've ever experienced: clean, comfortable, modern decor. Floor to ceiling windows allow plenty of natural lighting and a serene scenery of green lawn and trees in the backyard, set against the backdrop of glacial mountains.

Thank Quyen L
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here. - kitchenette available so you can do some cooking (there is a book in the room that has rules stated regarding cooking and washing up after so do read that or risk facing cleaning charges) - room/bathroom is dated - great views when the skies are clear - had encounters with moths at night and a...

Thank snll88

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (83)
Room/Suite (25)
View from Room (32)
Bathroom (2)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Videos (1)
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (19)
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
1.0 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
338 reviews
0.7 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
163 reviews
1.0 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
264 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
1.0 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: €74 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a mountain view”
  • View from patio
 of 5 bubbles paulmE7674AM, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The east-facing rooms probably have a nicer outlook.”
 of 5 bubbles maureen056, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms in a row so all have same view.”
 of 5 bubbles n6ta, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view but get up early anyway and catch the sunrise as well as the sunset.”
 of 5 bubbles Liney1966, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Please do not stay as they charge your card after stay for cleaning etc”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5