We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunset Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 283: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent two nights here. Nice, clean, comfortable room. Decent sized bathroom. Quiet location. Nice, small in-room kitchenette. Friendly owners. Nice small patios facing the mountains. Great place to stay, close to town. Go into town, get a to-go pizza, and sit outside with a bottle of wine and enjoy the sunset on the mountains. Only gripe would be the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent 2 nights here; the room was adequate, with small kitchenette. Bathroom small but adequate. This is a Motel and is not pretending to be anything else. The position is fine - it is a short drive into the small township, so is quiet, which is an advantage.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maureen056
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice comfy bed, complete with electric blanket. Well set up kitchenette, including coffee percolator. Good heater in room, plus in bathroom. Fabulous views. Just outside township so lovely and peaceful. Most enjoyable stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HKinsey
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this Motel only to be charged 20% after cancellation because they have 'fine print' that says 20% will be charged and kept even though the website we used said free cancellation. As I explained to the owner, the change was done immedietly as we had to change plans after the terrible earthquake. I also explained that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olcayozcelik
sunsetmotellers, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

So as threatened by you here is the "shi*iest" review ever that you told us you would write. So let's get to the real story.... You had booked 3 rooms under Booking.com where the cancellation policy is clearly written and also on your confirmation that there is a 20% non-refundable deposit. This was also emailed to you shortly after your...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just a one night stay - room was clean. Nothing special but likewise nothing bad. We booked room at the last minute so price was higher than I would have expected for this level of motel. So other than price all was fine

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vern D
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very quite & small city. Most of the restaurant is closed by 9/10 pm. which is a great problem for tourist.The hotel reception does n't give us warmly welcome reception.We was group of 4 people & a baby. By the time we reached there all the store was already close. We asked for an extra milk cartoon(250ml)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KanizFatima
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent 2 nights at the Sunset Motels on our 2 week trip through New Zealand. The room and views were just like the pictures - our room (#19) had a great view of the mountains (even though the weather didn't fully cooperate as we had a lot of clouds and rain during that time) but it was good enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Citygirl7314
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here recently on a trip South. We found the room well appointed, and very clean. We had a great view of the mountains, when the cloud broke. It's only a short walk into the main area of Fox Glacier where there are shops, cafes and bars. There is also a fuel station that offers 'pay at the pump'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scarz
Kiwi
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night on the way to Wanaka. Good location for Lake Mathieson but the room was cold with only a thin duvet on the bed. Town with several good cafes is only a short walk away. Fill up with fuel in Franz.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank airbus0320
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we checked in, we had a great feeling about this property. It's very warm & welcoming and set in a fantastic position to look out onto the beautiful mountains. We stayed in a spa room & the spa bath was appreciated after our long walks in the area. The rooms are well equipped with kitchenette facilities including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda M

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.0 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
324 reviews
0.8 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
149 reviews
0.1 km away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
949 reviews
1.0 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
345 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free wifi when booking direct 25 spacious ground floor units.Four star plus qualmark rated with views from every room of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman. We have a large back lawn for your enjoyment. Our property is located on Cook Flat Road so we avoid the noise from State Highway 6 that runs through the main town. So no traffic noise or late night bar noise. Sleep in peace with only the views to keep you awake.Studio, Spa and Family units all designated non-smoking, serviced daily, microwave kitchenette with cooking facilities, tea/coffee,32 inch LCD tv's with Satellite television, electric heating , electric blankets, phone, wireless internet available, ironing facilities, cot/highchair available, continental breakfast available, guest laundry, 900 metres to cafes and tour operators. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 93 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: €89 - €192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fox Glacier
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Chicago, Illinois
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a mountain view”
  • View from patio
 of 5 bubbles paulmE7674AM, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The east-facing rooms probably have a nicer outlook.”
 of 5 bubbles maureen056, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms in a row so all have same view.”
 of 5 bubbles n6ta, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view but get up early anyway and catch the sunrise as well as the sunset.”
 of 5 bubbles Liney1966, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Please do not stay as they charge your card after stay for cleaning etc”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay