We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We booked a room with own bathroom and separate beds. Bathroom was not clean. Hairs in sink and shower. We had to turn over the matrass because it was crooked. The room smelled bad due to the humidity in it. Some minor remark, you can not darken the room. It is very light. Very disappointed. Not worth 80€.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaétan d
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from the Fox Pod Hostel!! Thank you so much for posting your review on your stay with us. We are extremely sorry for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay. If given an opportunity we look forward to welcoming back soon and offer you the signature Fox Pod Hostel Experience, which our guests have grown so...

Vancouver
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Host was friendly. Restaurant had a good vibe. I stayed in room 9, in a four bed room I took the bottom bunk on the left. I was grossed out the fitted sheet had a couple of old blood spots on it. And the pillow had multiple old blood spots on it. Basic shared bathroom....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank specializedrh1550
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you. I appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write your review on this forum. I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. I hope to do better the next time you are here. I appreciate your feedback...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here just for the one night. Okay we only paid $110 for the night....But. Worst place to stay. Room smelt of old feet and mould!!! The carpet of the room look like it never been cleaned!!! Hair of all colours were in it!!! Had a drink at the bar and was going to have dinner there but my husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherie2014
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you. I appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write your review on this forum. I am sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. I hope to do better the next time you are here. I appreciate your feedback...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We were the oldest people at the complimentary breakfast but didn't feel out of place. Our room was warm, clean and comfortable and had an ensuite. It looked out on to a lovely wall of ferns and the view from the balcony was great. The free soup for dinner was an interesting experience. Book online as it is much cheaper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avntheothers
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the feedback you have shared, further to your stay with us. I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

Great accommodation at very reasonable prices. Best restaurant and bar also with great food and drinks. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and tidy. This is a great place to hang out with travellers, business people and a great place to stay. Plenty of options for tourism and activities in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthernHunting
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the feedback you have shared, further to your stay with us. I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel

Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Thank you to the team at Fox Inn for extending such warm hospitality. Easy booking process and check in facilities. The room was warm and cosy. Clean sheets and a tidy space to make us feel at home. We hope to come back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Selina & A
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time....

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Excellent location, clean, budget accommodation with helpful friendly staff and restaurant right on the premises if you can't be bothered cooking.Kitchen really well set out with everything you need for your own use. Great mix of travellers. Very good showers/toilet areas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terryjudymag
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time....

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Very clean,cozy and well located. The use of space is intelligent and proximity to market. Good wifi coverage all around the hostel. The best thing is very friendly and helpful staff, specially the owner(HT).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Baljit D
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time....

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed at Fox pod Hostel for three nights. It was just perfect for a couple.The rooms are clean . The staff is very helpful. Special thanks to Mani and cecil. The complimentary breakfast and unlimited wifi was an added advantage.We will be definitely back and recommend it to all our friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VIVA890
Ambica A, Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time....

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed in Sir Cedric's hostel for two days prior our Fox Glacier Ice climbing tour. The hostel was ideally located in the small town, just a short walk to the company that organises the tours to Fox Glacier. The hostel has a large bar/restaurant, which offers discounts to people staying in the hostel. There is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
Ambica A, General Manager at Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Kia Ora!! Thank you so much for your feedback received by us for your stay with us!! I have shared your positive sentiments with all my colleagues at the hotel and the entire team looks forward to your next visit to our hotel. Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance at any time....

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.0 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.2 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
332 reviews
0.1 km away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Sir Cedrics Chateau Franz Backpackers and Motel
0.8 km away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
15.9 km away
Franz Josef Montrose
Franz Josef Montrose
#2 of 13 in Franz Josef
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn

Address: 39 Sullivan Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7886, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: €38 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Glacier Hotel South Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sir Cedrics Fox Pod Hostel & Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“superb location, multiple activities like skydiving nearby, a serene place”
 of 5 bubbles muzzammilb2015, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had room 33 which is a private room with ensuite as it was in the end we only had one neighbour”
 of 5 bubbles 186lisam186, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Jspek, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Shared dorms are tiny, consider a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles xxemmamcdxx, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dormitories are available but we chose a private room with ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles Avntheothers, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5