We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Expedia.comUS$73*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$76*
US$73*
Great Deal
US$74*
US$76*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
See the most recent reviews
Showing 366: English reviews
Deloraine, Australia
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay, the room was very neat, clean and comfortable. It's nice to find somewhere that has awesome showers and great water pressure, staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HLE-94
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. We like to ensure that all guests have a great experience. We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in New Zlealand.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Room clean and comfortable. Free parking. Wifi signal was not good in our room, but would be fine if we went outside the room. There was a movie channel on the TV that played some great films!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan176
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Yes we are aware of the problem with wifi and have the best system available for Fox Glacier, but unfortunately we have no control over the capacity coming into town and the fact that it is via satellite and not fiber. We have over 500 movies available so there is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We were only here for two nights but we found our room to be clean and comfortable with everything we needed. We actually had a spa bath although we only used the shower, which was very good. The friendly manager did check with us on our arrival that we had booked to be taken to the glacier the following day,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan708
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a very high standard when it comes to cleanliness and ensure all our staff keep up the standard we have set. Hopefully we will see you back here in Fox Glacier in the future.

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Bella Vista Fox Glacier for 2 nights recently whilst we explored the surrounding rivers as we all are keen fishermen. The room we had was spotlessly clean and was a perfect size to relax in after a busy day out and about. It was a perfect location for us as we literally had a one minute walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi5000
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we were happy to host you while visiting New Zealand for your fishing trip. There are some great fishing spots on the West Coast. Please look us up when you come back through Fox Glacier we would love to host your group again.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Highly recommended. Price is reasonable, rooms are clean, modern and reasonably priced. Situated on the edge of a rain forested packed with glow worms, we walked through it every night. We would definitely stay at Bella Vista Fox again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigTea33
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay here and managed to see the Glow Worms. We look forward to seeing you again.

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Helpful staff, neat rooms well laid out with a sofa and chairs plus a small kitchen area. The location is perfect on the main road so easily found. Perfect for the glacier or the town and mirror view on Mathessons lake was to stunning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MartinJLaws
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Hi Martin. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it was great that you managed to see the reflection of Mt Cook down at Lake Matheson. It certainly is an amazing sight. Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand and hopefully we'll see you...

Reviewed 13 March 2017

If you decide to spend a night at this hotel it is not 18 miles to Mount Cook! It is 18 miles as the crow flies but a long way by road. When we booked this hotel we were under the assumption it was only 18 miles to Mount Cook. Didn't realize it was around two hours drive because the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

It was disappointing to receive your review which was so negative. When you made the booking you agreed to our terms & conditions which includes the Cancellation Policy, which is stated quite clearly on the reservation. Nowhere on any of our official websites do we advertise that we are close to Mt Cook. Our address is given as SH6 Fox...

Penn Valley, California
Reviewed 6 March 2017

This room was nice as motel rooms go, up to date, neat and cheery. A bit small. We were greeted warmly by the office staff. This motel is right next to the glow worm trail which we enjoyed. Right in downtown Fox Glacier so handy to restaurants and cafes. Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank minic00per
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to explore the Glow Worm Trail. We would love to have you stay again and look forward to it.

Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We spent one night at the Bella Vista Motel in early March. There was a very helpful welcome from the lady on reception who gave us useful information about Fox Glacier. Our room was small, very clean and quite comfortable. There was a small kitchen unit with kettle, microwave oven and equipment sufficient to make hot drinks and a microwave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui R
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

It's great to hear you had a comfortable stay with us Jacqui R. We really enjoy everything Fox Glacier has to offer and the Matheson Cafe certainly has good food (and coffee).

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, cosy room and accessible location to kiosk, cafes and mart in town! Carpark lots available right in front of the room. Basic kitchen with microwave, kettle and fridge. Overall, good for short stay to rest for the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coady_SIN
bvfox, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us Coady_SIN. It's great being in such a handy location for everything our little town has to offer, so glad we could give you somewhere cosy to rest from your adventures.

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.3 km away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
352 reviews
30.3 km away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,892 reviews
0.1 km away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,147 reviews
1.7 km away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
171 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Price Range: €56 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fox Glacier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Swansea S.Wales
6 months ago
Singapore

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms don't have a mountain view but you only have to step into the car park for a view.”
solosailorPerth, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“Our room in the front down stairs was perfect”
debbaxter2017, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are no lifts so a ground floor option may be best if you can't handle the stairs with all your luggage.”
russdon3, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try the glow worm walk in the forest next door, the hosts will tell you about it.”
BigTea33, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the 1st floor”
Z1196DTthomasl, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$73* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$74
Booking.comUS$76
PricelineUS$76
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates