We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Shaven Crown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Shaven Crown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
G.B.
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Three of us visited for Sunday lunch a few weeks ago.I chose The Shaven Crown because my friend had her little dog with her, so needed somewhere dog friendly.From the minute we arrived were very impressed not only with the beautiful building,but also the professional staff and the lovely owner who obviously loves dogs! We were made very welcome in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear John F, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your lunch and the building. I am a big dog lover so, your right, they are always more than welcome. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Evelyn

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

stayed in pump room on 28th November on arrival shown to our room by phil it was very cold day and heating wasn't on till 15 minutes into getting in room. very poor lighting in room and couldn't get any wifi in the night heating went off and it was very cold as duvet was paper thin which would of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrismitten
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear chrismitten, Thank you for your honest review. I am so sorry your stay was not up to your standard. I will take all your comments on board. Sadly, with the building as old as it is, it is hard to get wifi in low ceiling rooms. We do not put water in the rooms for the very simple reason...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had 2 nights in the pump room, it is a beautiful room ,very comfortable bed PERFECT A. very nice couple that own the hotel were charming . 😄 We certainly go back there ,when we want to spoil ourselves The food was is fabulous 🌟 🍾💥

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shirley w
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear shirley w, Thank you. What a fantastic review. So pleased you had a lovely time with us and i do hope you will be back soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely hotel, great location, fantastic staff and great food. My girlfriend, who is a vegetarian, said the fish and chips was one of the best she had ever had. Phil and Evelyn, the owners were really hands on and made us feel so welcomed. We shall be returning for sure. Highly recommend ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garyjwillis
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear garyjwillis, Thank you for your fantastic review! I will pass your comment on the Fish and Chips on to the Chefs. They will be delighted. Hope to see you soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we stayed in a lovely room, stylish design and very comfy. great mix of the old and new up to date interior design the room was very clean. the hotel owners were very friendly and we will stay there again for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxinetinkler
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear maxinetinkler, Thank you so much for your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you (Oscar and Suki aswell!) again soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

lf you love to stay somewhere with bags of character then, this is the place for you. However, after the impact of the place has settled there are some small things you wish were there but aren't. To make a list in the Pump Room bedroom: Better quality bed pillows with spares in the wardrobe We were cold during thd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 528alison
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear 528alison, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and have taken them all on board. Kind regards, Evelyn

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Stayed for one night in the pump room, which has windows onto the main street. Noise was not a problem and we slept very well in the most comfortable bed. Only limitation with the room was poor (non-existent) WiFi. We ate supper and breakfast in the restaurant. Enjoyed both meals. For breakfast, there is a selection of cold options and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Notnab
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear Notnab, Thank you for your review. Sadly, when these kind of buildings were build, Wifi had not been invented yet. With the restrictions we have with it being a Grade2* listed we cannot do anything unfortunately. However i am pleased that you did enjoy your stay. Evelyn

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed for three nights and had one evening meal. The room was clean and comfortable. We didn't find the menu terribly exciting, but the quality of the food more than made up for this. The steak was excellent, as was breakfast. There are two other very good eateries in the village, so no car needed to try different places...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank N D
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear N D, Thank you for writing such a fab review. I am pleased you enjoyed our food and the log fire. Kind regards, Evelyn

Roma, Italia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I have been here just for one night and the experience was lovely. The room clean and well decorated, nice details around the whole property. There is a beautiful garden that in summer should be fantastic place to have a coffee. Breakfast is more than a simple one, there is a menu dedicated and they prepeare it upon your request....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walterRoma_Italia
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear walterRoma_Italia, Thank you for your lovely review. I hope you come back in Summer because, your right, the Courtyard is beautiful then. Look forward to seeing you then. Kind regards, Evelyn

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Just a simply charming place in a gorgeous village. Unfortunately we only had one night at this stunning place. We stayed in the Pump Room which despite comments about the traffic noise we found not to be an issue in the slightest. We dined out at a local pub about 30 mins walk and managed to have walk in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this review

Dear Emily B, Thank you for your lovely review. I do hope to welcome you again soon because the fire will be going from next week. Kind regards, Evelyn

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton under Wychwood
6.6 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
304 reviews
0.5 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipton under Wychwood
209 reviews
7.7 km away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
612 reviews
12.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
964 reviews
11.0 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
OFFER - a 15% REDUCTION ON ALL ROOM RATES FOR DIRECT BOOKINGS MADE & TAKEN BETWEEN 1ST DECEMBER 2016 AND 28TH FEBRUARY 2017 (Sunday to Thursday nights only, redeemable at check-out and non-applicable to existing bookings). The Shaven Crown Hotel, which is situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, re-opened September 2014 after extensive refurbishment. The Hotel is one of the oldest inns in England and oozes character and atmosphere as well as lashings of Cotswolds charm. You will usually find a roaring log fire to welcome you in the Grand Hall and can guarantee an equally warm welcome from the staff. We have a an excellent restaurant, serving the highest quality locally sourced produce, a bar, which is open all day, and seven beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms. Our basic room, The Crown Room, has new furnishings, however the en-suite and carpet are yet to be updated, we hope to do this in early 2017. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shaven Crown

Address: High Street, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range: €90 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shaven Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Shaven Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaven Crown Hotel
Hotel Shaven Crown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Shaven Crown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Essex, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Shaven Crown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The pump room was lovely. but I expect all the rooms are lovely WE WERE EXTREMELY HAPPY TO BE THERE 😄”
 of 5 bubbles shirleyw24, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“make sure you eat in the restaurant, the food was amazing”
 of 5 bubbles maxinetinkler, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We only dinned at the Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles cheshire66, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Shipton room overlooks the courtyard with no road noise”
 of 5 bubbles Grumpyoldman, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“do not take the basic room "Crown Room"”
 of 5 bubbles Lemonitsa2011, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay