We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Seafront 29 Runton Road, Cromer NR27 9AS England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (144)
360
Panoramas (43)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 04/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 04/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 7 hotels in Cromer
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice

Finding an ideal historic hotel in Cromer does not have to be difficult. Welcome to The Cliftonville Hotel, a nice option for travellers like you.

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, and Cliftonville Hotel makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including room service. In addition, guests can enjoy a lounge during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

While in Cromer, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from The Cliftonville Hotel, including No1 Cromer & Ice Cromer (0.2 mi), Hot Rocks (0.3 mi), and Upstairs No1 Cromer (0.2 mi).

Looking to explore? Then look no further than Cromer Pier (0.3 mi) and Cromer Parish Church (St Peter and St Paul) (0.3 mi), which are some popular Cromer attractions – all conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel.

The Cliftonville Hotel puts the best of Cromer at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Room & Suite (273)273
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
653Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 294
  • 210
  • 79
  • 40
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pam K wrote a review Dec 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom14 contributions6 helpful votes
I had a Christmas lunch before they had to close for Christmas and it was splendid. The food delicious the waiter Tom delightful. I could not fault it but then I have eaten here many times and it has always been excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
ninanorthfield wrote a review Feb 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
We have stayed at the Cliftonville several times and not only have we never been disappointed, we have always been delighted. The food is fantastic, the staff are friendly and efficient and the views are great! Every time we stay we find something new and delightful around Cromer, last year it was the breeding pair of peregrine falcons on the church tower. Having a safe place to park and then having so much within walking distance is a real joy.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: Lovely sea views!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Belinda Cammell, Owner at The Cliftonville Hotel
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted you enjoy your visits to Cromer and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon
Read more
donnyMiltonKeynes wrote a review Nov 2020
milton keynes567 contributions223 helpful votes
We booked for 3 nights but could only stay for 2 due to Lockdown 2. We had a great room (6) on the front overlooking to sea. The room was very large, with a separate dressing room and a large bathroom. All very spacious. The beds were not the best but were ok. The food was excellent. The breakfast was whatever you could want, the only missing was some fresh fruit. The dinner menu had plenty of variety and again the food was excellent. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The hotel was strict about COVID rules but not in an intrusive way. Free parking available on site. The town was only about 10 minutes walk. The beach and promenade are great for walking, you can go for miles in either direction. A very enjoyable stay, just a shame it was cut short.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Choose an executive room on the front
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
LazyKay wrote a review Nov 2020
Cambridge21 contributions50 helpful votes
Recently returned from a short stay at this Edwardian hotel and by and large enjoyed my stay. Once through the doors you are met by the impressive sight of the hotel lobby and main dinning room. Great sweeping Arts and Crafts style staircase of the lobby and beautiful stained glass windows with Latin mottos in the "West Cliff" dinning room. In fact most of the public areas remind you of an Agatha Christie novel and give you an impression of faded grandeur. The staff were very friendly and made me feel most welcome, and the food, although a tad on the expensive side, was very tasty with generous portions. Unfortunately the rooms did not match the grandeur of downstairs 😞 The carpet, although clean, was quite stain. The window frames cracked with peeling paint and it was obvious that they hadn't been cleaned in a very, very long time. The walls badly needed a lick of paint to cover the scuffs and the bathroom had black mould stained grouting. All of this I could have overlooked had I had a good night's sleep, but the bed was sooooo uncomfortable with springs poking through and the pillows were so hard and flat it was impossible to get comfy! I did ask for new ones and housekeeping really did try, bless them, to find some but they said that they were all the same, and agreed that they were awful!!! Because of this I'm sad to say I will not be returning...😞😞😞
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Bottomley, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cliftonville Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2020
Thank you for your comments. We are undergoing a full refurbishment over the winter period. The windows are cleaned every week but being opposite the sea they get sprayed with sand and salt every day and really could be done every day which, I am sure you understand, cannot be the case. Being an old building, every room is different so we always recommend calling the hotel direct to book if you have specific requirements. I can only apologise that you felt uncomfortable and did not enjoy your stay on this occasion. Thank you for your thoughts.
Read more
Jane H wrote a review Oct 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom156 contributions49 helpful votes
Had 3 night stay at this hotel it was very nice. We booked direct with the hotel so we had one of the best rooms and price included breakfast. I think all rooms had a sea view of some sort but our room was on the front (room 1) had full views of the coastline. Yeah you are on the road but we didn’t really notice. The room was large with double and a single bed in which was very comfortable. The bathroom was of a good size with bath and overhead shower. The hotel also provided bath/shower gel and shampoo/body wash bottles all sanitized for you. Breakfast was between 8-10am and you were shown to your table which had all cutlery in plastic bags ready for you to uncover. You were also given your menu which had everything you would want for breakfast. Staff very efficient and nothing seemed to be any trouble for them and very helpful. We had a full English breakfast every morning with mixed toast and a pot of tea. We also ate in the restaurant 2 nights out of the 3 and food was very good and they were big portions we couldn’t manage 3 courses. The last night we ate in the bistro cafe a joining the hotel again very good food. They bar was just to the side of reception and it was table service they had a good choice of gins and tonics which I loved. We would definitely recommend and we would go back to stay at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Bottomley, Guest Services / Front Office at The Cliftonville Hotel
Responded 18 Dec 2020
Thank you so much for your recommendation. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in Cromer and our Hotel. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$168 - US$233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cliftonville hotel cromer
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkCromer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Cliftonville Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Cliftonville Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cromer Putting Green (0.1 km), The Garden House Gallery and Shop (0.5 km), and Cromer Boating Lake (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cliftonville Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Cliftonville Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cliftonville Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cliftonville Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Old Rock Shop Bistro, Hatters Tea Shop, and The Garden Street Grill.
Is The Cliftonville Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Cromer.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Cliftonville Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Cliftonville Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Cliftonville Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Felbrigg Hall (3.6 km).
Does The Cliftonville Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Cliftonville Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.