We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cortijo Catifalarga

Cortijo Catifalarga s/n, 18413 Capileira Spain
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Capileira
Cortijo Catifalarga Alpujarra is set 0.6 mi outside Capileira, in the Alpujarra region and within Sierra Nevada National Park. Offering views of the Poqueira Canyon and the Sierra Lújar mountains, it is set in a restored farmhouse with an outdoor swimming pool. Cortijo Catifalarga Alpujarra offers rustic rooms with terraces and apartments with an equipped kitchenette and a seating area. All feature beamed ceilings, a TV and heating. The property offers breakfast and has bar on site. You will also find a terrace and a charming lounge with a fireplace. You can visit the characteristic Andalusian white villages of Capileira and Bubion. The beaches around Almuñécar and Motril can be reached in around an hour’s drive. Parking is available on site.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Street parking
Outdoor pool
Private pool
Breakfast in the room
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
Massage chair
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
64Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 11
  • 6
  • 9
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paul M wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We enjoyed our last five days in Spain staying at this warm and cozy place. We stayed with our two daughters. The location outside the village makes it very easy to move around. The views during the breakfast were stunning. We will try come back, sure.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Room Tip: Take your time for breakfast
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Alexandre D wrote a review Aug 2021
Paris, France27 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked 3 rooms for a a family trip in the Alpujarras. The last part of the road was unpaved and not very well indicated. When we finally arrived at the property, we were surprised to find an old rusty camper van in the parking lot. We spent quite some time trying to figure out where was the entrance and reception. While looking for it, we found a very unfriendly man that appeared to be the owner of the place. After quite some time explaining us that we should know how to use our phones (in a place with no coverage) and that the kids were disturbing the place, the landlord showed us the rooms. One was underground, another one straight out of "Shining" and the last one, honestly, quite OK. Overall the place seemed barely cleaned but the rudeness of the tenant made us leave the place. Spending more than 700 bucks in a place where the people clearly feels you unwelcomed wasn't the idea of the trip. Thanks to this, we discovered another hotel in the Alpujarras that we highly recommend: estrella de las nieves. This hotel, located in one of the most beautiful village of the alpujarras was half the price for a much better service. The rooms were much bigger and cleaner, the staff welcoming and the breakfast top notch.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Sleep Quality
Response from Anna Araszkiewicz, General Manager at Cortijo Catifalarga
Responded 5 Aug 2021
Thanks for your review, and thanks for talking about us. We have all kind of guests, and it is impossible all of them enjoy their stay (8.6 in Booking, it's not too bad). I think you spend a lot of time writing about our place everywhere you can in internet, but anyway you were NOT a host and we are very happy reading how much you tried and tried to talk about your experience, nice. Never happened to us,
Read more
Evita wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Sadly, I haven't got many nice things to say regarding my experiences with this Cortijo. Perhaps it was my personal experience but I found the whole booking, preparation and planning a completely unprofessional set up. I started planning a 40th surprise party almost a year before the event, and the staff still struggled to co-ordinate the issues and gave me problems to deal with a week before. These problems included the chef telling me to book both days, or he'd charge us to have the BBQ we'd already organised, which was another 300E- A WEEK BEFORE THE EVENT! I was told by two of my guests that he accepted a 'pay-off' to stay quiet, from one of the members of my group (who paid him so that he would accept people bringing drinks into the restaurant they'd bought elsewhere to our pre-paid BBQ OUTSIDE, with our own meat, BBQ chef etc) The chef also told me how much I'd complicated his life with my choices, spoke to me VERY rudely and was completely unprofessional. The rooms were ok, the heating was nice and the views were lovely, but the arrangement and organisation, the terrible attitude of the chef and his arrogance, were of very poor standards. The guests, on the whole, were happy, but knew they were being ripped off by the restaurant who charged them for bringing their own drinks to a BBQ OUTSIDE we'd organise 8 months before. Disgusting way to treat a party of people and I'd never return to the cortijo. The whole experience left a very nasty taste in my mouth.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from CortijoCatifalarga, Gerente at Cortijo Catifalarga
Responded 18 Mar 2020
First of all thanks for your opinion. We apologise for all this misunderstanding and we will keep improving as always. Anyway, just to clarify, we informed since December about the option to use the restaurant area. We pointed the owner as the one to deal with you about this option. But you never wanted to understand about this. After all, we also found one kettle missing in one of our rooms, maybe it went by itself. We hope next time you understand what the word "restaurant" means (at least they serve their food and drinks) and how can be if you want to use their place (it is called "to rent" the place). After this, for us is all clear, and we hope to see you around again. The guests showed us their satisfaction, and that's the most important thing for us. See you soon.
Read more
Reiziger1974 wrote a review Nov 2019
Granada, Spain3 contributions1 helpful vote
I was received in a very warm and welcoming way by Quique and his wife Anna. And not to forget their two little girls. The two girls in the restaurant also did an outstanding job. The food was delicious and more than enough. Everyday for breakfast we has a little something different. The room was spacious and rustic. The balcony was a great addition while travelling with the dog. The location is outside of the village but within 15 minutes you are in Capileira. The views are stunning from the cortijo and there are great hiking routes close. I will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Louis Klein wrote a review Aug 2019
Madrid, Spain3 contributions1 helpful vote
Very pleasant surroundings, good swimming pool and spacious accommodation. Location is perfect for getting away from everything. Mountain views are spectacular and the lack of light pollution at night means you can sit on the terrace and look up at thousands of stars. Capileira is a few minutes walk down the hill. The managers are helpful and welcoming. Very interesting restaurant to eat at! Nice Breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
US$65 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
SpainAndaluciaProvince of GranadaCapileira
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cortijo Catifalarga
Which popular attractions are close to Cortijo Catifalarga?
Nearby attractions include Escuela de Flamenco La Fuente (0.5 km), Art Studio (0.4 km), and Art Studio (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cortijo Catifalarga?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Cortijo Catifalarga?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Cortijo Catifalarga?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cortijo Catifalarga?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante La Tapa, El Corral del Castano, and Restaurante La Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cortijo Catifalarga?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Cortijo Catifalarga have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Cortijo Catifalarga offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Cortijo Catifalarga located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Capileira.
Are pets allowed at Cortijo Catifalarga?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cortijo Catifalarga?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Cortijo Catifalarga have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.