We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Shire Woodstock

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Shire Woodstock
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

478 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Shire Woodstock
See the most recent reviews
Showing 462: English reviews
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Second time staying here. Room was clean and comfortable if a little dated. Upstairs veranda with coffee is pleasant. Small refrigerator in the room is convenient. Was very quiet this trip. TV's have been replaced since our last stay. We love Woodstock and find this motel to be a good alternative to the more expensive B & B's in the...

1Thank iamlisad
Takoma Park, Maryland
Reviewed 11 June 2015

Lovely hotel in the heart of Woodstock. While on the main road it is quite quiet. The view of river is lovely. They have chairs and picnic tables set up to enjoy the river. 24hr tea and coffee upstairs with view of the river is a plus

1Thank janeg99
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

We hope to see you again soon and play some lawn games!

Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Four star mattress and pillows. Backs up to a river with a coffee bar on the second floor overlooking the river. Shared our own bottle of wine here and met some great fellow travelers. Easy four block walk to downtown with plenty of restaurants. Breakfast not included but walked across the street to the grocery store and picked up fresh...

1Thank James M
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your experience, we hope to see you again soon!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 27 May 2015

I/We have stayed at The Shire many, many times as my mother lives in Woodstock. The place is under new ownership and we were afraid of the change. The hospitality and wonderful rooms are even better with new pillows and linens... There will be changes but good ones as far as I can tell, nothing rash. Some of the old...

1Thank Julie05091
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

It truly is a pleasure to see that all our efforts are being noticed. We all thank you and are excited for what the future holds here at The Shire. We look forward to having you back soon!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 26 May 2015

We've been staying at the Shire Motel off and on for over a decade. We have found it to be a scenic, reasonably priced (typically, much less than the Woodstock Inn), clean, and conveniently located lodging option for the Woodstock/Quechee area. Unlike lodging such as 506 On the River, the Shire is a short walk to the town center, across...

1Thank kreino
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

We hope you caught something this time around! Thank you for the review

Hampton, Virginia
Reviewed 19 May 2015

From the outside, I wasn't sure what to expect. There's nothing too appealing about the outside appearance of the building. The manager was very friendly though and we decided to give it a try even though they offer no discounts, AAA, AARP, etc. Our room was very large and the furniture was what you find in someone's home. Beds with...

Thank pennypbj
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing some feedback. Unfortunately you caught us as we were transitioning the exterior of the property into summer mode. We want to make you aware that we take these comments seriously and would be grateful to have you come visit us again!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Stayed last weekend and was delighted. Wonderfully cozy room w/ a gas fireplace and spectacular view, and the proprietors could not have been nicer. Immaculate. We will surely be back ASAP and as often as I can get back to New England! BTW, my lass is a coffee junkie and rather than those horrible mini-Mr-Coffee contraptions you get in most...

1Thank Leave_me_alone_asses
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We can't wait to have you back!

Montevideo, Uruguay
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

We Came With my husband after 9 hours driving. Inmediately they offered u a Clean and confortable Room. View to the river. Great stay and exceded what we were looking for. The guy at the front desk was real ly friendly, he recomend us places yo go out pr for breakfast, all waking distance. The only weak point is not...

1Thank Cecilia A
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! Fortunately Woodstock offers many great dining options for breakfast, lunch, and dinner all in walking distance of us. We hope to see you again soon!

Hartland VT
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

The Shire is a great place to stay while visiting the Cute town of Woodstock Vt. We had a great look around the place and it has nice rooms with a cozy feel. Some of the rooms have great views of the river. All the staff we met was very friendly and willing to be helpful.

Thank Keeb48
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. We all take pride in providing the best experience possible, we hope to see you again soon!

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 February 2015

If you like a cold room #101 is just for you! They ended up bringing us a portable heating until the second night since it was not getting up to 60 and the unit was running nonstop. We moved to room 109 and that one was nice and warm especially since the weather ran minus 0 when we visited. The...

Thank Grandma995
Adam L, General Manager at The Shire Woodstock, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to meet you and I hope that the solution we provided met all of your expectations. We want to let you know that we have addressed the issue and it is resolved. We hope to see you back soon!

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (108)
Room/Suite (19)
Hotel & Grounds (25)
View from Room (14)
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (19)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
View from Room (2)
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
3.6 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
391 reviews
7.6 km away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
286 reviews
7.1 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
0.1 km away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
3.5 km away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are an independent hotel in the Village of Woodstock, VT. Each of our 43 rooms is uniquely furnished in traditional New England style and many of them have a beautiful view of the Ottauquechee River which flows behind the property. Hospitality is our priority and we want you to feel at home here at The Shire Woodstock. Our General Manager lives on the premises and is available to help make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We have some rooms with fireplaces, some with Jacuzzis and a limited number of "dog friendly" rooms. All of our rooms have Cable TV, wifi and a small refrigerator, as well as individual heating and air conditioning. Join us for a relaxing, quiet vacation in a place steeped in tradition-The Shire Woodstock. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shire Woodstock

Address: 46 Pleasant St., Woodstock, VT 05091 (Formerly Shire Riverview Lodging)
Region: United States > Vermont > Woodstock
Price Range: €112 - €196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shire Woodstock 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Shire Woodstock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shire Riverview Hotel Woodstock
Shire Riverview Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock Vermont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Shire Woodstock staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Shire Woodstock staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room is wonderful!”
K2944GWjulieh, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Riverview are spectacular.”
donnies954, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the corner room next to the tea / coffee station .”
GordonR46, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The River rooms are the best (IMHO)”
FredB97, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The river view is nice.”
marybel1, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5