We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Canifor Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Canifor Hotel
Canifor Hotel
Panoramas (49)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,643 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Canifor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,478: English reviews
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2015

The Canifor is supposed to be a 4* hotel, sorry we think its pushing a two, Its public rooms are clean and tidy and the bedrooms not to bad. The food was dire, never seen "Cod" a coffee colour before, vegetables, were either overcooked or undercooked. Had to queue at a machine to get a cup of tea/coffee in the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cornishpasty2010
Mborda2014, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The Management is not responsible for such incidents like what happened to your jewelry. That's the reason we have put up signs because our pools are checked and inspected by the Occupational Health and Safety Authority in Malta and everything is certified and up to standard. We never...

Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 18 February 2015

The hotel was not a four star, more likely a two star or even less .The food was below standard and the accomodation was awful. Showers not working. swimming pool and jacuzzi needed good clean, We would not recomend this hotel to anyone.The hotel had overbooked and a lot of disapointed guests were re allocated. It was a FARCE.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Cathlees_12
Mborda2014, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, We are sorry to hear that we haven't met your expectations. We will look into your comments to improve our service. Thus with regards to your comment about Superior rooms, we advertise Superior rooms as rooms of the same size with tea and coffee facilities and ironing. Your tour operator should have informed you about this. Regards,

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We have just spent a week at the Canifor with friends. What tremendous value for money All Inclusive---Good clean rooms,spotless bathroom,decent food and plenty of it.Friendly staff- except for the misery behind the Bar in the Concert room.Towels in the bathroom had gone past the BBE but were changed on request.Comfortable beds and big.No complaints for the price we paid

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter F
Mborda2014, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your kind and sincere comments. We continuously work hard to improve our service and. It is nice when guests appreciate that we give value for money.We think it is unfair when guests expect a lot more than they pay for and end up complaining about minor things. Thank you for choosing Malta and look forward...

Qawra, Malta
Reviewed 18 February 2015

on booking a return holiday for 2 weeks at the Canifor hotel we were most dissapointed at how low the service had become,the maids attitude to a request for towels which they forgot,as for breakfast the Bacon(fat) was raw,the fried bread black,I have lost count the amount of times we were served pork for dinner?? on the days scrambled eggs...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Barbara O
Mborda2014, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that we haven't fulfilled your expectations. Food is a matter of taste. Some guests find it quite difficult to get used to food which they do not normally eat. The hotel is open for non residents. Maltese people enjoy their selves coming to the hotel, having a drink and dancing. We even put...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2015

Just returned from a week at the Canifor. I understand the hotel caters for the older generation in the winter months, We travel as a large group once a year with ages ranging from late 40s to the 70s, after the first night we had complaints for having a good time and enjoying ourselves, As a group we are always...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Andy L
Mborda2014, Owner at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your comments. During the Winter season we are most likely to accommodate British guests since they prefer to come here for a long period. However during Summer we have a mixed generation of guests. Food is a matter of taste and buffet is served with fresh items daily. Actually we cannot assume what the British...

England
Reviewed 16 February 2015

My husband and I stayed here with 13 of our friends, after finding a great deal on Broadway Travel. This was our first experience visiting Malta and this hotel. First let me start with the holiday pro's: package price was great, local transfers to and from airport fantastic(A2B Transfers), location to shops and restaurants good and day trips (although limited...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NSutton1103
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Stayed at the Canifor last week in Jan'15. From the unfriendly guy on reception to the maid who didn't change bedding or towels the whole experience was a nightmare. Worst part was the filthy condition of the room, followed by the total disinterest in any complaint from members of staff. No tea making facilities were available on arrival at 10.30pm,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Pamela P
Mborda2014, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Food is a matter of taste. Maybe you are not used to eating the way we cook in Malta. Tea and coffee making facilities are at an extra charge of Eur 3.50 per day if one doesn't initially book a Superior room. My apologies if somethings were not up to your expectations. Best...

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2015

We have just returned home after spending 28 days at the Canifor had a great time there, nothing to complain about.Had a superior room on the fifth floor, clean bedding and clean towels excellent team of girls who keep the rooms clean. We ate well and the restaurant staff coped well with the hectic workload.This was our first stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank winifred b
Mborda2014, Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you had a lovely holiday and was satisfied with our service Regards,

Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2015

the food was awful repetitive bland and not what was advertised i.e. Fresh fruit on the menu without ANY fresh fruit to be seen? vegatables were often tinned and those that weren't were pretty dire. we had no heating even though we complained to reception and were told that it would be fixed? the room was less than clean the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
6Thank rosaline r
Mborda2014, General Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you didn't like our food. It's a matter of taste and maybe your are not used to our cooking..Guests sometimes find it difficult to accept something different from what they are used to in reality. Rooms are done everyday but if guests have the do not disturb...

Reviewed 12 February 2015

Incompetent, uninterested, inflexible staff who have very little interpersonal skills. Reception open 4 hrs a day; Sea-view from bedroom was in fact a dirty pool and a quarry! This is NOT a 4* Hotel it should be zero.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Cludeo
Mborda2014, General Manager at Canifor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your feedback however may I kindly draw your attention that we do not advertise Canifor Hotel as having sea view rooms. In fact we sell our rooms at standard prices and we do not charge extra if one wishes to have a front or pool view room. As far as were concerned, the reception is...

718 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (492)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (204)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (24)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Rooftop Jacuzzi (12)
Viewed
Standard Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qawra
0.7 km away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
1,870 reviews
0.6 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
0.0 km away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#12 of 16 in Qawra
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,468 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,313 reviews
1.5 km away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Canifor Hotel

Address: Nakkri Road, Qawra, Island of Malta SPB 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Qawra
Price Range: €23 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canifor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Canifor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canifor Hotel Qawra
Canifor Hotel Malta/Qawra
Malta Canifor Hotel
Canifor Malta
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Qawra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Canifor Hotel staff and other travellers.
65 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from Canifor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on 2nd floor with pool view and it was pleasant enough”
 of 5 bubbles WestBromwichHolly, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Clean room third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles smile2512, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Floor one directly above bar, so entertainment noise could be annoying for young children”
 of 5 bubbles radcliffestuart, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“pool view for views, street view fr the afternoon sun”
 of 5 bubbles petercleveleys, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at front in winter.”
 of 5 bubbles 684JenniferM, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5