We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Primera Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Primera Hotel
Primera Hotel
Panoramas (46)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Primera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 212: English reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

The primera hotel was fine for us. We had room only so I can't comment on the food but what I can comment on is how helpful and polite all the staff are there. The reception staff and house keeping are lovely. Our rooms were clean and tidy and we had fresh towels when we needed them. It's a basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angie N
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angie N, Thank you for your lovely review of Primera Hotel and for sharing with other reviewers your experience! I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday in Malta also thanks to Primera, its "clean and spacious" rooms, and its (my) staff: everyone, from the reception to the housekeeping, sends their warmest regards! We all hope...

Rochester uk
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with family in two rooms. Only ate in for breakfast. Although plenty of choice was on offer, the quality was very poor - orange juice that looked like murky water, really fatty sausages and bacon, reconstituted scrambled egg that tasted of cardboard. Rooms and en suite were fairly clean, but welcoming decor and comforts missing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise Ann Mari... M
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Denise Ann Mari... M, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I regret to note that you were disappointed with certain issues regarding our hotel and will be sharing this review with my staff in order to check and resolve the points mentioned. With regards to the Wi-Fi, for the benefit of those reading...

Armagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This is a good quality basic 3* hotel. no bells and whistles. Perfectly situated a very short walk from the shoreline and the town square. Air con in the rooms. TV provided. Wifi for a fee (which did get a bit overloaded around siesta time), Fridges for a fee also. Breakfast was basic (Cereal, Toast& pastrys, Frys, Cold cuts, Fruit)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracysgate
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracysgate, Thank you for your lovely review on Primera Hotel! I'm glad you appreciated our home, the the service we offer, and, more important, my staff. Thanks also for sharing such a description of our facilities with other reviewers! We certainly hope to have you back: should you wish to book again with us, do write me on gm@primerahotel.com,...

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The best thing I can say about this hotel is that it is ideally located to great bars and restaurants. We arrived very late on Sunday night but breakfast finished at 10am and everything cleared away by 10.02am, asked for toast and got a very cool reception. The breakfast in general was very basic and staff either didn't speak English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doris F
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Doris F, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. I regret to note that you were disappointed with certain issues regarding our hotel and will be sharing this review with my staff in order to check and resolve the points mentioned. With regards to the Wi-Fi, for the benefit of those reading this review,...

Edessa, Greece
Reviewed 15 July 2016

the reception and the waiter was friendly but everything else was tragic. the hotel doesn't have free wifi and you must to pay 1.5euro for 20min. the bed was old and the room wasn't very clean. the location is perfect to the center of Bugibba. the last one was the pool, it is so small like bathtub

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sofoubi
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sofoubi, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I regret to note that you were disappointed about some aspects of your stay with us and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. With regards to the Wi-Fi, it is common practice in Malta for 3 and 4 star hotels to charge for Wi-Fi services. I hope you took the...

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We have stayed in the Primera Hotel twice now this year and in 2015. Both times have been very happy with it. We stay room only as we prefer to eat at the many restaurants and bars that Buggiba has to offer.Both times we have found our room with balcony to be very comfortable , air conditioned and cleaned every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary S, Thank you for reviewing Primera Hotel on TripAdvisor, sharing your experience of our home with other reviewers. I am pleased to note that you have enjoyed both of your stays with us, and hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return to Malta, and will again choose to stay at Primera (please, do write me...

Gosport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

My friend booked this hotel as an surprised honeymoon for me and my husband. When we looked on reviews we were both worried. But it was a lovely little hotel staff are helpful room are very Clean! staff come in everyday make bed and clean the bathroom and floors. We had a small balcony which was perfect for the two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ayreskelly
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ayreskelly, First of all, thank you for such a lovely feedback to Primera Hotel! Thanks for appreciating the cleanliness of our rooms, the friendliness of my staff, and, in general, all the effort we put in in order to provide our guests with the best experience possible of Primera (and Malta). The only concern I have is the same...

Nairn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We have returned recently from a fortnights stay at the Primera Hotel and can only praise every member of staff for making our stay so enjoyable.My husband, mother and her friend were made to feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble. I had read reviews about the hotel before going and found them to be unjust. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CHRISTINE M
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CHRISTINE M, Thank you for your lovely and rewarding review of Primera Hotel. Thanks for appreciating my staff, the friendly service we offer, and our effort to always improve. Should you decide to come visit again - as we all hope - do write me on gm@primerahotel.com, so that I will be able to give you our best rates....

Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This hotel (pronounced prim-error) is on the corner of the pedestrianised centre of Bugibba. The bars are open ( or still have customers ) until 2.00 or 3.00 am. The noise is absolutely horrendous ! Then the dust carts and water bowsers come round about 5.30. This is probably fine for young people who can have a skinfull at night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tony k
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tony k, Thank you for your comment on Primera Hotel: I am glad you've appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms, and the friendliness and efficiency of my staff, even though, due to it's very central position -as you've stated, we are "surrounded by all the nightlife and restaurants you could possibly need"-, Primera could not provide the kind of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I was worried by other reviews but the hotel was fine ! Yes rooms could do with paint but they are cleaned daily, fresh towels daily. Hotel staff were friendly, breakfast was nice, sometimes you can hear the bars but what do you expect if you are staying in such a central location, plus thats not the hotels fault !!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LBomb86
Primera_Hotel, General Manager at Primera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LBomb86, Thank you very much for your kind review on Primera Hotel! I am glad that you appreciated the cleanliness of our House, and all the good comments on my staff are always extremely rewarding. Yes, the area surrounding Primera Hotel can be loud sometimes, but as you pointed out it is the unfortunate side of being in the...

259 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (53)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (133)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (17)
Viewed
Side Sea View Room (27)
Viewed
Standard Room with Balcony (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
0.5 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,369 reviews
0.5 km away
San Pawl Hotel
San Pawl Hotel
#11 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,375 reviews
0.4 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,554 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Santana
Hotel Santana
#4 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,314 reviews
0.8 km away
Relax Inn Hotel
Relax Inn Hotel
#3 of 14 in Bugibba
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Primera Hotel

Address: Pioneer Rd, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta SPB 04, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: €31 - €73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Primera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Expedia so you can book your Primera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primera Hotel St Pauls Bay
Primera Hotel Malta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Primera Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Primera Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the right hand side over look the bars and are extremely noisy until late every night”
 of 5 bubbles suejoyce2012, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher level floors may be quieter than the lower ones, due to the bars locally,”
 of 5 bubbles 746teresad, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a balcony you will never be bored”
 of 5 bubbles Normasavory, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room 201 had great view, but can be noisy due to bars.”
 of 5 bubbles catherinec983, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with balcony and higher level”
 of 5 bubbles 172christinem, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5