We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Santana

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Santana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,274 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santana
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,048: English reviews
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2015

just back from a week break at the Hotel Santana, Perfect location to all amenities , tour bus right outside the front door, the bus station is only 5 mins walk away. Plenty of bars and restaurants all within a short walk. The hotel was good, rooms kept very clean, have no complaints there, although it would be nice to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brenda M
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Brenda M., Thank you for reviewing Hotel Santana on TripAdvisor, for sharing your experience at our hotel with other reviewers and for recommending our hotel. We hope that you will soon have the opportunity to return to Malta and will again choose to stay at the Santana and we promise you our assistance on any future booking. In the...

Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the santana hotel between 21st and 28th April weather fantastic hotel ok rooms a bit dated if your at the back of hotel guite noisy at night staff very good and the best thing about this hotel is the food it's simply fantastic can't fault it I would say this is a 3 star hotel but with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wonban
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing Hotel Santana on TripAdvisor and for your comments, especially about our staff and the food served at our hotel. I also note with pleasure that you will be returning to the hotel in future and take this opportunity to offer you our assistance with any booking you may have for this hotel. Best regards...

Nice, France
Reviewed 29 April 2015

The best thing about this hotel is its proximity to the bus station.It had been well appointed but lack of maintenance and attention to detail, made it not worthy of its 4* rating.The food was served canteen/buffet style and was certainly catering on the cheap.Most dishes seemed to have been bought in or were out of a packet.If you were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen B
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Helen B., I have noted your review regarding our hotel and regret that you were disappointed about some aspects of your stay with us. I take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you claim to have experienced while at our hotel. Nevertheless, for the sake of those reading this review, I need to clarify some issues you raised...

frome,somerset
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Recently returned from a week half board at the Santana Hotel. On arrival reception staff very pleasant especially Melanie and Caroline. We had a room on the top floor which was at the side of the hotel, it was quite spacious, clean and a nice walk in shower in the bathroom, the beds were comfortable and cleaned well every day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greatwesternents
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for your review and for your comments about our hotel. I will share your comments with the staff as such reviews are a source of encouragement in our work and our endeavour to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us. I will also share your review with the management team in view of constantly...

Middlesbrough
Reviewed 28 April 2015

Just returned from 1 weeks holiday at this hotel 27/4/15. We had booked this hotel because we were meeting some friends there for a weeks stay. We arrived a day earlier than them, but on arrival we were told that our room would not be ready until 2.30pm so we put our luggage in the store room & went for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colinrobinson41
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear client, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor and for your comments. We regret to note that you experienced some difficulties with the first room you were given and apologize for any inconvenience caused. However, as you also confirmed in your review, once you approached our duty manager with your difficulties, a solution was immediately offered to you....

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We have just had a 2 week stay at this old fashion Hotel it was like going back 50 odd years in time.The room was ok and the maid service good but the restaurant was a dark depressing place and one waiter a tall man with a beard was rude and unhelpful.The food was very limited and often badly cooked.There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christopher H
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Christopher H., With reference to your recent review of our hotel on TripAdvisor I regret to note that you were disappointed about your stay with us and that whilst you found the room and the maid service in order, you were not happy with the restaurant and the service there. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced but, for...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

Was a guest at Santana for two weeks, got the standard room which really was a box room with two twin beds pushed together for a double and a small bathroom, therefore we upgraded to a suite (which means self catering apartment) so we had more room, this was nice, however the double was two twins pushed together again. the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hannah s
Santana Hotel M, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Client, Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. I will be discussing your extensive review with our management team in view of improving our product and services. I will also pass your most favourable comments about our reception staff to the relevant department as such comments are always a source of encouragement in our work. Concerning the cleaning,...

Reviewed 24 April 2015 via mobile

First stay at this particular hotel in Malta and have to say we seem to have entered into a time warp, this hotel may well have been a 4 star back in 1970 but certainly not now, the rooms look like the last time they were properly cleaned was back in the 70's, our room was full of ants and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sadsie
Santana Hotel M, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Sadsie, I have noted your review on TripAdvisor and regret to note that you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. However, for the benefit of those reading this review, may I respectfully remark that our refurbishment programme is ongoing and will this season continue with the refurbishment of the soft...

Kelty, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 April 2015

just back from staying at the Santana hotel, for the price its a good hotel with friendly and helpful staff would stay there again.room was kept clean with clean towels etc,dont go with some reviews it is a pleasant hotel staff were really nice

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alisonm1956
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Alison M., Thank you for reviewing Hotel Santana, for your comments and for recommending our hotel. I am pleased to note that you will be returning to Malta and to our hotel and promise you our readiness to assist you with any future booking. In the meantime Best regards Carmen Carmen Zammit Sales and Marketing Executive Hotel Santana

Reviewed 22 April 2015

had 2 weeks at the hotel and firstly there was some confusion as to what u can and can not have on the all inclusive . after mentioning it to caroline the manager she dealt with it and that was that. assured us its teething probs as under new management. overall we had a great time it was what it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
SunrouteSantana, Sales and Marketing Executive at Hotel Santana, responded to this review

Dear Michele D., Thank you for reviewing Hotel Santana on TripAdvisor. I will be sharing this review with our management team in view of improving our product and services. In the meantime I confirm that we will shortly be offering free Wi-Fi services for our hotel guests throughout the hotel. In the meantime we are already offering the use of...

616 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (446)
Viewed
View from Room (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (62)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (166)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (13)
Viewed
Standard Room (24)
Viewed
Suite (40)
Viewed
Superior Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Paul's Bay
1.2 km away
Topaz Hotel
Topaz Hotel
#3 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
1,317 reviews
0.3 km away
Qawra Palace Hotel
Qawra Palace Hotel
#6 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,403 reviews
0.2 km away
db San Antonio Hotel + Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Dolmen Resort Hotel
Dolmen Resort Hotel
#2 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
2,546 reviews
0.9 km away
Salini Resort
Salini Resort
#1 of 15 in St. Paul's Bay
256 reviews
0.4 km away
Soreda Hotel
Soreda Hotel
#4 of 16 in Qawra
1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are travelling for pleasure or business, the 4 star Hotel Santana is certain to meet your expectations. Our personalized service, comfortable accommodation and facilities will make your stay with us a memorable one. The hotel is located just a couple of minutes walk from the picturesque, 2.6 km promenade, a sandy beach, public transport, the Aquarium, shops, bars, restaurants and many other recreational facilities such as discos, water sports facilities, a casino and a multiplex cinema. The 4 star Hotel Santana has 202 guestrooms comprising a mix of standard and superior rooms and a small number of suites. Guest facilities include a rooftop pool with children’s section and sun terraces and, for additional relaxation, there is an indoor pool and wellness facility. The attractive main restaurant, Moire, is in buffet style. La Mentha, the Italian Trattoria, is open in the evenings serving a variety of Mediterranean dishes. The hotel also has a licensed cafeteria which is open from early morning until late evening. Free WI-FI services are available throughout the hotel. We also offer a computer with free Wi-Fi services in the lobby area for use by our hotel guests. Accommodation Standard rooms Decorated in warm Mediterranean colours, the vast majority of rooms are Standard Rooms with twin beds, most of which can accommodate a 3rd bed. Twin rooms for sole use are available against a supplement. Facilities in Standard rooms include: Balcony Centrally controlled Central Heating / Air-conditioning En suite with walk-in shower or with bath and shower SAT TV with pay TV options Unstocked Mini Bar Radio Direct dialling Telephones Hair dryer Ceiling fan Safety deposit box (at a small charge) Room service Electric current 240 volts Continental Socket available in each room Kettle and crockery for making hot drinks Hair dressing services are available in the privacy of the room by appointment Superior rooms In addition to the facilities of a Standard Room, Superior Rooms are more spacious and include additional services such as tea & coffee making facilities, sofa and mini-refrigerator. The majority of Superior Rooms have two extra beds and are able to accommodate 4 persons in total. These rooms particularly appeal to couples and families who wish to retain home comforts whilst on holiday. Luxury suites The hotel also features a number of luxury suites which are uniquely defined by their original design and luxurious finishes. These suites are well sought after and advance booking is highly recommended. A traditional Maltese stone archway, which dominates the design, divides the suite into two areas - the sleeping and dining/living area. For additional comfort, the bedroom area offers double wardrobe space among other facilities. The suite is designed to provide some privacy from the living area should you have guests staying with you. The dining/living area is furnished with a fully equipped kitchenette including ceramic hob, oven and microwave, a dining table seating 4 persons and sofas opening up into a double bed. Apart from the standard facilities found in all rooms, Suites also include: • Fully equipped Kitchenette including oven/microwave • Dining area • Living area with a sofa opening up into a double bed • Full size mirror with down-lighters • Ironing board and iron Bars and restaurants Hotel Santana offers an array of food & beverage outlets to cater for the various tastes and needs of our guests. The various venues offered range from buffet breakfast, luncheons and dinners at the main restaurant, the Moire, to Mediterranean dishes, pastas and pizzas at the Trattoria La Mentha, and lighter meals and snacks at the Cafe Castagna. On most evenings live entertainment is offered at Cafe Castagna or at La Canoa Bar. There is also a pool bar which is open in the summer season. The Moire Restaurant The Moire Restaurant offers an elegant yet informal atmosphere. The restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and is open for lunch on some days. Breakfast: The hot and cold buffet breakfast offers a vast choice of items, including some health conscious options. Lunch & Dinner: Lunch is either buffet or plated, depending on occupancy. Dinner is buffet and consists of a variety of local and continental cuisine; vegetarian options are also available. La Mentha Trattoria and Bar Trattoria La Mentha offers informal dining with a bar lounge which is elegant yet cosy. This trattoria specializes in Italian cuisine and serves a good selection of local and Mediterranean dishes including pastas and pizzas. A salad bar and specialties of the day are also available. Cafe Castagna The cafeteria is informal yet smart and comfortable. It offers a variety of hot and cold beverages, snacks, ice-cream and mouth-watering pastries, most of which are baked on the premises. Pool Bar The rooftop pool bar and terraces enjoy 360' panoramic sea and country views. A choice of dishes, hot and cold snacks, ice creams and beverages are available. The pool terraces also serve as a venue for evening entertainment during the high season. Leisure Facilities Hotel Santana has a roof top swimming pool as well as 3 sunbathing terraces, all enjoying open sea and country views. The hotel also features a wellness centre (offering a range of health and beauty treatments, sauna, hydrotherapy bath, whirlpool and an indoor pool (heated in winter) which is open all year round except for 2 weeks in the July-September period. A small fitness room is also available. Meeting and banquets Hotel Santana offers a choice of two conference/banquet venues; the Paisley Room and the Cashmere Lounge. Both are equipped with video projection, but other conference equipment can also be provided at a charge. The Cashmere Lounge is located on the top floor and seats a maximum of 125 people theatre style. It is also ideal for banqueting with its own lounge bar and open view terraces. The Paisley Room seats a maximum of 90 people theatre style and is located on the lower level next to the main restaurant. A smaller syndicate room and secretarial services are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Santana

Address: Triq il-Maskli, St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta 05, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > St. Paul's Bay
Price Range: €28 - €103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santana 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santana Hotel Malta
Santana Hotel St Pauls Bay
Santana Malta
Hotel Santana Malta
Santana St Pauls Bay
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Paul's Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Santana staff and other travellers.
73 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (73)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Santana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a refurbished room.”
 of 5 bubbles 3nigels, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms in the new part views not brilliant but balconies good size did not USA a/c but told by others it was good”
 of 5 bubbles Linda433, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a large room with balcony preferably overlooking back garden”
  • This is water not a shiny surface on balcony due to blocked drainage unable to sit out.
  • I am only a size 4 shoe
  • A previous occupier had obviously done some ironing
  • Loose tile and crumbling facia
  • Dampness in corner of room
 of 5 bubbles JanE180, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“choose first floor,facing front of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles gevi186259, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“dont go there”
 of 5 bubbles KarenBaker_11, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay