We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 341: English reviews
Smithfield, Virginia
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Red Roof had the best price and put me in an area that was convenient for me. The room was spacious, beds comfortable and clean. The floor was a hard surface which is definitely cleaner than aged carpet. The staff was friendly even with three people waiting to check in. Arriving very late on Friday night gave me a view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I very much appreciate your comments on our rooms, cleanliness, service, and price. I see you are a high level contributor so you have had many experiences to compare this too. Our new room style continues to get a lot of positive reviews, so...

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We came in very late and Khan was more than happy to get a room for us. He came up with a smile on his face and made us feel very comfortable and at home. Nice hotel that we will come back to it. Thank you Khan for your help.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunger1234
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and share your experience. I appreciate your comments on our rooms, service, and value. Your positive comments on my staff including Khan are very much appreciated as they perform very well with our guests. Getting your recommendation and knowing you plan to return means a lot to the staff and...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stay here when we travel because it is reasonably priced, clean and we have a dog. The employees are helpful and are always very courteous. We've been staying here now during our travels for 4 years and have never had a a complaint

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jingles25
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We work hard to keep our rooms consistent and that shows when you have stayed here over 4 years and have had no complaints. I personally greatly appreciate you returning and making us a regular stop during your travels. Guests who are looking for...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The location wasn't the greatest but you can't complain when the exit spits you out directly in front of the hotel Our room was just fine. Exactly what we paid for. No frills, inexpensive, and a great value. The amenities were simple, but for the price of course you can't complain. Consider the standard room the "base model". Housekeeping was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dimensionsound
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate your positive comments on our rooms and value. I personally thank you for choosing to make Red Roof Inns your choice for a night. I will be sharing your positive comments on Malcolm, a new employee that has good potential impressing many...

Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Firstly, the only reason I'm giving this a 2 is because of cost. I should have known better. The first room I went to had leg or facial (or other gross) still in the bathtub. It had not even been wiped down. The SECOND room I was offered was no better. You immediately walk into a dirty floor. It wood...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hboaz
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

We appreciate you sharing your concerns about your recent stay. We very much appreciate and value your feedback which will be shared with my team. I apologize that you did not have a better experience at my property. We work hard to give guests an experience that is better that they expect in economy lodging and we fell short of...

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 23 August 2016

First of all, the staff was very nice. In the room, we had a choice of house flies or fleas. Remains of a broken crack pipe on the bathroom floor. Outside, the grounds were disgusting. Cigarette butts, Q-tips , bottle caps all over the place. I had stayed here last year on my way thru town. They had just done...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe S
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. I appreciate your comments on my staff but very disappointed we let you down in the quality department. I will share this with my staff to make sure we make some improvements immediately. We get many positive reviews but lately we have had a couple poor...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

As a precaution we decided to "check" the room before we settled in and got dinner. I'm sure glad we did. Opened the door and there must have been a half a dozen flies in the room! While the ceilings and the walls were littered with dead flies! Somebody please clean the walls before you claim the room is ready...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amos B
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. It is a disappointment to me personally that your room was not up to our usual cleanliness standards. I did go through almost half of my rooms today looking for a room with similar issues and was unable to find one. Flies do get around this...

Maryland
Reviewed 15 August 2016

The front desk receptionist was very friendly. They cleaned the rooms late the first night of our stay but gave us clean wash clothes and towels. The housekeeper was apologetic and offered us service instantly. It's located close to gas stations and food spots. Good water strength for showers and the water stay hot. Located conviently off I-95

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foundfavor6969
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and making us your first posted review. We very much appreciate your remarks on our rooms, cleanliness, and friendly service. Our rooms continue to get great reviews, along with our new flat screens with updated programming mostly in HD, and upgraded WiFi. We do offer a few different room types. It sounds...

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

The room was clean and up to date! The staff was friendly. I disliked the after hours window. I understand why it's there. However a single women checking in after midnight exhausted and having to TRY to talk through a window to a man who didn't speak English was very frustrating. I was disappointed the hotel didn't keep up with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxy F
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate your comments on my staff, our rooms, and that you had a “good stay”. I am glad you gave us the opportunity to correct the issues you experienced so that we were able to take care of them. I will check on...

Fayetteville
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We arrived night on a Friday. While unpacking noticed one person watching form a corner from the back of the hotel. Once on the second floor a guest was on the balcony in a chair drinking beer. Beer cans lined the railing in front of his room. Our room was supposed to be non smoking, but had a smell like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cnherring
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. We work very hard to get positive recommendations from our guests so it hurts us to see negative comments like this. We take safety and security issues very seriously and have security on the premises several nights to help customers feel more comfortable and try and...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
10.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#39 of 83 in Richmond
209 reviews
16.8 km away
Speco Hotels Richmond
Speco Hotels Richmond
#46 of 83 in Richmond
14 reviews
13.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Address: 4350 Commerce Rd, Richmond, VA 23234-2240
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: €57 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Richmond South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Richmond Red Roof Inn
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#27 Business Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn - Richmond South staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Amelia Island, Florida
10 months ago
Pocomoke City, Maryland
4 months ago
Pocomoke City, Maryland
4 months ago
Levittown, New York
6 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn - Richmond South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid, pick a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles ClemsonEngineer, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the back side of the hotel. They're quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles PvtMudflap, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel is next to the highway, rooms towards the road are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles N5712NXpauls, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for first floor, there are no elevators!”
 of 5 bubbles dimensionsound, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Better choose a second floor (flies)”
 of 5 bubbles amosb76, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay