We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Show Prices
#12 of 80 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

826 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 813: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 4 January 2016

I used to stay at The Hilton Grand Garden, but was put here one week and have since returned every week. The staff is great: Edgar, Darrell, and of course Crystal, always treat me great. There has been a couple weeks when I had an issue with my room, but Susie and Scott went above and beyond to not only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel G
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Joel G, my sincere thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. As a every week valued customer I feel you do have a chance to get to know our staff and services. Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Loyal customer and we are all looking forward to seeing you in the weeks to come...

Philadelphia
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Just going to write bullet points about my experience: -hot tub scalding hot- couldnt even get in. -then got in pool and there was a dirty bandaid on the side. -elevators malfunctioned -ac/ thermostat in room not working -wanted room service and no menu. So called front desk- no one responded. -ice machine on my floor did not work -highlight...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank shiggiephila
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Shiggiephila, thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. My sincere apology that anyone would have an experience such as your recent stay with our property. If allowed I would like to contect you directly in order to work toward making up for this experience. Again thank you for providing feedback that our team will today...

Virginia
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

We went for the night and it was nicer than I expected. While there were loud patrons next to us, our room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is a shuttle bus that will take you from the hotel to area restaurants making it easy to enjoy a cocktail or two.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank off2thekeys
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you offto the keys for taking the time to provide your feedback concerning your recent stay with our property. We apologize that you had loud patrons next door to your room. Our staff will appreciate your feedback and I know will be hoping that you return soon for a few more cocktails.

Lake Forest Park, Washington
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

It was ok. Check in was easy enough. My husband is Spire Elite so we usually get a little extra special treatment. Not here and that was ok, not a big deal. Opted for the $15 a day parking. Lady at the front desk told us to just swipe our key card. We tried every possible way...no luck. Oh well,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geneva H
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear GenevaHale, as a Spire Elite member you deserve very special treatment. I would like to apologize that our hotel failed to accomplish our goal. I would like to contact you directly if possible to try and make up for your experience. Thank you for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback that our team will work hard to...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 26 December 2015

My wife and I stayed here on Tuesday, December 22, 2015. Excellent. We'll stay here again. This hotel is centrally located. The parking garage is located inside the building so it's accessible. All the staff we met were professional. I regret I didn't get everyone's name, but I recall Thomas, the shuttle driver, and Darryl, the barkeep. The breakfast buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AMB&JAS
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Hello AMB&JAS, thank you for your kind comments and reveiw of your recent stay. Our team will be appreciative that you have taken the time to provide your feedback. Please return again to the "Excellent" you deserve.

Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewed 24 December 2015

My husband and I stayed earlier in the year. I truly meant to write a review earlier, but lost a card with names of some staff I'd wanted to mention. William, Theola, Shannon, Faye, and Hannah did an impressive job. As I ate in the breakfast room in the morning, I experienced and observed their attentiveness, fine work ethic, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elee_15668
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Dear elee, my sincere thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I know our entire staff will be excited to hear your comments. We are all hoping that you will return again and enjoy our "Good Hotel, very fine staff", thanks again.

Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

I was greeted at 1:03 a.m. by Wanda who made an 14 hour road trip fade. She was friendly, efficient and smiling...exactly what the doctor ordered. The rooms are wonderful and the bed designed to take you away. Thanks to the great restaurant staff who made breakfast a treat too. Thank you for an amazing stay! I will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cymarie1964
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you cymarie1964 for taking the time to provide your remarks and kind feedback. I know Wanda and our entire Front Office team will be excited to hear your feeedback. Please return soon for more of what the doctor ordered!

Bayside, New York
Reviewed 18 December 2015

We had a little problem with our reservation and Desiree was a big help. She made us feel like we were "in good hands." Besides that the Breakfast was terrific and the staff there were very welcoming. It is a good place to stay because of the staff. They help in any way they can.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you John R fo rtaking the time to provide your feedback. Desiree and her Front Office team will be excited to hear your comments. Please return soon to your home away from home.

Independence, Virginia
Reviewed 17 December 2015

I make several trips a year to Richmond for meetings at the state Capital. I have stayed in many of the surrounding hotels but never stayed at the Crowne Plaza. After a friend referred me, I contacted Susie in sales to inquire about future visits. Susie made my reservations and was very pleasant and professional. Upon arrival I was impressed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard V
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Richard V, our sincere thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. Our team realizes that you have many hotels to choose from and are thankful that you have contacted Susie in reference to future stays. We hope to see you in the upcoming months.

West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 17 December 2015

This was my first visit back to this hotel in three years and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. When I checked in, I was pleasantly surprised that I was upgraded to a Corner Suite and was quite excited. It was a panoramic view of downtown Richmond and the James River and the suite was bigger in size than some of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SmilingSteve4
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you SmilingSteve4 for your valuable review of your recent stay. Our staff and management will be excited to hear your comments today! Please return for another Fantastic Stay!

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 km away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 80 in Richmond
1,680 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.6 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 80 in Richmond
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#9 of 80 in Richmond
709 reviews
0.8 km away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 80 in Richmond
1,149 reviews
0.7 km away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#16 of 80 in Richmond
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visit the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown and discover all that downtown Richmond has to offer. You are in the heart of the financial district, shopping, dining, and entertainment. You are within easy walking distance of Shockoe Slip, Shockoe Bottom and many of Virginia s Fortune 500 Companies.The Crowne Plaza overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and the Tredegar Civil War Museum. We are centrally located to many of Richmond's attractions with convenient access to Interstates 95 and 64, only 9.8 miles from Richmond International Airport. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Complimentary high-speed Internet, business center, and 7 layers of comfort bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Considering these options, the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown is the superior choice when deciding on a facility that has style and class, yet is ideal in location for anyone. Now open The Great Room proudly serving Starbucks Coffee, fresh pastries, gourmet sandwiches and soups, The Great Room features soft seating, large screen TV, wired and wireless free high-speed Internet connections--a great place to start or end your day! Attractions: The Carpenter Center for Performing Arts, Landmark Theatre, the Governor s Mansion, Kings Dominion, Busch Gardens, Richmond Ballet, Richmond Convention Center, Virginia Science Museum, Shockoe Slip. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Price Range: €140 - €223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Face the James River / South”
 of 5 bubbles jeanbH120PX, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be on the opposite side from the Dominion Power building under construction”
 of 5 bubbles jelder60, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Forget the north side, get a room on the south side.”
  • North side view
  • South side view
 of 5 bubbles marklN8299CF, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room farther from the elevator, you can hear the 'traffic' of people walking by and their noise level.”
 of 5 bubbles ur2punny, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the river side--gorgeous views.”
 of 5 bubbles ROXNRLZ, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay