We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
A Cambridge House B & B Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for A Cambridge House B & B Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Milano, Italia
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

Coming to cambridge can be sometimes annoying: few hotels and very expensibe. This b&b is a very good choice. The price is affordable, continental breakfast is included, wifi connection is included. You are 500 m from the metro. I will come likely.

Thank kmatteo22
chicago il
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This property is in a remote corner of Cambridge but is easily accessible to Harvard via Mass Ave. Use a map and not your GPS! It is clean and has free parking if you arrive early enough. If not, I don't know what you do. The "new" rooms lack character and the lobby of the main building needs all of...

Thank lililizard
Camden, New Jersey
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here the week end of our wedding, leaving our house to family and enjoying a little quiet time and luxury for ourselves. They offer both traditional and contemporary rooms. Our traditional room was beautifully decorated and had every possible convenience (except no bathtub-- but great shower). Breakfast is in another lovely room and was very diverse and of...

2Thank jlettin
Paris, France
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Conveniently located on the main road to downtown Cambridge, 10 minutes to the Porter Square T. Nice upper-scale grocery store across the street and walking distance to Frank's steakhouse. More a hotel than a family-run B&B. Breakfast is OK (although they don't serve any yogurt).

Thank GlobetrottingSwede
Concord, NH
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I went to Cambridge/Somerville to see my cousin in a play in Davis Square, a ten-minute walk from the B&B (and Porter Square looks to be about the same going down Mass Ave). IDEAL LOCATION. We stayed in the contemporary building rather than the Victorian (where the very nice continental breakfast was laid out the next morning...

Thank PingConcordNH
New York
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed for a few days here and I had no issues whatsoever during my stay. The rooms are a good value and very clean. I stayed in the part to the side and it was very quiet. I was most touched when my credit card was found by another guest after my departure and the owner immediately mailed it...

Thank NewYorkNy08
Beijing, China
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I came from Asia, and I was surprised that the staffs who can speak Mandarin- that is very helpful for me- an international scholar who needs guidance about that region. The front desk staff did spend a great deal of time to help me determine the most inexpensive means to get to the Wrenthem shopping mall. I realize they do...

Thank Xin272
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We booked in to this B&B mindful of some of the reviews it had received especially in relation to the rudeness of one or more of the proprietors. We arrived after dark on a freezing evening, left at the driveway by our taxi. We knocked on the door and were 'welcomed' in by who I guess is one of the...

3Thank Zena E
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Way overpriced for a tiny, poorly cleaned, stuffy room with no frig, very small TV, cheap amenities and abysmal cold breakfast offerings. Free parking and friendly desk clerks were the only redeeming features. Wouldn't stay there again.

Thank Cheryl L
ACambridgeHouse, Manager at A Cambridge House B & B Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your opinion. You did not mention when you stayed or which room you were in so it is difficult for us to determine the room you were not pleased with. A couple of our "contemporary" rooms are smaller than others, and yours may have been a last minute booking and a small room...

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Disappointed with accommodations and breakfast. Had a large odorous room in uninteresting contempo building. Tiny bath with poor water pressure and sink drainage. TV not much bigger than computer monitor. Breakfast was breads, pastries, and hard-boiled eggs, not much better than motel free breakfasts. No hot food or table service. Free parking earned one of the stars. Overpriced for what...

Thank MikePNJ
ACambridgeHouse, Manager at A Cambridge House B & B Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate that you have taken the time to post a review. We are sorry you were not happy with your room or the breakfast. As to the water pressure being low; it does happen from time-to-time if a number of rooms are using showers/baths at the same time and we do apologize for that. As far as the room...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (25)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Dining (4)
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (11)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (7)
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
1.4 km away
Hotel Tria
Hotel Tria
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
756 reviews
1.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
2.3 km away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#17 of 20 in Cambridge
33 reviews
1.8 km away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#10 of 20 in Cambridge
171 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#6 of 20 in Cambridge
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Cambridge House B&B Inn is a lovely turn of the century Victorian. We now have two buildings; the rooms in one are contemporary decor, the other Victorian. All rooms are equipped with private baths and cable television. Many of our Victorian rooms have fireplaces; all rooms have air conditioning during the summer months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Address: 2218 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02140-1836
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Price Range: €148 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Cambridge House B & B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your A Cambridge House B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Cambridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn
a Cambridge House Hotel Cambridge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from A Cambridge House B & B Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Dublin, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from A Cambridge House B & B Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the ones facing west, quieter and no early sunshine.”
 of 5 bubbles tju2mtu, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“if you want quiet choose the back contemporary building. you'll have to walk to other building for breakfast but it is so close”
 of 5 bubbles F9751OIlindar, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Contact the owner if you arrive late. The front desk is not 24 hours.”
 of 5 bubbles james-jones-jfk, 30 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Check the the orientation and graduation schedules of Harvard, and MIt”
 of 5 bubbles L5112CDrichards, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Stay in the Victorian Inn rather than the Carriage house for the most charming rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles A5736LEbarbarap, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay