We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Northern Light Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Northern Light Inn
Northern Light Inn
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

918 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Northern Light Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 765: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2015

My wife and I recently flew to Iceland for the first part of our honeymoon and our only regret was that we did not stay at his hotel for our entire 4 day stay. We used it for access to the blue lagoon but it was also well positioned for day trips to Reykjavik and our self drive of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear MTDCisco, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Northern Light Inn

Skien, Norway
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Booked this hotel for two reasons: proximity to Blue Lagoon and our hope to witness aurora borealis/nothern lights/nordlys. Like everybody else, we waited and waited... I suppose April is a bit too late for this spectacular display of lights in the sky. But anyway, this hotel did not disappoint us. Very clean environment, friendly Icelandic staff, free airport transfer, option...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank joclaves
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear joclaves, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn and thank you for the nice words. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Northern Light Inn

Newport Center, Vermont
Reviewed 3 April 2015

We stayed in this hotel as our last destination in Iceland, with it offering great proximity to both the Blue Lagoon and the airport. The rooms here are very generous, the largest we had while in Iceland. The apparent size is enhanced by cathedral-type shed ceilings, giving a large-volume feel. There is what I think is a king-size bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HSRSteve
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear HSRSteve, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us. We are currently doing some restructuring of the hotel, improving our facilities. We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Can't praise the staff highly enough, always willing to help and the pick up and drop off service to and from the airport and the Blue Lagoon is great. Food at Max's very good but the menu didn't really change over the 4 nights we stayed here. For a bit of variety I would highly recommend Lava restaurant at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ian B, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure to having you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Northern Light Inn

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Great location for the Blue Lagoon with free shuttle bus every hour. We were told we could take the coloured bath towels to the lagoon as long as we brought them back which saved us having to pay €5 to hire them. The hotel is in a remote location and the power plant is close by but I liked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hetthepet
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Hetthepet, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Northern Light Inn. We thank you for your nice words and are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Northern Light Inn

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of March. Excellent service from the staff, nothing was too much trouble. Loved the free shuttle to and from both the airport and the blue lagoon. Hotel was warm and had a cosy feel. Food was delicious and service was fantastic. Yes, you are in the middle of nowhere and we didn't realise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mandy W, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Northern Light Inn. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Northern Light Inn

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2015

This was the last hotel of 4 over a week in iceland and from the moment we saw it it was a disappointment compared to the other 3. We knew there was a power plant nearby but didn't realise how close (appear to be in the same grounds) and yes it was a problem. We got out of the car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AS185
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear AS185, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of you stay at Northern Light Inn. We are very sad to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We do highly value your comments and would like to inform you that we are currently increasing our entrance to the hotel as well as...

Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our trip in Iceland and it was a very sorry way to end our stay in this wonderful country. Allow me to start with the positives- the staff are fairly friendly, the location is superb for the Blue lagoon and the rooms have plenty of space and cover basics like...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JingT
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear JingT, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Northern Light Inn. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, nor did our facilities meet your expectations. We do our best to inform our guests about your services, facilities and our surroundings with lot...

Newark, Delaware
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Positive: Great and abundant hot water, rooms were clean and well decorated. Nice enclosed observatory on the top for Northern Lights viewing. Shuttle to the Blue Lagoon and Airport. Decent food at the restaurant. Breakfast buffet included. Wifi was fast. Nice sitting areas in the hotel. Negative: Isolated, which we knew, therefore was on the last part of our trip...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eyedocpayne
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear Eyedocpayne, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Northern Light Inn and thank you for your valuable comments. We are currently working on reducing the sound in the hallways by having new carpet, hopefully by end of April, plus some other arrangement which we hope will improve the sound issue...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Amazing Rebekkah and other staff make this place very special. Photo's don't do it justice. Service exceptional, food delicious, room simplistic and spacious elegance, aurora room call appreciated! Go quad biking for 2.5hrs - totally and utterly fabulous! Blue Lagoon out of this world - pre book and your treatments to avoid queues - hard to get out the water....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 960suze
NLI-Iceland, Manager at Northern Light Inn, responded to this review

Dear 960suze, Thanks for your nice words and for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are glad that you did like your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Northern Light Inn

865 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (550)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (128)
Viewed
Dining (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Other (188)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Double Room (36)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (41)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindavik
4.2 km away
Geo Hotel Grindavik
Geo Hotel Grindavik
#3 of 3 in Grindavik
232 reviews
14.4 km away
Hotel Keflavik
Hotel Keflavik
#2 of 9 in Keflavik
817 reviews
39.0 km away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.3 km away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
945 reviews
15.6 km away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 9 in Keflavik
731 reviews
38.2 km away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Babysitting
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Northern Light Inn - just 1 minute before the Blue Lagoon - is a wonderful place to see the Aurora Borealis, discover Iceland, and enjoy your getaway vacation. 32 geo-thermally heated rooms, free wifi, Cognac Lounge with 24/7 honesty bar, a grand cozy fireplace, and family hospitality await you. Delicious foods from the fjords and fields of Iceland are served in Max's restaurant: ocean fresh fish, free range lamb, geo-thermal vegetables, home baked breads and cakes. 24/7 complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and home made cookies are always available in the lobby for guests, and make-your-own Icelandic waffles every day. We offer free scheduled International Airport transfers from 06:00 (05:00 from the hotel) until 21:00, and complimentary regular shuttles to the Blue Lagoon. The Northern Light inn and Max's Restaurant are 20 minutes from Keflavik International Airport KEF, 45 from Reykjavik, 3 hours from London, and less than 6 from New York. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Northern Light Inn

Address: Northern Lights Road 1, Grindavik 240, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Reykjanes Peninsula > Grindavik
Price Range: €191 - €438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Light Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Northern Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Light Hotel Grindavik
Northern Light Grindavik
Northern Light Inn Iceland/Grindavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Northern Light Inn staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Northern Light Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“close to blue lagoon”
 of 5 bubbles explorermee , 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The family suite is perfect with 4 beds in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles almsfamily, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room closer to the lobby so you don't hear the construction noise during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles PamelaH650, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not luxury feeling but over $200/night”
 of 5 bubbles KSeattlite, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles 901davidf901, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5