We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copper Whale Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copper Whale Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copper Whale Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 273: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just lovely. We stayed 4 nights in the cottage next door to he large house. Room was just lovely, complete with rear door to deck area complete with furniture. Clean, Clean, Clean. Wonderful bed, small but adequate bathroom. The few rooms in this cottage open on to a small kitchen area, where you can make a cuppa. There's a fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank davmar70
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your wonderful review! It was truly a pleasure to host you all, and we will hope to see you again, hopefully sooner than later.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The staff were great and the room was cosy and comfortable. Good communal areas where you can choose to mix with fellow travellers. Clothes washing facilities are available and cheap. The location is within easy walking distance to the shopping and eating areas. Next has a great restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John_Rowanne
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The average rating is a blend of a "very good" hotel and a "poor" room. The hotel is really well located and close to many attractions, restaurants, Coastal Trail and the railroad station; it it also has a very well appointed common room for breakfast with views over the Arm. The continental breakfast was very good with great selection of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OchoDedos
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not sleep well. Our great downtown location comes with the hazards of the city, i.e., city sounds, and that is why we offer earplugs next to all our guest beds.

Haddonfield, Nj
Reviewed 9 August 2013

What a lovely B&B on the corner of city street, tucked between office buildings, near good cycling and walking path! Short, one-night stay on way to the coast. Wish they had a room for our return trip to the city, but not. Very popular place during visitor season since its such a nice alternative to chain hotels. Had pleasant corner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Car0l12
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your wonderful comments! I'm so glad you enjoyed our hospitality.

Kingsport, TN
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed at the Copper Whale Inn the night we flew into Anchorage...The hotel was easy to find and was a nice location next to downtown restaurants, etc. Breakfast was OK (nothing special)...rooms were average. Price was pretty good. Easy one-night stop.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt723
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit!

Gold Beach, Oregon
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had reserved a room at the Anchorage Lofts Hotel for 2 separate nights, when we checked in the first night we were totally disappointed by the place. We immediately went online and searched for another option for the other night and found the Copper Whale Inn. They had an available space and even accommodated our late arrival. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank katautfest
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for much for your nice comments!

Union, Kentucky
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for the first night of our trip. The location is perfect, right next to the coastal trail and within walking distance of everything downtown. The price is comparable to hotels but with more of a B&B feel. We had a room in the main house with a small deck that adjoins other rooms overlooking the garden. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dedepo
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words and constructive comments. We will re-word our parking information to better inform future guests, and put the mattress in that room on the list for replacement.

Long Beach, California
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights in mid-July and loved it. My room was lovely and clean and the staff was nice. They even packed a lunch for us the day we had to leave early on the train, which was really great. Perfect location too. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Anchorage.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandyk0209
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you!

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stopped here for one night with extended family between a cruise and our own on land road trip. A charming small hotel with great access to downtown Anchorage and a comfortable living room for guests with a distant view of the inlet. Easy to get to bike trail and rent bikes as well as exploring the "city". Very walkable. Only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SherryLen
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves. Our location is so convenient to all the activities downtown Anchorage offers, but with that comes the possibility of urban noise. In this wonderfully warm summer we're having it's really nice to have the windows open to allow the sea breeze to flow through and cool...

Hull, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I'm so glad we stayed at Copper Whale Inn. We were booked into the Inn by a third party and I didn't know what to expect, but was very pleased with everything at the Inn from top to bottom. It's a modestly appointed Inn which fits well in Anchorage. The staff are SO helpful and welcoming. They will bend over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dalcy3
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! I'm so happy you enjoyed yourself, and appreciate your commendations

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,673 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#16 of 73 in Anchorage
446 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#31 of 73 in Anchorage
354 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Price Range: €80 - €260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage
Copper Whale Inn Anchorage, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copper Whale Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
New York City, New York

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Copper Whale Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in the back building tend to have better views and be quieter.”
KDstamford, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to avoid front room facing street in main house”
Katminou, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“choose a room facing the water with no stairs”
tarakauai, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the Elderberry room- nice balcony”
Portlandtraveler2009, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms with views. The rooms in the annex are best for views but the higher ones in the main house are good, too.”
Kathy11649, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5