We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
27/8/2017 28/8/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Green Tortoise Hostel

    105 1/2 Pike St, Seattle, WA 98101-2009
    Hotel website
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    27/8/2017 28/8/2017
    US$95
    Traveller (213)
    Room & Suite (85)
    Storyboard
    Overview
    • Excellent49%
    • Very good35%
    • Average8%
    • Poor3%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “free dinner” (48 reviews)
    “bunk beds” (33 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Self-Serve Laundry
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    2.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Green Tortoise Hostel
    Special Deal: Free breakfast with your stay
    Deals (1)
    27 Aug28 Aug
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • 2xBunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
      US$95
      View Deal
    • 2xBunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
      US$95
      View Deal
    Collapse room deals
    View more room deals
    Showing room deals 1 - of 1
    Grand Hyatt Seattle
    3,072 reviews
    #6 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Motif Seattle
    281 reviews
    #44 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Hotel Andra
    2,050 reviews
    #10 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Mayflower Park Hotel
    2,210 reviews
    #18 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (536)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages
    There are newer reviews for The Green Tortoise Hostel
    See the most recent reviews

    11 - 15 of 442 reviews

    Reviewed 19 May 2017

    We arrived at the hostel and the girl at the desk was not welcoming at all. In fact, it seemed like we were an inconvenience to her day. She begrudgingly showed us to our room without cracking a smile or asking us how we were...More

    3  Thank Iain B
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded 29 June 2017

    We are very sorry you did not have a good experience at the hostel. Everyone has bad days and sometimes that leaks over into work. We apologize that you were not welcomed kindly. We will have a chat with our staff about being more cheerful....More

    Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

    This hostel is located in a perfect location. Good wifi. Good staff. Close to everything. There are ATM's in case you need. The sink in the bathroom could be better. The breakfast is good, not many options, but good for a hostel. I had a...More

    2  Thank Yuri M
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded 29 June 2017

    Thank you so much for your 5star review! We really appreciate it. We are glad you found the ATMs and location to be convenient. Sorry that you were slightly dissatisfied with the sink, what can we do to improve it? Thanks again and we hope...More

    Reviewed 23 March 2017

    Around the midnight arrived staff in the room and did something in the room. Next morning I complained about and told I'm a customer and I payed money and don't want that staff running around the room and doing there something. Hostel manager didn't like...More

    1  Thank Aivars O
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded 29 June 2017

    Hi. I am very sorry that you had a bad experience at the hostel. It sounds like everything was ok until someone was in the room at night? I do not know what the staff was doing in the room, but I guarantee that they...More

    Reviewed 20 March 2017

    For a hostel, this one is pretty sweet. It has loads of dorms that are mostly occupied, a lot of bathrooms, free breakfast, towels for $1, and a big common space where you can meet others. Each of the beds has a curtain which is...More

    2  Thank OneWildLifeTravel
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded 11 July 2017

    Thank you so much for your stellar review! We are so glad that you think Pikes Place Market is the coolest area of Seattle. Sorry about the marijuana smell. We work hard to keep the smoke flowing out of the building from the lounge, but...More

    Reviewed 18 March 2017

    We had a great stay at Green Tortoise. We booked a double bunk bed as a couple which was a great cost-effective option. The staff are friendly and facilities are kept clean. Awesome showers! The beds have a curtain to allow some privacy and there...More

    Thank mcdermida
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle, Public Relations Manager at The Green Tortoise HostelResponded 11 July 2017

    We are so grateful for your awesome review. Please stay with us again soon!

    Grand Hyatt Seattle
    3,072 reviews
    #6 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Motif Seattle
    281 reviews
    #44 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Hotel Andra
    2,050 reviews
    #10 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    Mayflower Park Hotel
    2,210 reviews
    #18 of 101 hotels in Seattle
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$42 - US$102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Number of rooms
    • 30
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Green Tortoise Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United States >
    • Washington >
    • Seattle
    • Also Known As
    • The Green Tortoise Hotel Seattle
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (213)
    Room & Suite (85)
    Dining (12)
    Hotel & Grounds (174)
    Bathroom (5)
    Nearby
    Mayflower Park Hotel
    2,210 reviews
    .40 km away
     
    Motif Seattle
    281 reviews
    .31 km away
     
    Grand Hyatt Seattle
    3,072 reviews
    .61 km away
     
    Hotel Andra
    2,050 reviews
    .49 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Ellenos
    678 reviews
    .06 km away
    The Crumpet Shop
    818 reviews
    .04 km away
    Matt's in the Market
    720 reviews
    .06 km away
    Radiator Whiskey
    190 reviews
    .05 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Pike Place Fish Market
    441 reviews
    .05 km away
    The Gum Wall
    1,596 reviews
    .06 km away
    Market Theatre
    12 reviews
    .05 km away
    Pronto Cycle Share
    16 reviews
    .09 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Valerie J
    31 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle | Property representative |
    Hi! We have a lot of older people stay with us. We do not currently have bed bugs. If there is every any issue with bed bugs, it is handled quickly and professionally so the issue does not spread. There is no way for us to... More
    1
    Vote
    Kelly C
    12 June 2017|
    Answer
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle | Property representative |
    You are more than welcome to stay with us! We've had guests from ages 2 to 92! We hope you enjoy your stay and your adventures in Seattle. Bon voyage!
    1
    Vote
    cyrobot
    11 June 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from GreenTortoiseSeattle | Property representative |
    Emily B is correct! Doors lock after 10pm, but you will have a key. In addition, front desk staff can buzz you in 24 hours.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "free breakfast, eight or six beds, restroom, common area, smoke room, windows, lock storage, activities, pub..."
    Read review
    "Ask about private rooms if you are a couple that wants to sleep together"
    Read review
    "Go somewhere else"
    Read review
    "Be sure to wake up early if you want to eat the free breakfast. It runs out fast"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing