We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Murphy's Alaskan Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Murphy's Alaskan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 92: English reviews
Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed 17 July 2015

This place is ok. The rooms were clean and tiny. But lights were very dim. We stayed only for one night so it was kind of ok for us. The location is good, it is very near (walkable) from seward harbor. The view outside the room was awesome. If you are looking for a place only for night stay then...

Thank sennabanita
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 14 July 2015

This property is not well maintained. There was gum on a chair, stuff on the floor not vacuumed, no pillowcase on one of the pillows and worst of all there were BEDBUGS. I was nailed pretty good on our two night stay in room 114, last weekend. See photo. Thats about 20% of the bites all over my body. I...

4Thank leonnow2015
ownerandgeneralmgr, Manager at Murphy's Alaskan Inn, responded to this review

We were made aware of this situation after the guest was checking out. We inspected the room from top to bottom and found nothing except for two mosquitos on the ledge. As a guest, I experienced bed bugs at one property and my wife and I found them throughout the room. We looked stripped everything and didn't find one sign....

Reviewed 13 July 2015

My husband and I had planned a fun filled 3 day weekend away for our anniversary. We had stayed at this hotel before and it was a bit cheesy but clean and a good value. When we arrived I noticed there was some sticky substance on the wall like (I hope) soda. The bathroom floor and tub were very dirty...

Thank RobIngaCollins
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. Room was clean. Nice view of the harbor, but the Seward baseball diamond was between us and water. It is a short hike to downtown and a short hike from the cruises. When we checked in the person behind the desk was not fluent in English and was a little hard to communicate with. If...

Thank Randy P
Marshall, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We were upgraded to the Murphy's Inn from the Marina motel down the street that is owned by the same people. Room was clean and the view of the water was nicer than that from the Marina. Outside stairs were steep and no elevator was available. Shower was roomy and the beds were comfortable. Parking was free and located on...

Thank Dale R
Long Beach, California
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

The hotel is walking distance to downtown. The room had a full kitchen (stove, full size refrigerator, microwave, and dishes). Friendly staff. The beds aren't too comfortable. Only one pillow. Breakfast is included from a restaurant 3 blocks down (the food at the restaurant is fair). The rooms are unique. Uses old fashioned keys.

Thank jcmonogram
Anchor Point, Alaska
Reviewed 3 June 2015

If you want a basic room with no frills, but one that is very clean and has a good location in Seward, Murphy's is the place for you. Friendly staff, updated bathrooms, fridge, microwave, cable, wifi.

Thank Nona S
Highland, California
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

Fantastic view!!! Petya is so friendly and helpful. New microwave, fairly new sink, shower and toilet. Comfortable beds. Breakfast provided at a restaurant down the street. This isn't a five star Hotel but is an excellent Motel. Satellite TV and wifi. Can't beat the view!

Thank Dave E
Wausau, Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 December 2014

This is an older hotel, but the staff was very welcoming and accommodating. We stayed there two nights. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were quiet, especially helpful after a long day out on the water! Highly recommend!

Thank KerryAnn61
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 11 December 2014

WoW! Second floor facing the bay. Absolutely gorgeous! The room was clean and comfortable for our two night stay. It is close to dinning and an easy walk to tourist adventures. We saw a bunch of whales, dolphins, and sea birds during a whale watching cruse. In a pinch, we could watch the baseball game across the street at the...

Thank Dan F

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (9)
Room/Suite (1)
View from Room (2)
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (16)
Room/Suite (5)
Bathroom (1)
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
1.2 km away
1.1 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
522 reviews
0.9 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#7 of 14 in Seward
147 reviews
1.1 km away
Sauerdough Lodging
Sauerdough Lodging
#6 of 14 in Seward
80 reviews
1.0 km away
The Van Gilder Hotel
The Van Gilder Hotel
#8 of 14 in Seward
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Murphy's Motel is located within a short walk to the Seward boat harbor. Offering great value for our customers. Our rooms all have queen beds, coffee makers, microwaves & refrigerators. Half of our rooms offer a spectacular view of Resurrection Bay, some with balconies. We also offer a Gas Barbeque Grill for our guests and a freezer for your fish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Murphy's Alaskan Inn

Address: 911 Fourth Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Price Range: €70 - €189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphy's Alaskan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Murphy's Alaskan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Alaskan Hotel Seward
Murphys Hotel Seward
Murphy's Alaskan Inn Seward, Alaska
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Murphy's Alaskan Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Murphy's Alaskan Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see the room first”
 of 5 bubbles kenny301, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go for the newer two-story building”
 of 5 bubbles Rocketdogc, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Best rooms have a view of the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles 895shawnq, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have a "harbor view"”
 of 5 bubbles sylvia20, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Better view from the second floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 110mariav, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay