We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,822 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,399: English reviews
Utah
Reviewed 3 November 2014

This is a good location for walking to all the shops and restaurants in Kona. They do charge for parking so that's a downside. There is an ABC store right in the hotel and a coffee place with the best cold coffee drinks. The rooms are large but the storage is a bit strange. What looks like a full dresser...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PCGal
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you very much for the great review of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the hotel amenities as well as our convenient location. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Mahalo

Bossier City
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Although I have been to the Big Island a few times, this was my first stay here. It was a quick check in to a beautiful room with an ocean view. Due to an airline mix up, our stay was split witha few days in between. The staff was very friendly and helpful

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dawn H
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your kind review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We were so pleased to learn that you had a very nice time while staying with us and enjoyed your accommodations in addition to our convenient location and friendly staff. We look forward to your next visit with us. Mahalo

stamford ct
Reviewed 30 October 2014

They try really hard but can't seem to rid the place of mold. My wife sneezes when she walks in the door and the rooms have the same odor. We could not put our clothes in the drawers because of the smell and when I used a wash cloth on the shelf in the closet it was filthy. But the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rocket41
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for choosing the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel for your recent visit to Kona. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced as a result of some issues you had on your recent stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2014

As stated in the title, this hotel is all about the location. The hotel sits on a small little beach right by the main street with all the shops, restaurants and activities. Unfortunately though, this was the biggest positive for me. My check-in was quite strange in that I had to repeat myself 3 times to explain that I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brad H
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for staying at the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach hotel. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. We couldn't be more disappointed than to hear that your recent stay was not as you anticipated. It is our goal to ensure a seamless experience for all our guests, and we do apologize that your stay...

Gold Coast,Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2014

The location of this hotel is excellant . easy walking to all restaurants, bars an boutique shops. Located right on the breakwater , excellant facilities , pool (wonderful) looking across the bay, well equipped gym . ABC shop on site and also a nice Coffee shop. Did not try the restaurant or room service. Staff were great , nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sangar
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, It is our goal to create an exceptional experience for all our guests. We are delighted we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations and happy to hear that our staff took good care of you while you were here. Your...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2014

The hotel is perfectly located within walking distance to various restaurants, cafes and bars, so makes for a great place to stay. Ample parking for those who hire a car as we did. The young lady who checked us in at reception was excellent, very friendly and the type of person who is clearly a natural when it comes to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AuHappyTraveller
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for sharing your review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel. We are so delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location, amenities, and pool area. We greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to express your impressions with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Mahalo

Pahoa
Reviewed 29 October 2014

This older hotel has been updated by Marriot, quite nicely. But it is an older building and with that comes, a less than modern feel. It is great if you just want to hang out with other tourists. You could get by without a car, but remember it is the Big Island, and that means exploring. The pool is small,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
Reviewed 27 October 2014 via mobile

I expected better standards from a Marriot hotel however my experience was not enjoyable for the following reasons: 1. The rooms smelt really bad. An awful musty old lady sort of smell. 2. There were no curtains in the bedrooms, only sliding shutters meaning that outside light was not entirely blocked out. 3. The bathroom didn't have a lockable door....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Us-travelss
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Let me assure you that we value you as a guest and are disappointed that your experience was not one to remember. I would like to apologize for the impression you received from your accommodations and dining at our restaurant. I agree that the incidents you experienced are...

Benbrook, Texas, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2014

This was our third stay at the King Kam and we still love this hotel. Rooms are large and clean. Lanais are nice for morning coffee and watching the sunset in the evening. Hotel is very well located, with shops and restaurants very close by. Staff is very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Crramsey
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for being a return guest at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel and for your continued support. We’re so pleased to hear that you had another great stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Mahalo

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Everything looked nice and well maintained, room was clean and staff was super friendly (seemed genuine, not the typical fake friendliness often encountered). I had arranged some flowers to be delivered so they could be in the room when we arrived (honeymoon) and they were really helpful in receiving the flowers and quickly having a bell running them up to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimmy S
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Congratulations on your recent nuptial and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your special occasion! We could not be more pleased to hear that your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel was such a great experience. It is always a pleasure to read reviews from our guests and to learn about what made...

1,669 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1448)
Viewed
View from Room (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (172)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (231)
Viewed
Bathroom (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (334)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Other (422)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (221)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,766 reviews
33.6 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: €177 - €312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
76 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (76)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was on the 2nd floor (203) good view of beach, but it also had a lot of roof of the lower unit to look over.”
davidmM5034AC, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Worth the extra for oceanfront.”
DBasinger, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our "partial ocean-view" had a small balcony with a pleasant view of the waterfront.”
Bets54, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Partial ocean view for slight upgrade price, west tower.”
kcgray632, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If wanting to do a luau, book it with your room as a package deal as the savings are significant.”
dtoliphant7, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5