We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha\\
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,824 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,401: English reviews
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We've stayed at the "KIng Kam" several times over the last 40 years when the property was under various management, and this was the best time ever. Stayed 4 nights and enjoyed it all. Large king-sized room (partial ocean view) with rollaway sofa bed was clean and well-equipped. Large lobby museum area provides lots of history about Hawai'i and Hawaiiana....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James T
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for staying with us again and for your wonderful review. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location and the Hawaiian cultural exhibits. We appreciate your compliments for our hotel and grounds. Please visit us again soon it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo

Pleasanton, California
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Love the location in Kona. We tried once again to stay at the hotel (as I love Marriott hotels and their various brands). Issue is the bed. BF's back could not take the soft bed that was a bit worn. Glad we booked only one night. Would I recommend? Yes if location is what you want and comfort is low...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FXDLKM03
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Although you have expressed an appreciation for our location it is definitely disappointing to learn that we did not fully impress you in terms of the quality of our beds. We apologize and hope that this did not take away from your overall experience. Thank you for alerting...

Jamestown, North Dakota
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is a good hotel with great access to local restaurants and downtown Kona. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The pool and poolside bar are very nice. There is great snorkeling just off the beach from the hotel. if you are willing to snorkel out from the beach, not a long swim, there are often Hawaiian spinner dolphins...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Drew W
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback of your recent stay at Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are delighted to learn you had a great time and enjoyed our grounds as well as your accommodations and our convenient location. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Mahalo

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 26 July 2014

There's very little beach in Kona, so we were happy to have the little beach here. It's also a great place to try paddle-boarding for the first time since the ocean is protected on 3 sides. We loved the hotel-nice and quiet. Great morning breakfast at Honu's. Nice clean rooms with a great view. Ample parking too. Would definitely recommend....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 13VLD
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for your wonderful review of the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We are pleased that we could provide you with accommodations that met your expectations. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities, pool, beach area, convenient location and dining at Honu’s Restaurant. Your kind review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming...

Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Ok where do I start. This is my honest observation of the hotel. I wanted to like the place, I really did. Location-The location of the hotel is terrible. The location seems to be a gathering point for a variety of people-the homeless, drug addicts, and countless low lives who seem to enjoy "hanging out" around the property, all day...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Rob H
General_Manager03, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Rob, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Let me assure you that we value you as a guest and are disappointed that your experience was not one to remember. I would like to apologize for the impression you received from your stay and agree that the incidents you experienced are not how we want...

Waimanalo, Hawaii
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Enjoyed a weekend here. Check in was fast and friendly. Room was spacious, and easy to get to. We had a ocean front in which we could sit on the balcony. The hotel is located in a prime area right at the entrance to ali'i drive. I took advantage of the free gym which was an added bonus. The little...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Yamas4
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you so much for your review of Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our convenient location. We’re delighted that you took advantage of our 24 hour fitness center as well as our sandy beach. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in...

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We only spent one night on property so cannot give a good overall view. One thing is, we had a problem with the A/C. Maintenance was there within a short period to fix the problem. The room we had was an ocean view room with balcony. Sitting there feeling the ocean breeze late evening was great and relaxing

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Enjoylifeplayha... .
Wyong, Australia
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and i stayed here for 5 nights from July 10. Prior to arriving i requested a high floor for the stay if possible as we booked an ocean front room. We were not disappointed as we got a room in the west tower (the better side i think) on the top floor....the views were awesome. All of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanne S
General_Manager03, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, Thank you for providing such a detailed review of your stay at the Courtyard King Kamehameha’s Kona Beach Hotel. We truly appreciate that you have shared how much you enjoyed your stay and included so many details about what to expect and what you discovered around the island. Our goal is to provide exceptional service to our guests so...

San Mateo, California
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The online picture is somehow misleading, the beach is very small, it's in fact a small harbor with an enclosed area, if you love wave and beach sand, you will be disappointed like us. The hotel itself is clean, good lobby, convenient for shopping and food, we even watched the 4th of July fireworks in walking distance, beach is the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eric_qu
General_Manager03, Director of Rooms at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha Eric_Qu, thank you much for your response and for sharing your feedback with us. We do as every hotel, try to place the best possible pictures on our web page to attract guests to our beautiful town. I am sorry to hear that you felt our pictures mislead you. While the location gives a lot of convenience to our...

Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Convenient central location, staff who puts "Aloha" in service, beautifully-appointed grounds right on the ocean and modern, comfortable if modestly-sized rooms make this a delightful place to stay in central Kailua-Kona. Easy walk to restaurants and shops along picturesque Ali'i Drive. Luau said to be one of the best. Small white-sand beach on property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ozone88

1,672 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1451)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (335)
Viewed
Bathroom (81)
Viewed
View from Room (149)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (172)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (231)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Other (422)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (221)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.1 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,767 reviews
33.6 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: €178 - €314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
76 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (76)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on the road and the parking lot are noisy. Go for an ocean view.”
  • Some cleaning needed here
  • Some scraping and painting needed here
Yog-Sothoth, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the 2nd floor (203) good view of beach, but it also had a lot of roof of the lower unit to look over.”
davidmM5034AC, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Worth the extra for oceanfront.”
DBasinger, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our "partial ocean-view" had a small balcony with a pleasant view of the waterfront.”
Bets54, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Partial ocean view for slight upgrade price, west tower.”
kcgray632, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5