We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,799 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,380: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location, walk to great restaurants and shopping. Nice little beach area. Overlooks pier. We didn't use the pool but looked nice, not many lounge chairs if you want one by pool you need to get there early. Rooms are very large and clean, beds are really comfy. Only complaint is the bathroom door is a loose louvered sliding door...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DM_Realtor
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate the feedback you've sent to us about your stay in Kona. We will be starting a pool deck renovation that will increase the size of the pool deck and allow us to place more lounge chairs for our guests to enjoy. As for the straws in the lu'au drinks, those are served to adults who we hope...

Boise Idahoo, USA
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in January 2017, room 207. We were surprised to see that our room wall had a very large area of damage that needed painting, and when we reported it to the front desk the next morning, we were simply told that a note would be made for the manager. No apology was offered, and no alternate room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gadabout01
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, As I read your feedback I was disappointed to learn about your experience. What you described is totally out of character for our hotel and I do apologize to you for that. As you noted, you were visiting in January which is part of our peak period during the winter season. We are sold during that time which makes...

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Courtyard in Kona has some of the friendliest staff so far on our vacation. We first met Ian from the night shift bell staff. Extremely important to me is how I connect with staff. If treated properly, they generally will do anything for you with a smile. Ian suggested a place tof snorkle that was perfect for my wife'said...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jtudbury
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We are very happy to learn that we were able to provide you and your wife an excellent stay at our hotel. Our associates are our biggest asset here and many serve and greet our guests with the pure spirit of aloha. Ian is one of our top Bellmen and does got our of his way to make our...

Reviewed 1 week ago

What more can i say other than freindly staff great management clean beautiful location ideally situated all round perfection and thank you to all staff who made it a perfect 10 days cannot recommend highly enough great sea veiws would definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We appreciate your glowing feedback about our hotel and our staff. Both are a source of pride and aloha for us. We take our daily interactions with our visitors seriously and strive to deliver an exceptional stay for each of our guests. We are very grateful for your comments and knowing that we created an outstanding experience for you...

Sugar Hill, Georgia
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was recommended by my son, who lives there. We had a nice room with an ocean view from the balcony (our room was located on 5th floor above the main entrance to the hotel). It was within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Also, it is right at the pier and sidewalk area for walking along the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank uscmanrob
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your son's recommendation and staying with us. We hope your toe is on the mend and all is well. We appreciate the nice comments you've shared with us about your recent visit. It sounds like you had a full trip with lots to do. We are happy to know that our staff was a big part...

New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

We reserved a standard room, but arrived to find that because of our Marriott status, we had been upgraded to a suite. The room was fantastic, with a nice view of the waterfront. The only blip in the room was that the coffee pot leaked and there was no creamer, but other than that, it was spacious, relaxing and just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NJLady561
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, I am very happy to hear that you appreciated the upgrade and location of the room. I do apologize for the guest amenities that were lacking in your room. I have taken the opportunity to let our Director of Housekeeping about this to ensure this was an isolated incident. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we...

Toronto
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 or 4 days at the beginning of March. Eryn well placed at one end of the main waterfront with a world of stores, restaurants and bars in easy walking distance. Tiny beach inside the breakwater in front of the Hotel but I saw almost as many fish wading there as snorkeling at Hanauma Bay. (OK, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KWB354
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Maika'i loa!! In 'olelo Hawai'i, (the Hawaiian language), this refers to a job well done or states that all is well. We are very happy to learn that you had an incredible stay with us. To be selected as your favorite island and location is quite an honor to us. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and...

Kailua, Hawaii
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in an upgraded standard with a great view of pool and bay. Beds were comfy and hotel nice. Fridge for extra beer and nice lanai for checking out the action and drying dive equipment. Anchors fun Ali drive in Kona Village. 15-20 minutes from Honokohau Harbor and Keahole airport. Taxis readily available. Book early for brewfest weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kalamakid
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Aloha, We are happy to know you enjoyed yourself at the Kona Brewfest and at our hotel. Glad that everything worked out for you. Hopefully, you will be back again next year for another Kona Brewfest celebration. Mahalo, Jak Hu

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was nice and it is a good location to walk down the main street to restaurants and shops. Room was clean and spacious. Parking was $US17 a day. Plenty of parking spaces. I would happily stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and the opportunity we had to host you during your stay. It's great to know that we may have the opportunity to see you again. Until we meet again, we send our warm, aloha. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in 2014 everything wag great.This time it was DISGUSTING. Checked in. Woke up in the AM to discover dried POOP on the sheet hidden under the pillows we had just slept on all night. Went to the front desk ,they told us we had to speak with the manager but she was busy(5 minutes after she went...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JimmyBoyBob
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Mr. JimmyBoyBob, This is the second complaint you have submitted to us with comments that are very inconsistent and questionable. Your complaint about the buffet has yet to be substantiated and the comments you have included in this complaint are unbelievable at best. Our Front Desk associates are not authorized to offer any cash refunds nor are they able to...

1,651 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1430)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (168)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (334)
Viewed
Bathroom (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (226)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
View from Room (146)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (13)
Viewed
Other (420)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (221)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
43.6 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.2 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,739 reviews
33.6 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel! Our Kona, Hawaii hotel's lobby and restaurants were newly renovated in 2011 and all of our 452 rooms have been upgraded to feature complimentary high speed Internet access, private balconies, mini refrigerators, coffee makers with complimentary Kona Coffee, 37' color flat screen TVs, and complimentary in-room safes. You will experience a brand new kind of hotel when you stay with us and delight in our accommodations from the moment you step into our new lobby. You will also find completely renovated corridors, a refreshed business center, and newly designed meeting rooms, outdoor swimming pool, whirlpool, and fitness center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel

Address: 75-5660 Palani Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740 (Formerly Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: €170 - €313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel King Kamehamehas Kona Beach
Hawaii King Kamehamehas Kona Beach Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
69 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (69)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room away from elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles CL_travels2008, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Doesn't really matter. Town side or other side. Neither has a full view of the ocean but both have partial views.”
 of 5 bubbles terryo687, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“partial ocean view to avoid noise on town side”
 of 5 bubbles 479casimirk, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view from thee West tower. East tower has road noise on the mountain side.”
 of 5 bubbles jtudbury, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front room was ideal for us.”
  • Room View Looking In
  • Ocean Front View
  • Room View Looking Out
  • Bathroom
  • Ocean Front ViewLooking Toward Pool/Restaurant/Beach Area
 of 5 bubbles orlandotourist, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5