We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hale Maluhia Country Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Hale Maluhia Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hale Maluhia Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 272: English reviews
Gypsum, Colorado
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The bait and switch was nice. The ground, kitchen, and common area were cute. But after being led to my room. My jaw dropped. I may has well set my tent up in the yard. Giant dead bug on the only shelf to put my stuff. Almost stepped through the soft spot in the floor entering the bug infested bathroom....

3Thank colt c
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review

Aloha Gypsum, Thanks for the kick in the butt. From your January stay we have now found two professional housekeepers. We have fixed the soft spot in the bath floor and replaced the bath floor with marble, We also replace the entry carpet with porcelain tile. And I am sure you would like to know that most of the wild...

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The place is old, very charming, but definitely not as clean as the Marriott. It's also very affordable for being a few miles from downtown Kona. The B&B stands on top of a hill with a view on the Ocean (not wide open, but you get "the feeling" of openness). Sheets are clean and so is the bathroom. A box...

1Thank johnenvacances10
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Rooms here are musty, moldy, and tacky 1960's style. The breakfast isn't nearly as grand as the photos would lead you to believe. The promised hot tub was never heated. But the worst part of the place is that multiple chickens and turkeys run around all over the property leaving "droppings" everywhere.

3Thank foodfreakSMA
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review

Yes, we are a little musty at 70% humidity in the beautiful Kona Coffee Country and we do keep our prices low by not buying new furnishings every year or so. And we don't keep the Hot Tub hot due to the high energy prices but we will turn it on when asked to at breakfast. And we do have...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at this B&B for two nights over Christmas and were delighted with our accommodations. We chose the Japanese cottage, which is more expensive than the other rooms but well worth the cost. Breakfast on Christmas morning was elaborate, and Sana delivered some lovely gifts the night before. Breakfast the second day did not meet our expectations, but overall...

Thank rjgordon
Richland, WA
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Who stays in their room on a vacation? This place is perfect for people who get out and go, want a filling, all you can eat breakfast, and don't care about luxurious accommodations. The room was slightly musty smelling, but is in a very humid area. In reality, the carpets should be replaced with tile or laminate to remove the...

3Thank star152120
Kihei, Hawaii
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed here (unfortunately) for an extended period of time. I wasn't looking to book something this far down on the food chain of accommodation so it was more than disappointing. Having paid for the whole stay I decided not to try to argue with the "professionals" running this place to leave when I had a good look around. I...

5Thank Sunset_Sailor
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review

This hermit guest stayed with us for 26 nights and gave us absolute instructions not to go into her room. She kept it closed up most of the time. Normally, with daily housekeeping we take out the trash, replace used towels, make the bed and clean and spray down hard surfaces with Lysol to restrict the mildew of our Kona...

Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The room was dirty. The bathtub was full of dead bugs. The owner's daughter made snotty comments behind my back when she didn't think I could hear. We had to cook our own breakfast, and then when everyone was done, the owner pulled out the "good" stuff out and made himself a beautiful breakfast that was not made available to...

4Thank dd1456
KonaPilgrim, Owner at Hale Maluhia Country Inn, responded to this review

First off, not sure you have the right Inn as I do not have a daughter working at the Inn and when I do eat breakfast is is usually what is left on the buffet. If it was our Inn, we do publish everywhere that it is a DIY Omelet bar, Buffet with bird watching? As to the "Owner" me...

Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have spontanious booked this B&B and we absolutely loved it! It is a litte up the mountain in the rainforest, so not close to the beach, which didn't matter for us, especially not since the room was less then 100 $. The Room was pretty close to the Street, what made it a litte noisy, but not to much,...

Thank Anni N
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Hale Maluhia is ideally located a couple miles up the mountainside from Kona and offers easy access to beaches, touring, boating and fishing. Everything is convenient from here and at a very affordable price, especially considering the alternatives down in Kona. The small B&B is tucked away in the midst of lush Hawaiian greenery. Some room furnishings are in need...

1Thank Laohuang
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Last February my wife and I were looking for a unique place to retreat as family. We needed a gate-away desperately after seven years of intense ministry work. Hotels were out of question. We wanted a quiet Inn hidden somewhere up in the mountains that will accommodate our children too. When I first saw Hale Maluhia (House of Peace) Kailua-Kona...

2Thank DrGoddie U

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (116)
Room/Suite (24)
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Dining (22)
Bathroom (2)
View from Room (3)
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (22)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (4)
Dining (2)
View from Room (2)
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
4.6 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
4.5 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
161 reviews
4.7 km away
Big Island Retreat
Big Island Retreat
#3 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
164 reviews
23.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a Virtual Kona Coffee Plantation of five rooms and two cottages in country comfort. Exceptional Breakfast Lovers Buffet and DIY omelet bar, fresh fruit, fresh bread baked daily, pure Kona coffee and bird watching. Relax to sage advice, friendly prices, broadband wireless, good beds, private baths and a gentle touch of aloha from old Hawai'i along the road less traveled. Just 3 miles south of Kailua-Kona and 11 miles south of the Kona International Airport (KOA). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hale Maluhia Country Inn

Address: 76-770 Hualalai Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-9776
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: €69 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hale Maluhia Country Inn (House Of Peace) Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Country Inn Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Country Inn
Hale Maluhia Country Inn Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hale Maluhia Country Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hale Maluhia Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just be aware that there are lots of frogs at night.”
  • Morning birds during breakfast.
mtiktinsky, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Noisy from rats eating termites.”
atruitt2, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Maile room is a good budget option for guests who aren't fussy.”
jazzglow, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Decide your amenities, not all rooms have them”
Besttimeever60872, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Banyan House for the space. It's very affordable.”
WPicard, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5