We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa

Save
Share
78-128 Ehukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
12 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$450
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$458
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/12/22
travelup.com
US$290
View deal
Hotels.comUS$450
TravelocityUS$450
Prestigia.comUS$861
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2797)
360
Panoramas (37)
Videos (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#10 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms, you'll be close to the best of Hawaii as a guest of our Kailua-Kona hotel located steps from Keauhou Bay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Diving
Snorkelling
Children's television networks
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Yoga classes
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Water sport equipment rentals
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Korean
3540Reviews130Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,024
  • 1,185
  • 717
  • 376
  • 238
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ray Davies wrote a review Nov 2022
Kihei, Hawaii4 contributions1 helpful vote
Cockroaches, filthy rooms, mistakes everywhere. Shuttle left without stopping. Missed our thanksgiving dinner because of it. Worst experience I’ve had. I am absolutely stunned how terrible the hotel and staff is to its guests. Manager was smug and sarcastic.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
JDSoui wrote a review Oct 2022
Princeville, Hawaii6193 contributions13723 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Had a 1-night stay while on the island. The resort is quiet, with nice views and comfortable rooms. The resort is dated and likely due for a renovation. Room views were fabulous and bed was very comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The price for a ocean-facing room is worth the price
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
22 Helpful votes1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 26 Oct 2022
Aloha! Mahalo for staying with us at Outrigger Kona! We apperciate you taking the time to share about your experience. Thank you for your kind words about our property. We excited for your return visit. Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy_loves_trips wrote a review Nov 2022
West Des Moines, Iowa2 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I wanted to share an honest review about the Outrigger Kona. I’d read so many reviews and was a little worried that I’d picked the wrong hotel. Totally did not need to worry. It was wonderful! Pros: Beautiful grounds Pool is amazing Staff were all so kind View from room was gorgeous Seeing manta rays every night was magical It didn’t feel busy and we heard almost no noise from other rooms Food at restaurant was very good (although expensive, as expected) Little shop with grab and go items is cute and came in handy Parking was easy and convenient Cons: I didn’t like our shower. It was hard to get to a good temperature and it seemed to get hotter and then colder constantly. They probably would have moved us but I liked our view so much I decided I’d just deal with it. The two beds are doubles, not even queens. That was my fault because it was clearly stated in the room descriptions but I missed it. Felt a little crowded when you’re used to a king. A lot of reviews said the place needs a renovation and it does and I’m sure it will be beautiful afterwards. But I loved it anyway. Such a great week and would absolutely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The daily resort and self parking fees add up. We booked as a package but might be sticker shock...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Amy! Mahalo for staying with us at Outrigger Kona. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and property. All your feedback is very important to us, as it helps us focus on areas that need improvement. Already we are excited for your next visit! Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BmoreTrav wrote a review Nov 2022
Baltimore, MD66 contributions75 helpful votes
I first stayed here in 1984 with my parents during our first trip to Hawaii, so it was interesting to return. Turns out, they were shooting season 5 of Temptation Island on the property. Happily, that did not intrude on my stay and was not bothered by any of their so-called "celebrities." There have been some flourishes added (and the beds refreshed) but the fixtures haven't really changed much in style over the years. That said, the property and the grounds look in solid condition and the oceanside pool looks lovely. The staff was friendly and was kind enough to upgrade my Hotels Tonight reservation to an Ocean View room that was very spacious and had an outdoor anteroom seating area, as well as a very spacious lanai that could probably hold an 8 person cocktail party, had I been so inclined. I ended up needing a second night and the front desk staff was very accommodating by letting me stay in the same room. Fantastic. They were also very helpful when I needed a bakery (Standard) and florist (Qina Girl) suggestions. Like I said, some of the fixtures are a bit dated but I had ample electric outlets for my gear - and since this was a work trip, I have a fair amount of gear that needs to be plugged in for recharging. But what's the downside? The "Resort Fee." Over the years, I have really come to HATE hotels that hold us HOSTAGE and FORCE guests to pay this EXTORTION. Whether you're a family of five staying at the resort on vacation or like myself (for work), $35/night for "use of the pool and towels" is just BS. This is something Hawaii hotels have ripped off from Vegas hotels that should be banned. And I highly encourage people to consider this in your planning and take your vacations to other hotels or completely different destinations altogether. Especially for someone like myself who is there for work and needs a place to sleep - we're not going to use that "included round of golf" - and how many people actually use it? Certainly not enough because there would be additional charge if there were. This "Resort Fee" really is what tarnishes what otherwise could have been a higher scoring review - especially at the rates they are charging the average tourist for the room alone.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ocean view rooms have nice sunset views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha! Mahalo for staying with us at Outrigger Kona. We are delighted you were able to return after all these years. We apperciate all of your feedback. Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele O wrote a review Nov 2022
11 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Honest review about outrigger: Preface: none of these things below bothered us but could assist someone else in making a decision. We love the big island and appreciate that it is on the ocean and wear and tear is different than back home. Overall a nice place to stay. Grounds are pretty, location is nice and people are friendly. Great for a family with children since you can sit by the pool and watch them play while enjoying a drink. Also good for older folks since it's centrally located and pretty chill. We are somewhere in the middle so it worked for us because we like to get in our car and just explore. Public beaches on Ali'i drive with bathrooms and showers are moments away so you really can have it all staying here. The hotel is on the spot of the manta ray bay so all the tour boats show up at night with the lights on so folks can snorkel with them. From the hotel they have a viewing area where they also shine spotlights so you can actually see them without paying for the tour. Very cool added feature. Rooms: Bathrooms in the room need updating. Water never really gets hot. Toilet has a gas station flushing system. Walls and tiles are pretty messed up. Beds were comfortable-not too firm BUT do kinda sink in so if firm beds are wanted - this isn't the place for you. Mini fridge gets nice and cold. Enough to keep stuff actually frozen in the freezer compartment. Concierge services: -avoid - date for adventure was wrong- woman working it was very talkative mostly about her personal life stories. It's hard to be attentive when you are just trying to get to your next adventure. I suggest calling your travel agent and having them book for you-keep them on speed dial, lol. Restaurant: Breakfast package- $30 per person per day. Not worth it. You get a main item , coffee and juice. The average cost for these items with tip is $26. If you decide you just want bacon toast and eggs instead it's not included and you will have to pay for each item. I suggest just paying for what you want. It will be cheaper even with tip. Menu- the menu does not really say what the item is. For example-I ordered curry beef appetizer with a side of rice. What came out was a curry beef PIZZA! I ordered continental breakfast which was yogurt, banana bread and papaya. What came out was a beautiful yogurt bowl with granola and fruit on it with 1/2 papaya on the side and banana bread. Drinks are expensive-no no-more expensive than that-more than some of the meal prices. Just be prepared. $12-16 ea Pool- they have a 21+ area that is nice but it is located inside area with no ocean view. The cabanas are $100 a day but are peppered around the pool along with the splashing playing children. If they were lined up on one end it may have been worth it. Thatched umbrellas and 2 chairs will run you $50. Everything else is first come first serve. Housekeeping staff was great!! Valet staff was also great! Check in and check out was seamless.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha! Mahalo for staying with us at Outrigger Kona. Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your experience. Your feedback is very valuable as it helps us focus on areas that need our attention. We cant wait to have you return! Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan E wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Don’t recommend staying here. They have unprofessional customer service and support. It was impossible getting hold of anyone with authority to make any decisions. If you’re going to stay at a chain use a national one they are more professional now they treat customers.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Alane, Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time with us. We apperciate your feedback. Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
d richards wrote a review Nov 2022
Seattle, Washington46 contributions9 helpful votes
we had a little issue of our room we booked originally, it didn’t match with images from the website… a nice lady at the front desk gave us an upgrade without any additional charges. very friendly and accommodating staff! shoutout to Freda Presiados at the Waelele Cafe, you made our morning breakfast marvelous! very charming, friendly and she made sure that our experience met our expectation! Kuddos to you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: if you plan to shop, make sure you’ll bring your own bag, very earth friendly. i love it!!!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha! Mahalo for staying with us t Outrigger Kona. We are delighted to hear that our staff were able to take great care of you, thank you so much for your kind words. We are already excited for your next visit! Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
schmidi89 wrote a review Nov 2022
27 contributions1 helpful vote
You have to pay extra for parking. The rooms, especially the bathroom equipement are out of date. The lobby looks nice but all behind is not at the same level. We could hear every word spoken on the floor and even the toilet flushing from other rooms. The bed was also old and too soft over the years. The service staff was very friendly and helpfull.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha Schmidi! Mahalo for staying with us at Outrigger Kona. We apperciate all your feed back as it helps us on what areas to focus on. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TMM57 wrote a review Oct 2022
Peyton, Colorado15 contributions1 helpful vote
We traveled during the Ironman race, but I had reserved my room months before, so I got the cheapest rate I could probably get for this hotel. I got lucky with good timing, I guess. After that, it tripled for Ironman, and I for one would have demanded my money back if I had paid the 800 dollars a night that the participants and their families did. Even so, for what I paid and for as expensive of a hotel this was, you would expect something updated. The decor was dinghy and dated. Sagging paint on the walls, torn and frayed carpet, old 80’s furniture, chipped porcelain tub, the mattress hadn’t been replace in at least 20 years, and the toilet was the weirdest feature I have ever seen in a hotel in my life with the old flush lever handle that you see in old public bathrooms. Also, when are hotels going to start going with a minimal approach, and finally rid the rooms of the down comfort? The bedding should be simple, light and inviting, and if someone is freezing in Hawaii, have blankets available by request. As for the grounds, yes they are nice and that is obviously where they make their investment. I also found it interesting that the key cards that they give you as wrist bands, if lost, come with a $20.00 fee. Some hotels now make it so I can unlock my room upon arrival with my phone. Technology is a wonderful thing. This hotel just missed the mark for anything that seemed updated, modern, or felt resort like even though the word is in the name of their hotel. There are nicer places to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Aloha, Mahalo for staying with us at Outrigger Kona. Thank you for sharing about your experience, your feedback helps us improve on areas that needs improvement. Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sellrd wrote a review Oct 2022
Horseheads, New York199 contributions117 helpful votes
This resort is somewhat dated, but in a nice location right on the water (we had an ocean view room). The staff was very helpful, especially the car valet service and desk staff who worked with us for an early check out. Rooms were clean, view was great. Restaurant was adequate - nothing fantastic, but adequate for the meals we ate there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Oceanside room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Kathryn Agdeppa, Guest Services / Front Office at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Responded 21 Oct 2022
Aloha Sellrd! Mahalo for staying with us at Outrigger Kona. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share about your experience. We are excited to have you stay again soon. Mahalo
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$281 - US$476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton keauhou bay hotel kailua-kona, sheraton keauhou bay resort and spa, sheraton kailua-kona, sheraton keauhou bay resort & spa
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
508
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OUTRIGGER KONA RESORT AND SPA - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Kailua-Kona, HI) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Nearby attractions include Kona Natural Soap (2.7 km), Heavenly Hawaiian Kona Coffee Farm (3.7 km), and Aloha Adventure Farms (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gypsea Gelato, Kona Grill House, and Da Poke Shack.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and yoga classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Korean, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Outrigger Kona Resort and Spa?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kealakekua Bay (10.9 km), The Painted Church (15.9 km), and Kamakahonu (9.7 km).