We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

GreenLeadersGold level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Showing 370: English reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

We rented a 2 bedroom condo with full ocean front (because no other options that slept 5 were available when we booked). I was shocked about how gorgeous the view was. I'm wishing I was there now. The room was a bit dated and the mattress, holy crap, talk about firm, but I didn't have a back ache. I also...

1Thank Buckeye-on-vaca
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff here in Kailua Kona! It is always our goal to ensure that guests of Royal Sea Cliff have a great vacation experience. And we hope that you will come back again to enjoy more of what Hawaii Island has to offer!

Reviewed 8 June 2013

These condos are great value for money with plenty of room to relax including the pool complex just stones throw from the ocean. Be sure to catch the sunset from the pool deck if you do not have a direct ocean view. Plenty of guest parking. Easy access into the centre of Kona along the sedate Alli Drive.

1Thank jax1601
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for sharing what a great time you had with Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff! While guest parking can be troublesome at other properties, and can often cost up to $25 per day we, Royal Sea Cliff has more than enough parking and there is no charge. Having a vehicle to use during your stay is also highly...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Nice location only 1 1/4 miles into Kailua-Kona nice walk. However, the property needs major upgrade looking shabby. The unit directly above was being remodeled and we heard sawing and hammering everyday including Sunday. Wanted to use the pool and both pools were very noisy one with families with kids screaming and the other with young adults blaring music, we...

Thank Kitty1024
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for your comments to Trip Advisor, We are very sorry to hear that you did not have the stay you expected at Royal Sea Cliff Resort. We strive to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay on Hawaii Island. All of our condominium units in are privately owned and we encourage our owners to perform...

Reviewed 15 May 2013

We bought a package deal from Australia which included accommodation . This apartment was ideal, plenty of room well appointed with a great ocean view . The bed was a bit firm. Laundry was in the room and the kitchen was a good size with all appliances but no sharp knife, all the knives were blunt. The apartment was very...

Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor, We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you experienced the aloha spirit from everyone that you encountered. Mahalo!

Reviewed 7 May 2013

WOW! First of all, Kona is incredible. I'm just wishing I were there now, just writing this review! This hotel has incredible courtyards, and even the rooms without a "view" still have a view. I mean, come on, it's Hawaii. Any room is a good room! I just have to say - don't even WORRY about planning your trip till...

Thank MrsHolt4Life
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha! We are delighted to hear that Laura was so helpful and made your vacation so perfect! We agree that she is a true asset as are all of the fine individuals who work at our activities desk. We encourage all of our guests to visit our concierge so they can make the most of their valuable vacation time. We...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A bargain price but not clean and totally outdated, sparsely furnished (70s decor). The only redeeming fact was it was economically priced. But still being 'economical' on the Big Island is a relative fact and doesn't justify a one-bedroom unit that is dirty - mold in the bathroom, sliding door handle and surround to the bathroom looked like it hadn't...

1Thank iloveitaly12
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor, We are very sorry that you did not experience the Hawaii Island vacation that you anticipated. We strongly encourage our guests to bring to us comments about their accommodations so that we can pass this information along to our unit owners. We have cleanliness standards and it is apparent that we...

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 4 May 2013

After a unreasonable trip over due to flight delays, we arrived very tired to find our reservations were incorrect, this was not the Royal Sea Cliffs fault but the Outrigger corporate reservations department. The lovely lady at the front desk was extremely sympathetic and very helpful and got us booked in to a room. The room was nicely set out,...

2Thank Trevor H
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha, and thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor, We are very pleased to hear that you had such a perfect stay on Hawaii Island. It is very unfortunate that you had problems related to your reservations and we are glad that our staff could assist in straightening things out. Four days is not nearly long enough to enjoy our...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Our first stop on our Hawaiian vacation was in Kailua-Kona. We booked in for 2 nights through the hotel website and managed to score a crazy deal: $145 a night for a 2-bedroom oceanview unit. I thought this was too good to be true, but we were floored when we walked into the room. The unit we had, 702, was...

Thank Kim P
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for the great comments about Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff! We try to provide a cost effective yet great vacation experience for those traveling to Kailua Kona. Our units are very large and can accommodate up to six people. Many units also have wonderful ocean views. We are pleased that you had what sounds like a great...

Merimbula, Australia
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We arrived in Kona after 4 days in Maui where we had a great time. Flight from Maui was in a 12 seater, great pilot. Scary at first but it was my first trip in such a small plane but it was excellent, we had good weather which helped but the pilot did a a great job. Took about 45...

1Thank Pink60
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear of your great experience at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff and on Hawaii Island! This truly is an island that deserves a more lengthy stay. There are an infinite number of sights to see and activities to take part in that are unique to our island. We hope that...

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Just south of Kailua Kona, this condo made for a very nice vacation for the two of us. Our condo came with full kitchen, living room/dining room, laundry, and balcony. While technically a "garden view," we could see the ocean from our balcony, and ate breakfast out there every morning. The quarters were very roomy. We especially enjoyed the kitchen,...

1Thank Jonathan W
Outrigger R, Manager at Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff, responded to this review

Aloha and thank you for your comments! We try very hard to provide a cost effective, yet great vacation experience for our guests. Most vacation rentals do not have housekeeping services available but we are pleased to be able to provide service should it be required during your stay. We are glad that you had a great time in Kailua...

301 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (239)
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Pool/Beach Area (24)
View from Room (25)
Room/Suite (57)
Dining (2)
Bathroom (4)
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (62)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (37)
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Bathroom (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
2.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
45.3 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.5 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.5 km away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
579 reviews
6.3 km away
Kanaloa at Kona
Kanaloa at Kona
#9 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff

Address: 75-6040 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Price Range: €142 - €298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Vacatia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff Hawaii/Kailua-Kona
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Orange County, CA

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request ocean view”
bikertrash2007, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I would definitely ask for an Outfigger room.”
Flipket, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a unit facing the ocean on the 1st floor. Our is #104.”
JoJo_W1947, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It is worth asking for a room with sea view.”
Vacationlovers1781, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from room 509....don't know why they haven't updated this one.”
TomandJerrilynn, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates