We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
600 St Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-3412
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$276
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$307
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/02/23
Trip.com
US$241
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Agoda.comUS$276
Vio.comUS$241
StayForLong
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (270)
Room & Suite (181)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#29 of 177 hotels in New Orleans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on the historic St. Charles Streetcar line and is adjacent to Lafayette Square. All rooms have new bedding and the hotel is pet-friendly.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1001Reviews24Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 515
  • 334
  • 92
  • 30
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
walkerleah606 wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
We booked a room with a balcony and the balcony was so dirty and unsafe (no railings whatsoever, only a 2 foot concrete wall, we never opened the door. Our room was on the6th floor and we were told is was a Penthouse room and would have to use 2 different elevators to get to our room—inconvienent because it was not a Penthouse—it didnt even have a microwave. The foyer of the hotel was very small and always had at least 3-5 ladies standing right inside the door or sitting on the steps between the elevators—unusual. My daughter and I needed some water to drink so we stepped inside the bar—we were rudly told that they didnt open until 5pm—it was 4:45. So we went back at 5:05 again asking for water and were rudly told again by the same rudness that they didnt open until 5:30! The vending machines she told us to use were on the 2nd floor and were broken… I won’t go into detail about the about the yelling and fighting going on next door, or the slamming stairway door that went on till way past midnight and started again at 6:30… We were very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: The young gentleman at the front dest was very nice.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
edscissorhands wrote a review Nov 2022
Houma, Louisiana12 contributions3 helpful votes
Booked and paid for half my stay in August 2022 for a Nov 20, 2022 stay. Advertised full refund before 72 hours from stay. However, had to cancel on November 2nd, and hotel is refusing a refund. Let’s see, November 2nd…18 days before…I think thats over 72 hours. So I have no reservation, and they took my money anyway. Well, at least they’ll get some free reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Only book if you have money to burn should your plans change. Don’t trust yheir advertisements.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Reviews Manager, Owner at The Lafayette by LuxUrban
Responded 14 Dec 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, and we sincerely apologize for the negative experience. Please contact us at review@luxurbanhotels.com to help with any unresolved refund issues you may have had so that we can correct this error immediately. As we work to improve the quality of services we offer, we certainly hope you will give us an opportunity to turn this negative experience around for you. Sincerely, Reviews Team Management
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LenieVirginia wrote a review Oct 2022
Norfolk, Virginia70 contributions
We were there for the Crescent City Blues Festival and loved the location of the hotel. The folks that served us were all pleasant and very helpful. Everyone had smiles and showed the spirit of New Orleans. We did some sightseeing before and after festival and used the St Charles Street Car right outside the front door to go uptown. It was an easy walk to French Quarter and to the Riverfront.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: We had room facing the road- one could here the Street Car. It didn’t bother me but my bother...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestExperience504, Guest Relations Manager at The Lafayette by LuxUrban
Responded 24 Oct 2022
We are so glad you enjoyed our location! Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your rating and review! We hope to welcome you back to our historic New Orleans hotel—soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AZdryheat wrote a review Jul 2022
Phoenix, Arizona57 contributions17 helpful votes
The location is great; a 3 block walk to the World War 2 Museum, a 2 block walk to Canal Street. The room was excellent, very comfortable bed, a balcony, large bathroom, mini refrigerator. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a trolley stop right across the street. We look forward to staying in this hotel again on our next visit to New Orleans.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestExperience504, Guest Relations Manager at The Lafayette by LuxUrban
Responded 21 Jul 2022
Thank you for choosing our historic boutique hotel. We’re happy you enjoyed your time with us in New Orleans, and appreciate your feedback about our location, staff service, and accommodations. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LYNDSAY L wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
From the moment of arrival, Paul, who was off the clock when I checked out, took great care of us. He checked us in early, accommodated our requests and helped make our stay nice. Kudos to him for his supreme customer service! The hotel is a boutique hotel. Not a lot of bells and whistles, but it's clean and quiet. It's a historic/old hotel that has been well maintained and renovated.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestExperience504, Guest Relations Manager at The Lafayette by LuxUrban
Responded 5 Jul 2022
Thank you for reaching out. We appreciate the feedback for our hotel and especially our staff. We will be sure to pass on the kind words to Paul, and we can't wait to welcome you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amber W wrote a review May 2022
4 contributions
I booked through booking.com. my friend says she kicks in her sleep so I need to change a single King to a double bed REAL QUICK. I'm supposed to make the changes through booking.com but their giving me the run around. Not helping at all. Megan at the front desk, like a BOSS, bushes a few buttons and saves my weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestExperience504, Guest Relations Manager at The Lafayette by LuxUrban
Responded 31 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay and your special mention of Megan. We truly have an amazing team that strives to exceed the expectation of our guests. We were very happy to read your wonderful comments. We hope you are able to come back and stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bren H wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Having gone to New Orleans on the spur of the moment, I had not arranged hotel bookings. I was popping into hotels left and right on St. Charles Avenue. When entering Lafayette Hotel I was immediately welcomed by the concierge, Paul. I explained my predicament...(I can fly free but flying standby precludes any firm hotel reservations). Paul immediately seized the opportunity to call his associate hotels to see if they had rooms available. His charming and warm demeanor will get him far in this world of "to each his own". Thank you Paul, for your help, and next time I come to Nola, I am booking a reservation at the Lafayette.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestExperience504, Guest Relations Manager at The Lafayette by LuxUrban
Responded 24 May 2022
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay and your special mention of Paul - we think he's pretty special too. We truly have an amazing team that strives to exceed the expectation of our guests. We were very happy to read your wonderful comments. We hope you are able to come back and stay with us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scott F wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
A beautiful hotel in a great central location. While the hotel is very nice the real standout for us was our experience with the staff. The hotel appears to be working through the same staffing problems that are everywhere now. In spite of this the people working here went out of there way to accommodate us, and that is the reason we will return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestExperience504, Guest Relations Manager at The Lafayette by LuxUrban
Responded 23 May 2022
Hi Scott, Thank you for connecting with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a great experience with our wonderful staff. We look forward to your next visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mariah L wrote a review May 2022
Saint Louis, Missouri11 contributions
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Lafayette. I booked the Queen Petite Suite which was perfect for a solo traveler and despite the older design of the building, all of my basic needs were met. The staff was super friendly and helpful (especially Paul and an older gentleman who worked at the very front - forgot his name, sorry!) and the highest-selling point is absolutely the convenient location in the safer and quieter Central Business District. I was able to walk to hotspots in the French Quarter earlier in the day, and thanks to the convenience of the St. Charles streetcar immediately in front of the hotel, I could also ride it the opposite direction to the Garden District. I would definitely consider booking here again the next time I visit the city!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestExperience504, Guest Relations Manager at The Lafayette by LuxUrban
Responded 23 May 2022
Thank you for choosing our historic hotel and taking the time to share your feedback, we appreciate your kind words about our accommodations and service - staff members like Paul work hard to ensure great guest experiences happen every day. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to New Orleans.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen C wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Located next to Lafayette Park with a streetcar stop right in front, makes this hotel an ideal place to stay for visit to New Orleans. It is within walking distance to many great cafes and restaurants. Our room is not spacious but clean and comfortable with a feel of being recently updated. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only negative was the Wi-Fi. It is almost non-existent. Would definitely consider staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestExperience504, Guest Relations Manager at The Lafayette by LuxUrban
Responded 19 May 2022
Hi Stephen, Thank you for choosing our historic hotel for your New Orleans stay. We appreciate your rating and review and look forward to welcoming you for your next New Orleans visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$150 - US$350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lafayette new orleans
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansArts District / Warehouse District / Central Business District / Warehouse/Central Business District
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LAFAYETTE BY LUXURBAN - UPDATED 2023 Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lafayette by LuxUrban
Which popular attractions are close to The Lafayette by LuxUrban?
Nearby attractions include Clue Carre - New Orleans' First Live Escape Game (0.4 km), Escape My Room (0.3 km), and Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lafayette by LuxUrban?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a concierge.
What food & drink options are available at The Lafayette by LuxUrban?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lafayette by LuxUrban?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lafayette by LuxUrban?
Conveniently located restaurants include St. James Cheese Company, Rouses, and Commerce Restaurant.
Is The Lafayette by LuxUrban located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of New Orleans.
Are pets allowed at The Lafayette by LuxUrban?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lafayette by LuxUrban?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hermann-Grima House (1.1 km), Longue Vue House and Gardens (6.0 km), and Beauregard-Keyes House (1.8 km).
Is The Lafayette by LuxUrban accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.