We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

La Galerie Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
La Galerie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for La Galerie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 26: English reviews
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upon arrival for a two night stay, the front desk clerk knowingly assigned me room 405 which had no water pressure in the shower and a broken tv. Room switch occurred for second night and a forty dollar credit was issued upon checkout, but then they double charged me for parking because of the room switch fiasco. That was credited... More 

Helpful?
Thank CityMonkeyLa
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

CityMonkeyLa, We appreciate you for taking the time to review us. We put our guest experience first and you informing us of aspects that we can improve is a big help. Thank you, Larry Williams More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I agree with several recent reviews of this property...great location for walking towards any direction of the downtown area. However, the WORSE location if you plan to sleep through the night. The rooms on the backside have the pleasure of the Marriott traffic; deliveries all through the night, trash service at approximately 3:30 am, plus the constant fighting of the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn Y
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn Y, Thank you for letting us know of the issues encountered during your stay. We look forward to being able to better our hotel because of your feedback. Best, Larry Williams More 

Fremont, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I stayed Wed Oct 19 and checked out Fri Oct 21, 2016. I vacation in NOLA every October and stay in a different hotel in The Quarter with every visit. I was very excited for this hotel due to location of facing the Mississippi and the Riverwalk. When checked in I asked my usual questions of staff about hotel and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa O
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Teresa O, I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to review your experience at La Galerie. We take all guest concerns seriously and really appreciate you letting us know. We hope that you give us a chance to redeem your past experience with us. Sincerely, Larry Williams More 

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Houston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a great location. Seriously in walking distance of everything in every direction. The rooms were clean, the beds were big and comfortable. The room gets cool enough for the hot weather of the south. The receptionist were nice and friendly, especially with intoxicated guests. Good couple of night stay, thanks!

Helpful?
1 Thank Shampizzy25
Management response:

Shampizzy25, thank you very much for your feedback, we are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you the next time you venture to the big easy. More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

This was a boutique hotel, very nice. Exposed brick in the rooms, it did have a little bit of a musty old smell to it, but I would stay here again. It was very closed to the French Quarter and Harrahs.

Helpful?
1 Thank cangel1307
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Although it's situated nicely on Decatur and just a short walk to Jax Sq, the CBD and Bourbon, this didn't knock my socks off. Bathroom was tiny and the cab drivers yelling at each other in the street behind the hotel (right under our window) at 5am didn't exactly sream "quaint & cozy". The valet service was questionable at best... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrod A
Management response:

Thank you Sherrod A for taking the time out to leave us some feedback. I am happy to see that the hotel was located conveniently enough for you to move around with no hassle. We are located in the French quarter and it can be nosey depending on what's going on in the city. I also do want to apologize... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Sure, the lobby is lovely, but the rooms are not so. It's an old building, the corridors smell musty, and the rooms are...well, odd. Some would call them charming. Power points in useless locations (behind the bed etc). After two nights with cool to tepid water I was upgraded to a different room, which had a more cramped bathroom, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh K
Management response:

I am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us and we were unable to satisfy your needs. We did experience an issue with the water, which has now been resolved. I hope that you will consider allowing us to make up for all your troubles. Sincerely, Nicole More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The hotel is very well located in the french district. From there it's possible to go almost anywhere by foot. The rooms are very clean, quite large and nicely decorated. The only issue is the noise coming from the street, but I guess it's called being in a busy district. The staff is nice and helpful, especially Jonquil who took... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank itsnoway
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Itsnoway, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. The French Quarter is very busy, especially over the weekends. Thank you fir understanding that. Glad to hear that our staff was able to go the extra step in assisting you. We hope to see you again soon. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The girl with the super short hair was extremely rude when we had called down to tell her the water plumbing in our room does not work. Hours later we are still waiting for some help. We called down again to ask just in case she forgot about us, she said with a really rude attitude how she's the only... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lolaroxy L
Management response:

Miss Rosanne, I first want to thank you for choosing to stay with us on your venture to New Orleans. I am so sorry to hear about all the issues you had when you stayed with us. Hospitality and service is very important and we strive for that everyday for each one of our guests. The response that you received... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We booked this hotel for 2 a day stay 2 months in advance. On our reservation it said, "Room guaranteed for late arrivals." We were traveling from Florida with 16 month old twins, a 3 year old, and a 12 year old. We had to make more stops on our travel due to all of our young children and also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clay L
lwilliams561, General Manager at La Galerie Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clay L, I am very sorry to hear of your experience when you arrived at La Galerie. Travelling with 3 little ones is a definite challenge. I can barely make it to my 18 month old's nursery before he is ready to get out of the car. Please email me so that I can your reservation, lwilliams@nolahotelgroup.com. Thank you... More 

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#43 of 161 in New Orleans
1,486 reviews
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#72 of 161 in New Orleans
3,081 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about La Galerie Hotel

Address: 131 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Chateau Dupre Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range: €96 - €332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Galerie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your La Galerie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Dupre New Orleans
Hotel Chateau Dupre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Galerie Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Prairieville, Louisiana
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Cincinnati, Ohio

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from La Galerie Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask if rooms are on backside, then look elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles christinad48, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't accept room 405 unless you want no water pressure and a broken tv!”
 of 5 bubbles CityMonkeyLa, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with other people already on that floor, otherwise you won't have hot water.”
 of 5 bubbles 12AshleighK, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not take a room at the back or side of the hotel. The noises outside are deafening and also start very early in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles Onion2, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay