We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Galerie Hotel

Expedia.comUS$197*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
La Galerie Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 211: English reviews
Start your review of La Galerie Hotel
 Click to rate
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I recently visited New Orleans to celebrate my Aunts 70th birthday. We decided to travel late min and we booked a room at La Galerie. This hotel went beyond my expectations. I love the decor, the rustic look, the friendly staff. The art museum in the lobby was a beautiful experience for me. Also the gift bag...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angel_Love23
Management response:

Good morning, Thank you for writing a great review. We are happy that you enjoyed our room and our location. We hope you guys come back and stay with us on your next visit to Nola!! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager, Chaz.

Colorado
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here for spring break and I loved it. The room rate was very good and the staff was excellent. We received a welcome bag with water and snacks when we arrived at our room. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to Jackson Square and 5 minutes to Bourbon Street. If you're looking for a good deal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saebr18
Management response:

Good morning, Thank you for writing a great review. We are happy that you enjoyed our room and our location. We hope you guys come back and stay with us on your next visit to Nola!! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager, Chaz.

Santa Monica, California
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

At first when I checked into this hotel I was thrilled. The location was great, and the front desk manager Chaz updated me to a king bed. Upon checking into my room, I found a nice bed, a modern bathroom, and an overall clean environment. I'm not one to complain about little things in hotels so at first I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Misha S
Management response:

Good morning Misha , Thank you for the feedback. I just want to start off my saying that I am extremely sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay with us. Please let me know if you have an other further questions in regards to the issues acquired during your stay. My number is 5045927700. Sincerely, Chaz.

Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Chaz was amazing, He made our check in fast and accomodating. We loved the history, perfections and imperfections . Perfect location . I chose this place initially for the history, and its rich with history, smaller room but ,the four of us (2 parents 2 /18yr olds)had an amazing experience. We will be back. I would love a re-play. Thanks...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrishaw2017
Management response:

Good afternoon Patrisha, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write an amazing review. We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and that everything was superb for you. We cant wait to you guys come back and visit us again. See you soon!!! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager, Chaz.

Youngsville, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly staff, despite renovation issues, we had a pleasant stay. They have a lot of "updating" to do and the beds were not as comfortable as other hotel beds, but for the most part, this was a great hotel. The location is absolutely perfect!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
Management response:

Good morning Wendy, Thank you for writing a great review. We are happy that you enjoyed our room and our location. We hope you guys come back and stay with us on your next visit to Nola!! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager, Chaz.

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room itself was clean. The bathroom however was a different story the faucet was broken in the bathtub and ran constantly non-stop the entire time we were there so that's all you could hear at night. Hunter 2nd night there the entire room smells like marijuana it was coming through the air conditioning vents and there was no way...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joyce A
Management response:

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. The French Quarter is very busy, especially over the weekends. Thank you for understanding that. Glad to hear that our staff was able to go the extra step in assisting you. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Front Desk Manager, Chaz

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked here after finding it via an internet search for hotels in the French Quarter. It turned out to be a wonderful decision; the staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and the rooms were comfortable and well put together.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LHelding
Management response:

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time out to write a wonderful review. We are pleased to see that you loved our location and that you would come back and stay with us. We will see you guys soon! Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager, Chaz.

Kidlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were great, the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in! The location was perfect for what we wanted from our stay in New Orleans and the staff were fun and friendly. There was nothing negative about this hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tracyleighx
Management response:

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time out to write a wonderful review. We are pleased to see that you loved our location and that you would come back and stay with us. We will see you guys soon! Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager, Chaz.

Baton Rouge
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything was excellent, except for check in. When I booked the room there were no instructions given about when I had to check in. I booked the hotel at 6PM, while at a wedding, and we did not leave the wedding festivities till 2 AM, I was charged then told we couldn't have our room. Eventually they got our room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nicole F
Management response:

Good afternoon Nicole, Thank you for taking the time out to write a wonderful review. We are pleased to see that you loved our location and that you would come back and stay with us. We will see you guys soon! Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager, Chaz.

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

La Galerie was so much better than the reviews I had read suggested. Lovely big double room. Very clean. There was a safe. Daily housekeeping. The bed was a bit sloping, but very comfortable. A couple of tiny issues that a couple of sockets didn't work (was no big deal as there were others), the main light wasn't working (again...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Soo00z
Management response:

Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time out to write a wonderful review. We are pleased to see that you loved our location and that you would come back and stay with us. We will see you guys soon! Have a great day! Sincerely, Front Desk Manager, Chaz.

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#54 of 162 in New Orleans
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#69 of 162 in New Orleans
3,346 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
The Westin New Orleans Canal Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about La Galerie Hotel

Address: 131 Decatur St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2313 (Formerly Chateau Dupre Hotel)
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range: €108 - €285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Galerie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Galerie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Dupre New Orleans
Hotel Chateau Dupre
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Galerie Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from La Galerie Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do NOT stay in a room facing the Marriott parking lot.”
mishas2013, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors and on the Front of the Hotel”
vickih236, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A room away from the elevators”
MichelleM692, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I said no view I had with my room, but was on the back side, and Decatur street can be very noisy at night..”
muskie999, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Second Floor had LOTS of hot water--Room 2014. Looks over the alley”
mwpyle, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$197* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$197
TravelocityUS$197
Orbitz.comUS$197
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates