We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

India House Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
India House Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 340: English reviews
Start your review of India House Hostel
 Click to rate
Damme, Germany
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here during a stopover on business trip. Booked a private room with private bathroom for approximately 60,-$ per night. Whole area looks a little dodgy and worn out, also the hostel is a little bit trailer park. But what to expect for that price? I found a very clean room with also very clean bathroom. I could store my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DR_Chrischi
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We definitely aim to give a value for the price. We also appreciate everyone who stays with us.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here during Mardi Gras with a few of my friends and I was not disappointed. I never am when I come here! This place is seriously one of the best things about coming to New Orleans. They have all options, private rooms, female dorms, male dorms and co-ed. I usually opt for female or private but I've stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophia L
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

We can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a great reviews for us!

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked a private room with shared bath and it was $99 for 2 nights, so not cheap. I wouldn't mind the price but it has the worst facility ever. No towels provided, no kettle for hot water, no drinking water. The place is just filthy, the room is so old and dirty and tiny hardly any space to walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F00die_hard
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at India House. Our reception is open 24 hours and we can fix most problems if they get reported to us. $45 dollars plus tax a night is about the most inexpensive private accommodation in town at this time so it's basic, but private. The beds are designed to accommodate both couples and just...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great vibes. Super friendly staff and manager. The staff group is pretty cool. Great breakfast & dinner, prices are reasonable, too! FREE coffee & tea available 24/7. Vending machines with snacks, drinks, & misc items you may have forgotten. THERES A POOL. I find that amazing. Washers & dryers. The cleaning ladies are sweet and do a fantastic job every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Victoria N
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write this great review for us!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This really is one of the few terrible hostels I've stayed. It's ran by kids who have no clue how to run a hostel. They overbook and basically leave people stranded in the middle of the night with no place to stay because of their incompetence. Unfortunately they have no competition in terms of hostels as there aren't any, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jemma B
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

We apologize for the fact that you were given an 8 bed dorm when you booked a 6 bed dorm. Our 24 hour reception is run by young students and travellers who want to stay in New Orleans for a while. They work in exchange for free accomodations. They are not professional full time receptionists like you would find in...

Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last year I was travelling by myself in New Orleans (Jazz Fest!) and stayed at the lovely and quirky India House Hostel. Staff were super friendly, helpful and down to earth and the whole place exudes an artsy, quirky, lived-in charm, with amazing paintings covering most surfaces, a great backyard with space for concerts, cookouts and a sizeable pool for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reka S
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 7 February 2017

My husband and I stayed at India House Hostel and were quite impressed. The hostel is housed in a lovely old building with lots of lovely old woodwork. There are several community spaces, a communal kitchen, warm water in the bathroom. (They even have a pool!) The staff was really nice too. What more could you ask for?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank virginiafgreen
travelgoa_9, Public Relations Manager at India House Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We do try to give our hostel that "old" New Orleans feel. We believe our buildings and property have lots of character. It is important to us to make everyone feel at home and appreciated when they stay with us. Again, thank you for your lovely response.

Panama City, Panama
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

India House is an okay hostel, the facilities are not the newest or cleanest but for what you are paying I think it's fair. I didn't spent that much time in the hostel but I met great people there, location is good walking distance supermarkets, pharmacy and rest/bars. People told me to be careful in that area but I walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlehLennox
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

The hostel is really cool and the location is great. Access to the city is really easy and cheap with public transportation. It could be a little cleaner and the breakfast is pretty expensive. The staff members are really friendly but a little bit alternative like the entire hostel. I would come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Reviewed 14 November 2016

The hostel is on par with all other hostels in terms of beds, showers, toilets, etc. I did stay in a private room with a private shower one evening and it was clean. You are able to book tours from the main desk in the hostel, they have reasonably priced meals for breakfast and supper. Corner store is just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross H

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#108 of 162 in New Orleans
135 reviews
Auberge NOLA Hostel
#1 of 33 in New Orleans
206 reviews
Mid-City
Site 61 Hostel
Site 61 Hostel
#6 of 33 in New Orleans
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
NOLA Jazz House
NOLA Jazz House
#10 of 33 in New Orleans
113 reviews
French Quarter
IHSP French Quarter House
IHSP French Quarter House
#7 of 33 in New Orleans
61 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel is located near the corner of 3200 Canal St. and South Lopez St., in the Mid-City area of New Orleans. The streetcar runs along Canal St. to the French Quarter. It is only a ten minute walk to JazzFest and Voodoo Fest in City Park. There are male, female and mixed dorms, as well as private rooms available. Spacious comfortable common areas, a fully equipped kitchen with a rear courtyard, a swimming pool, a stage and full breakfast and cheap evening meals cooked daily. India House is a hostel, not a hotel so please be aware of that before booking. We provide inexpensive, sociable accommodation usually dormitory style with shared bathrooms and communal facilities. We do have Private en suite rooms available as well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about India House Hostel

Address: 124 S Lopez St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6214
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Price Range: €21 - €50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your India House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
India House Hotel New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from India House Hostel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from India House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Depends what YOU want- dorm or private! Just plan ahead. Bathrooms are shared. So PRE BOOK for a private bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles KortneeWithak, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“stay away from the common area”
 of 5 bubbles jclove49, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bunks are $20/night on average, private rooms available.”
 of 5 bubbles 35juliannam, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get one away from the main/common areas.”
 of 5 bubbles treadmill360, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The single rooms were about $60/day with lower prices for shared accomodations.”
 of 5 bubbles Y3358KOrichardp, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5