We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Vincent's Guest House

Save
Share
Traveller (341)
Room & Suite (209)
Pool & Beach (27)
Overview
1507 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-4723 See on map
AMENITIES
Wifi
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed
Meeting Rooms
Free Parking
2 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for St. Vincent's Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
83
111
68
67
208
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
83
111
68
67
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden districtfew blocksbackpackersstreetcaruptown
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
321 - 325 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I stayed at St. Vincent's in April and loved the rich history, cleanliness and friendly staff. I enjoyed the pool too! II'll go back again when I visit New Orleans next year.

Thank shill514
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My wife and I are adventurous travelers always looking for a good deal. My wife booked St. Vincent's for our weekend in New Orleans. First mistake is we arrived late, tired, and hungry....three keys to making a bad decision. We stayed one night and checked...More

1  Thank Anna C
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My best friend and I travel often to New Orleans, we have stayed at St. Vincents Guest House often... (about 30 times) Our experience in the past has been fun, although we did sacrifice phones and other amenities the PRIOR staff made up for with...More

3  Thank princessangela
Response from TheStVincent, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest HouseResponded 2 May 2011

We have no record of this guest bringing any complaints to our staff, and some of the claims made in this review are demonstrably false. We encourage our guests to bring their concerns to the attention of our staff during their stay with us, rather...More

Reviewed 14 April 2011

We aren't picky people, but given the chance, we would have vacated our room as soon as we saw it. The sign in the lobby that read, "NO REFUNDS UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES" immediately came to mind.... unfortunately, we had just paid for 5 nights. The...More

1  Thank splice35mm
Response from TheStVincent, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest HouseResponded 2 May 2011

We cater to clientele who appreciate the historic aspect of central New Orleans over the standardized steel and glass rooms of national hotel chains, and who also enjoy our neighborly rates. And we’re eager to improve wherever possible, so please inform us if you have...More

Reviewed 14 April 2011

The building looks nice, but that's about it. We had booked a two-person room, but when we first came, there had been some kind of flood, so we had to stay in the dorm for two nights (paying more for it! and no apologies!)... I...More

1  Thank houshuang
Response from TheStVincent, General Manager at St. Vincent's Guest HouseResponded 2 May 2011

We had a broken water pipe during the French Quarter Festival, and we arranged alternative accommodations at a local hotel for those guests whose reservations were affected. Some chose to stay in our dorms, which are not private, but which are cheaper than our rooms....More

View more reviews
About
Description
St. Vincent Guest House is Under New Management!!! As of December 1, 2013 the guest house will be operated under a new management team that is dedicated to improving both the aesthetics and overall condition of ...More the entire establishment. Steps are being taken to bring this beautiful and historical building to its fullest potential and offer our guests a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. St. Vincent's is not a full service hotel, it is more of hostel/quaint budget hotel that is both economical and located in one of the best areas in the city of New Orleans (the Lower Garden District). First opened in 1861 as a orphanage, the building has a distinct and colorful history that is worth exploring. The lobby is adorned with photos that reflect the history and show the building's usage over the last 100+ years. Each room has an individual decor and design scape that will make you feel as though you are walking into an era of Nola history gone by... The grounds are well kept and offer several areas for outdoor seating for morning coffee, an evening cigar or just great conversations... Our staff have been trained and are dedicated to providing each guest with the highest level of customer services with courtesy and a smile. Although there are not a great deal of amenities available, every guest will find that the Guest House offers a tremendous value for the price. We have both private sleeping rooms as well as dormitories available. There have been several negative reviews that have been posted in the past and those reviews have been duly noted and taken into consideration for action as we move towards improvements... Likewise, there have been several positive reviews from guests who have enjoyed their stay and the experience at the Guest House; and for that we are thankful! We look forward to this new era at St. Vincent's and welcome each and every guest with open arms... Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Air Conditioning
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel class
Number of rooms
70
Price range
US$101 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
,
St Vincents Hotel
,
St Vincents New Orleans
,
St Vincent Guest House
Location
United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District / Lower Garden District
Hotel class
Number of rooms
70
Price range
US$101 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
St. Vincent`s Guest House Hotel New Orleans
,
St Vincents Hotel
,
St Vincents New Orleans
,
St Vincent Guest House
Location
United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District / Lower Garden District
Photos
Traveller (341)
Room & Suite (209)
Pool & Beach (27)
Dining (3)
Amenities (8)
Nearby
Garden District
Head to the Garden District for the full-on New
Orleans experience replete with quaintly clanking
streetcars, proudly grandiose antebellum mansions,
picture perfect avenues lined with live oaks loaded
down with Spanish moss, and a wealth of beautiful
churches and many more architectural marvels. Even a
brief excursion here makes plain why it’s called the
Garden District. So, when you visit be sure to give
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 169 hotels in New Orleans
Prytania Oaks Hotel
243 reviews
.40 km away
Prytania Park
846 reviews
.46 km away
Henry Howard Hotel
326 reviews
.56 km away
Historic Streetcar Inn
756 reviews
.60 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,104 restaurants in New Orleans
Surrey's Juice Bar
700 reviews
.20 km away
Juan's Flying Burrito
459 reviews
.44 km away
Lilly's CAFE
109 reviews
.25 km away
Mojo Coffee House
127 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,116 attractions in New Orleans
St. Alphonsus
10 reviews
.50 km away
RHINO Gallery
10 reviews
.48 km away
Coliseum Square Park
5 reviews
.25 km away
Two Chicks Walking Tours
2,269 reviews
.52 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mo11970
19 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from MC C | Reviewed this property |
My room, also had a very good AC. I had to adjust it because cooled so well.
0
Votes
mo11970
19 October 2017|
Answer
Response from MC C | Reviewed this property |
good question. My first thought would be no, but maybe for guest staying short-term they may have one available.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"comfortable beds"
Read review
"Curtains are really sheer on all windows, our room faced the courtyard and you could see people walking by..."
Read review
"stay away from this hotel"
Read review
"If you're going in the winter ask for a space heater right away - they only have a few."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing