Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels

Would you sit on this!?
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#159 of 173 hotels in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Quaint

Location

1006 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2704
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Louis Armstrong Intl Airport
19.5 km
See all flights
8Reviews2Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Holly C wrote a review May 2024
Calgary, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Beware! You may not get what you paid for! We booked and paid in full for a Superior Room several months in advance. This was not the room type we were given. There was no mention that the room type was changed. No explanation, no apology, no attempt to smooth things over, no offer of alternate accommodation. Therefore I believe they just hoped I wouldn't realize that I was being ripped off. Front Desk staff confirmed this was the lesser room type, a Deluxe Room although it bore no resemblance to the "Deluxe" room pictured on their website. The floor was so slanted you had to to walk on an angle to go in a straight line, the bathroom fixtures appeared to have been installed decades ago and the mattress hung over the edge of whatever was underneath. Multiple requests to the front desk over 3 days brought no response from management until I threatened escalation. At last the difference in room rates was refunded. The refund was the absolute minimum that could have been done and did nothing to assuage the disappointment of a spoiled vacation. Lastly, a followup email directly to the general manager brought no response.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from michael macera, General Manager at Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels
Responded 14 Jun 2024
We are sorry to see that your stay with us was not satisfactory and up to our standards. I will forward your notes along. We hope you enjoyed New Orleans, and we wish you safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chino36 wrote a review Aug 2023
New York City, New York
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall the hotel is clean. Staffs are friendly and helpful. Small boutique hotel. Nice courtyard. Walking distance from all the excitement of the French quarter. Don’t stay on the first floor because you will hear everyone coming back at 2am drunk. It happen to us. I stay in room 1 and the people coming back from upstairs was loud, woke me up and for over an hour dropping everything on the floor above. Few other things, bathroom door is broken, one of the shower glass door is missing, and the water pressure is very low. Bathroom lights can’t be turned off.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don’t stay on the 1st floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from michael macera, General Manager at Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels
Responded 18 Sept 2023
We appreciate your feedback, visit us again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TravelWesty wrote a review Apr 2024
Auckland, New Zealand
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible service and massively overpriced room with an unusable balcony. The bathroom was disgusting and the staff was useless. I didn't trust the cleaning crew to come into my room once I saw the condition when I arrived.

Check out the shot of the chair in my room: Peeling vinyl you couldn't give away to a Goodwill.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Deville, Marketing at Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels
Responded 22 Apr 2024
We are sorry to see that your stay with us was not satisfactory and up to our standards. I will forward your notes along. We hope you enjoyed New Orleans, and we wish you safe travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bret S wrote a review Feb 2024
Atlanta, Georgia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we reserved, we asked for a room with 2 beds and a 2nd floor balcony on Royale. Instead, we got a room with 1 bed. They said they would fix it but didn't. They said they'd get cots for our kids but didn't. They said they would fix the A.C. that didn't work, but didn't. So, I slept on the floor in the heat. You can get a better room and better service in a nicer hotel just blocks away. You should do that.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't stay here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from michael macera, General Manager at Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels
Responded 20 Feb 2024
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience as a guest of our property. I am sorry to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations, especially as it relates to the newly renovated hotel. We take all complaints seriously and will follow-up on any issues listed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grizelle B wrote a review Apr 2023
Pembroke Pines, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at The Hotel Royal for 3 nights in April. The rooms were so cozy. The staff was amazing! Jasmine greeted us every morning. She is so sweet and helpful! She gave us great recommendations about breakfast spots in the area. The two young men who helped us with security and valet were so welcoming. They all honestly worked above and beyond to assist us the whole time we were there. It was an overall great experience, and we will be back to Hotel Royal! I recommend this hotel when you're visiting New Orleans and want to be a part of the French Quarters history and excitement.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from michael macera, General Manager at Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels
Responded 18 Sept 2023
We are happy you enjoyed your stay, please visit us again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry R wrote a review Sept 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean and wonderful staff. Walking distance to all in French quarters. The restaurant recommended were great. The pillows and bed were soft and comfy. No car needed as u are close to town and near all
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Deville, Marketing at Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels
Responded 9 Jan 2024
Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review. It was a pleasure to host you, we look forward to welcoming you back, and we hope you enjoyed New Orleans!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Crystal K wrote a review Nov 2023
Rock Hill, South Carolina
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The ceiling had a leak from the upstairs bathroom in R5. We were moved to a different room only to have to watch where we placed our feet on the wooden floor that was falling through. The air filter was black and the ceiling fans had dust on them. No hot water. The floor was dirty. The bathtub had a crack in it. The website stated a bottle of complimentary water. We never had any. We had to keep refilling our water bottle constantly. Our trip was cut short as my husband became sick (later diagnosed with pneumonia) and became sick the next day with URI (Upper Respiratory Infection). Here it is a week later after we left and we're still fighting our sickness off.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from michael macera, General Manager at Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels
Responded 20 Feb 2024
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience as a guest of our property. I am sorry to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations, especially as it relates to the newly renovated hotel. We take all complaints seriously and will follow-up on any issues listed.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anaël wrote a review May 2023
Paris, France
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Situé sur le rue Royale, l'hôtel jouit d'une localisation idéale pour flâner dans le cœur de la "Big Easy, depuis la célèbre Jackson Square et l'extraordinaire Bourbon Street, ou encore le Café du Monde où afflue une foule de gourmands en quête d'un beignet encore tout chaud ! Et si jamais vous avez envie de pousser la visite un peu plus loin, l'hôtel est situé à une quinzaine de minutes à pied de Canal Street où circule le "cable car" qui pourra vous emmener vers Garden District.

Mon check-in s'est extrêmement bien passé et a été très rapide. De manière générale, tout le personnel, à l'accueil comme ailleurs dans l'hôtel, a toujours été très agréable et souriant durant mon séjour de 4 nuits sur place dans la chambre numéro 8 d'où je pouvais apercevoir le toit de la cathédrale-basilique Saint-Louis, roi de France.

Les chambres sont "petites" pour les standards américains mais l'immeuble dans lequel est situé l'hôtel est ancien. Avec le charme et les petits défauts que cela comporte. Attention, il y a parfois pas mal de marches pour accéder à sa chambre, ce qui peut rebuter les personnes fragiles et/ou âgées, ou encore les familles avec de très jeunes enfants.

La petite cour située au milieu des chambres est assez bruyante avec une machine à glaçons qui ne s'arrête quasiment jamais. Attention, l'hôtel ne propose pas de service de restauration dans ses murs.

Si je devais revenir à la Nouvelle-Orléans, je choisirais sans hésiter l'hôtel Royal !
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Immeuble ancien. Demandez les étagères supérieurs... si les marches ne vous font pas peur !
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chris Deville, Marketing at Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels
Responded 26 Sept 2023
Merci beaucoup pour cette merveilleuse critique. Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour parmi nous. Nous sommes impatients de vous accueillir à nouveau lors de votre prochain voyage à la Nouvelle-Orléans.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chuck M asked a question Oct 2023
Andalusia, Alabama14 contributions14 helpful votes
Where is the parking located?
Answer from chino36
New York City, New York159 contributions16 helpful votes
The parking is located about 1/2 block down on St. Philip st. Its safe. I park there all the time.
CMC asked a question Aug 2023
Herne Bay, United Kingdom1,050 contribution211 helpful votes
Hello, does this hotel have any rooms with twin beds? Thank you.
Bret S wrote a tip Feb 2024
Atlanta, Georgia18 contributions20 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay here."
Read full review
chino36 wrote a tip Aug 2023
New York City, New York159 contributions16 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay on the 1st floor"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New Orleans area.
PRICE RANGE
€93 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew Orleans
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL ROYAL - FRENCH QUARTER BY J COLLECTION HOTELS | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (New Orleans, LA) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Jackson Square (0.4 km), Doctor Gumbo Tours (0.3 km), and New Orleans Secrets (0.4 km).
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Loretta's Authentic Pralines, Alberto’s Cheese & Wine Bistro, and Orleans Grapevine Wine Bar and Bistro.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Longue Vue House and Gardens (6.1 km), Hermann-Grima House (0.6 km), and Historic BK House & Gardens (0.2 km).
All New Orleans HotelsNew Orleans Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New OrleansHotels near Hotel Royal - French Quarter by J Collection Hotels
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire