We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal St Charles Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,221: English reviews
Start your review of Royal St Charles Hotel
 Click to rate
Oberlin
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Although the Queen room is rather small, our stay was nice. Location is perfect for tourists, walking distance to several attractions. Street car access right outside of door was helpful also. I would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D1155NBjohnl
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I didn't want to be in the French Quarter but close to it, so this hotel was perfect. We caught the St. Charles Avenue streetcar (to the Garden District and Uptown) right outside the hotel. It was also very convenient to catch the Canal Street streetcar to City Park. The room we had was small but not tight for two...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna N
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rosanna N - Thank you for the review. We really appreciate it and your business. We apologize that there were guests being boisterous in the hallway as we did not get any complaints or calls. We hope to see you again and if we are made aware of noise we will immediately dispatch our overnight security to ensure all...

Louisiana
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff is slow and inattentive, but the location (just across Canal from Royal) is very good. Since you probably won't be spending much time in your room, this place will work for a late night on the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha D
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tabitha D - Thank you for the feedback. We desire to be one of the most consistent options for quality downtown accommodations and we apologize that we did not achieve that during your recent stay. I will be sharing your feedback with the team so that we can learn from it. Thank you for taking the time to share....

Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I arrived on a Sunday afternoon. When we checked in a wonderful, sweet, pleasant women named Donna waited on us. She couldn't have been nicer. Very friendly with great conversation. Found out why we were there and upgraded us without us saying a word or requesting it. How nice is that! The next day we had some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rockythebarber
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rockythebarber - Donna, Trey, and Raquel are some of the nicest people in New Orleans and we are so glad you were able to get to know them. The team here takes such great care of our guests that we find ourselves thanking them often for feedback such as yours. They will be excited to hear your praises and...

Columbus
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was noisy at night. Had a hard time sleeping. It was Easter weekend, so I am thinking that is why it was noisy. We did love the room with the balcony. And we enjoyed the location. We could walk everywhere.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank christophergM2647TV
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear christophergM2647TV - Thank you for the perfect rating - we really appreciate the compliment and your selection of our boutique hotel, The Royal St. Charles Hotel. Yes - this past weekend was an eventful weekend with lots of festivities. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Ben B. General Manager

Maryland Line, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, around the corner from Bourbon Street, shopping, restaurants, the casino, River Walk and other attractions are also within walking distance. The hotel staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the best places to find things you are looking for. The rooms are really nice and clean; if the jr suite is available...book it!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astar2323
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear astar2323 - We sincerely appreciate the review and the time you took to share points about your stay. We hope to host you again soon as it is clear you enjoyed your time in New Orleans. Thanks again, Ben B. General Manager

New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great spot, great staff, great hotel.... but! Watch out for the extra fee for internet, gym, etc that they sneak on you at the end! Very close to the french quarter, street car stop right in front, free beer upon arrival!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rachaelo352
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachaelo352 - Thank you for the many compliments regarding our location, hotel and team. That wonderful arrival beverage for each paying adult is one of the many items that our amenity fee pays for (also included is high speed wifi internet, and Afternoon King Cake in our lobby, and PJ's coffee in each guest room). Thanks again for the...

Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there for French Quarter Fest and had no complaints. We arrived @ 11:30 am and were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. The only glitch was that our safe wasn't working, so we had to wait a bit for a repairman. In all fairness, they were not obligated to give us a room until 3 pm, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARSHE2000
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MARSHE2000 - Thank you for the feedback and we hope you enjoyed French Quarter Fest! It was a very exciting weekend and we hope to see you for the next festival. Thank you for the business! Sincerely, Ben B. General Manager

Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Its not often you can find a "value" hotel in the US and especially in New Orleans near all the nightlife, but we were lucky enough to book in early enough that we got a really good price and were absolutely stoked with this hotel. Upon arrival we were given free beer at the front desk and checked into our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benji W
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Benji W - We are very appreciative of your awesome rating and we were stoked to have you here too! Cant beat a cold beer after traveling! We hope to have you back again soon. Later days, Ben B. General Manager

Tupelo
Reviewed 1 week ago

enjoyed the hotel but would have liked to have had a microwave and refrigerator in the room. balcony was wonderful. As for the bathroom,a better grade of toilet tissue would be nice. The location is great. Enjoyed the street car stopping right on our corner

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O4439MDkenl
Benjamin B, General Manager at Royal St Charles Hotel, responded to this review

Dear O4439MDkenl - Thank you the great rating and review. We are very thankful for your selection of our beautiful boutique hotel situated in the prime location. We hope you enjoyed the streetcar into the Garden District too. Hope to see you again soon! Take care, Ben B. General Manager

458 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (113)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Balcony Double Suite (38)
Viewed
Balcony King Room (38)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
King Suite (49)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard King Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Compared to the more evocative monikers of some other parts of New Orleans, the downtown’s humdrum title might suggest that this area is all about business and little else. But don’t let the bland name keep you away from the Central Business District. The CBD offers a wide range of fun things to do that would be touted as exceptional in less jubilant corners of the world. Bordered by the French Quarter, the Arts District and Tremé, with the river at its eastern extreme, this hub for sports, gaming, shopping, theatre, family-friendly activities, and amazing regional cuisine makes a smart base wherever your interests lie.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Concierge
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal St. Charles Hotel is conveniently located in the heart of New Orleans - just 1 block from the world famous French Quarter, 1 block from historic Canal Street, 2 blocks from Harrah's Casino, 6 blocks from the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and 8 blocks from the Mercedes-Benz Superdome. The famous St. Charles Streetcar stops at our front door and leisurely transports visitors to the Garden District and Uptown areas. The hotel completed a total renovation in October 2012. Each of the hotel's 143 guestrooms are newly renovated and feature a sleek design with modern amenities: plush Serta beds, 42" high definition TV's, wi-fi internet, in-room digital safes, in-room coffee makers with New Orleans Roast Coffee, eco-friendly Terra Pure bath products and much more. Additional features of the hotel include a 100% smoke free environment, state-of-the-art fitness center, 2,262 sq. Ft. Of event space, on-site concierge services, valet parking and PJ's Coffee & Cafe. The Royal St. Charles Hotel is a favorite among business and leisure travelers and ready to assist each guest with friendly and attentive New Orleans hospitality. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing stay with us on your next visit to New Orleans! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal St Charles Hotel

Address: 135 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-2505
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Price Range: €104 - €372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal St Charles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal St Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal St Charles New Orleans
Hotel Royal St Charles
Clarion New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#54 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#75 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal St Charles Hotel staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Washington
6 months ago
Cootamundra, Australia
7 months ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Royal St Charles Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“interior rooms are cheaper”
493jcd, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a non-interior room, if you like a view.”
rojasclan, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pro and con: exterior rooms have good views but are noisier; interior rooms are very quiet.”
jamesbU8274HX, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The beds are Full size and too close to each other. It makes life a bit too difficult if more than 2 people.”
golnazj, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We like facing St. CHARLES.”
Sparky_Guy, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5