We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Frenchmen Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

883 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Frenchmen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 880: English reviews
Laurel, Mississippi
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We both love nostalgic buildings and unique places to visit and stay. This hotel definitely met those expectations. The staff was absolutely exquisite and very friendly. The only negative, was that they were having issues with a number of the televisions not working........and of course, our tv was one of them. We never did get it to work. But, hey......we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimgU1171MA
Management response:

jimgU1171MA, Thank you so much for writing. Sorry to hear that some of the cable monopoly bound guests are getting stuck with some of the new boxes that some other guest 'reprogrammed' for you. The tech who installed didn't know much about them at all so we did our own research and fixed all the boxes only to discover that...

Hampton, Virginia
Reviewed 12 February 2016

The hotel is in an excellent location. It gives you the NOLA feel. Parking is very limited and should be explained to future guest in advance. Over all we had a great time. The staff was helpful. Balcony rooms are the way to go.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank E649ZHgaryw
Management response:

E659ZHgaryw, What a lovely review. Thank you for writing. We do so appreciate our guests writing these reviews.

South Jordan, Utah
Reviewed 11 February 2016

The service was great and it was the best trip of my life, I wouldn't have changed a thing. Mardis Gras never felt like it was too much and coming home to that hotel felt safe and it was so close to all the fun!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 692gardnerw
Management response:

692gardnerw, You are are sweet for writing and we appreciate the sense of safety our establishment provides. it is nice to now that some else does as well. Thank you so much for writing.

Reviewed 9 February 2016

Have stayed here. Found it to be a nice place. Seem to have fair prices inline with similar Hotels. Convenient to local hot spots and historic areas. Have friends that have stayed there and they all seem to thing it was fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merlin M
North Houston, Texas
Reviewed 7 February 2016

if you are young and agile this might be a hip hotel - different levels and stairs everywhere. they 'tease' with breakfast incl., which is fine if your idea of breakfast is s dry bagle with a cup of danon yogurt. my room had the disgusting odor of chemical sanitizers but because of a fully booked hotel had not choice...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sualcn2016
Management response:

Dualsn2016, Thank you so much for writing. We appreciate the feedback. We are restored 19th century buildings combined via walkways and staircases, easily visible via our Social Media. Our breakfast is complimentary and continental, there is no 'tease' there. There are hundreds of wonderful places to eat within walking distance of our place. We just get you started. Hope you're...

Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Reviewed 6 February 2016

Went for my anniversary. Had a fantastic stay and plan on coming again! Would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and the ambiance was romantic. Had a nice continental breakfast. And the price was reasonable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank meganw650
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We love this place! Have been coming here every new years. The staff is very courteous and helpful with ideas of places to visit. Very convenient location with easy access to the quarter and the french market. Canal St. is only a ten minute leisurely walk. The new Year's festivities were great and we felt extremely comfortable there at Jackson...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JohnAult
Management response:

John, It is so good of you to have taken the time to write. Thank you. We appreciate you're comments and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves.

Port Huron, United States
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We checked in were given a room on the street, however were not the kind that parties all night so we requested a room away for our second night stay which the staff graciously obliged. First room was small but modern and clean bed was comfortable. The second room was poolside and more spacious with much nicer bathroom, it was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William M
Management response:

William, Thank you so much for writing. It is gracious of you to say such nice things about our place. I will let the staff know of your appreciation of their abilities. Do come again soon.

Auburn, California
Reviewed 30 January 2016

Not sure I would return - rest assured it is safe, and the staff is nice enough - but it is pricey for what you get, and had some issues - our room was in a back building, had to walk up stairs, then down stairs - through a little alley then there is your room, I am a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelinscott29120
Management response:

Travelinscot, Thanks so much for writing. We do appreciate all feedback. It sounds as though you might have preferred one of the branded properties across Canal. We are happy to hear thought that you overall enjoyed.

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 25 January 2016

This hotel is close to all the action. We parked in a lot that was very close by and affordable so don't worry about that if there is no parking available at the hotel. The room was very cute, the furniture was beautiful but there was some damage to it like knobs on the dressers were in the drawer and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elwarren1
Management response:

elwarren1, Thanks so much for taking the time to write. We appreciate the fact that you lent a helping hand. It sounds as though you know how to travel. Do come see us again.

396 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Poolside Room (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (25)
Viewed
King Suite (29)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#23 of 162 in New Orleans
927 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 162 in New Orleans
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
498 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
581 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Faubourg Marigny & Bywater

Neighbourhood Profile
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Nestled between the French Quarter and the Ninth Ward, the Faubourg Marigny & Bywater environs are largely residential. Of course, folks around here love to go out and have a good time as much as they do anywhere in NOLA. And if out-of-towners want to join in the festivities, well then so much the better! Home to some of the most revered live music venues in New Orleans, an eclectic gaggle of gourmand dining destinations, and a come-as-you-are vibe that’s as infectious as it is alluring, this is real deal New Orleans oozing with southern hospitality and the promise of a most epic night out. For endless opportunities to boogie, to admire row upon row of lovingly restored homes, and to escape the fray of the more touristic parts of town (but still live it up in grand style) head to Faubourg Marigny & Bywater.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Price Range: €132 - €315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Frenchmen Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia
11 months ago
Janesville, Wisconsin
over a year ago
Carson, California
17 days ago
Belle Glade, Florida
2 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Frenchmen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Thank you!”
 of 5 bubbles inshirahm, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was very spacious. Only complaint was the floors and baseboards were dirty. ”
 of 5 bubbles bambic2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you like less noise book a room at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Hoully, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just wish they would be a bit more detailed in cleaning the floors in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles dubh-ròs, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“had a bunch of friends in different rooms and all were super satisfied. We had the loft”
 of 5 bubbles W9144SMlindah, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5