We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Frenchmen Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Frenchmen Hotel
The Frenchmen Hotel
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

883 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 880: English reviews
Start your review of The Frenchmen Hotel
 Click to rate
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I feel very fortunate to find the Frenchman hotel for my first visit to NO. The staff could not have been more helpful. The room was very clean but small also. Wish I had reserved the suite instead of the basic room. Most of all we loved the location. Music and food within steps of the hotel. Some didn't like...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank CRDave1953
Management response:

Dave, Thanks so much for taking the time to write. We so appreciate it. Can't wait to have you back.

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friends and I had a great time. We were right in the center of the action but also felt like the hotel was a quiet safe haven. We had a balcony right off our bedroom and loved it! Definitely coming again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank inshirahm
Management response:

inshirahm, So happy to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed the city and hotel. It is so nice of to have written.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Avoid if you want to get any sleep. The hotel is very close to Frenchmen Street party area. With very loud music playing late at night and no soundproofing, sleeping is a challenge. Also, the hotel is pretty basic, both in the room setup and amenities. Breakfast and housekeeping sloppy and a bit on the sad side.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dario_corradini
Management response:

Dario, Thanks for writing. The music is exactly why we advertise as being in the heart of the music industry with authentic New Orleans charm. You might try one of the branded chains around Canal St. next time. Do enjoy your next trip to our city.

Michigan, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our first stay in the French Quater and everything at this hotel was perfect. The showe was amazing. Our room was beautiful and the staff was very helpful. The courtyard pool and hot tub were lovely. The surrounding music venues were great.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
Management response:

Christine, So happy to hear that you had a good time. Thank you so much for sharing your experience.

Harrison, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and her friends decided that New Orleans was the perfect senior year college break. They chose it based on location, pool and hot tub and the daily breakfast. It was a very secure hotel and safe hotel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bambi C
Management response:

Bambi, Thank you so much for having taken the time to write. It is so nice to hear that our guests have had a good time and it doesn't hurt that mom thinks it was a good trip too.

Vicksburg, Mississippi
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at the Frenchmen. If you're looking for a quiet place to sleep look elsewhere as this place is somewhat rowdy until the bars on Frenchmen close. The pool and hot tub were fantastic and we took advantage of them both nights we were in Nola. Parking is a little high but other than that I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Southerncharming
Management response:

Southerncharming, Thanks for your review. We strive to please. We couldn't be happier to hear that you had a good time. We are in the heart of the music industry so good advice.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was nice, high ceilings made it feel bigger. The bathroom needed to be cleaned better. I was located at the end of the French Quarter and in the Frenchman area. A good bit of restaurants and bars were close by. It would have been a bit more comfortable if they had rugs on the sides of the bed....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yadira C
Management response:

Yadra, Thanks for writing. We'll bring up this review at the next housekeeping meeting. We appreciate the information.

Covington
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location and clean room. Close to the quarter so thats a plus. It was cheap and well secured from the outside. I didn't fear any random strangers being able to just come Mrs with our rooms or anything like that.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V7411GAthomaso
Management response:

V7411GAthomaso, Thank you so much for having taken the time to write.

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My pal and I loved the heated pool and hot tub! Our room was clean and the bathroom and closet were nice and clean. Friendly staff, and right on Frenchman! Extremely walkable, close to bars and restaurants! We got lucky with street parking. Over all we had a wonderful stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevie_covart
Management response:

Stevie, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, our establishment and city. Sounds as though you had a very good time. Do come see us again soon.

Dallas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a dump! Very disappointed in this hotel. Not worth the exorbitant price (+$250 a night). We stayed in the "Deluxe Queen" which consisted of a Full bed (not a Queen) with the most uncomfortable all foam mattress ever! Room was tiny with just enough room for the bed and a musty old armoire with a broken door that never...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TXGreenman

396 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Poolside Room (28)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (25)
Viewed
King Suite (29)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Standard Queen Room (17)
Viewed
The Hotel (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#23 of 162 in New Orleans
927 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 162 in New Orleans
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on St Ann
Inn on St Ann
#34 of 162 in New Orleans
498 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
581 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Faubourg Marigny & Bywater

Neighbourhood Profile
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Nestled between the French Quarter and the Ninth Ward, the Faubourg Marigny & Bywater environs are largely residential. Of course, folks around here love to go out and have a good time as much as they do anywhere in NOLA. And if out-of-towners want to join in the festivities, well then so much the better! Home to some of the most revered live music venues in New Orleans, an eclectic gaggle of gourmand dining destinations, and a come-as-you-are vibe that’s as infectious as it is alluring, this is real deal New Orleans oozing with southern hospitality and the promise of a most epic night out. For endless opportunities to boogie, to admire row upon row of lovingly restored homes, and to escape the fray of the more touristic parts of town (but still live it up in grand style) head to Faubourg Marigny & Bywater.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With year round front door access to the heart of NOLA's live music scene, The Frenchmen Hotel is the perfect home for your next escape. Consisting of three remodeled mid 19th century Creole town houses, a heated pool, and beautiful sky deck, The Frenchmen offers a unique blend of modern comfort, contemporary fun, and historic class. Boutique without the fuss, The Frenchmen offers a variety of room types from lofted courtyard Queens to King Suites boasting private balconies on Frenchmen St. When the brass bands line up on the corner of Chartres and Frenchmen, be the first at the scene. Located right in the action, The Frenchmen offers unrivaled access to nightclubs, bars, and restaurants, putting both the French Quarter and Marigny neighborhoods at your fingertips. In addition to the heated pool, The Frenchmen provides free wi-fi for all guests, 24 hour complimentary coffee, tea, and bottled water service, as well as gated and covered parking for a nightly fee. We also welcome pets under 50lb. with deposit, and serve complimentary breakfast every morning in our gallery. Planning a party, group adventure, wedding, or event? The Frenchmen is the perfect home for your soiree, and our staff prides itself on concierge and planning services. Get to know New Orleans hassle-free and enjoy your dream vacation at ease. Contact the Front Desk 24/7 for more info. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Frenchmen Hotel

Address: 417 Frenchmen St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2022
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Price Range: €132 - €315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Frenchmen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Frenchmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchmen Hotel New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#44 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Frenchmen Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia
11 months ago
Janesville, Wisconsin
over a year ago
Carson, California
17 days ago
Belle Glade, Florida
2 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Frenchmen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Thank you!”
 of 5 bubbles inshirahm, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was very spacious. Only complaint was the floors and baseboards were dirty. ”
 of 5 bubbles bambic2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you like less noise book a room at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Hoully, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just wish they would be a bit more detailed in cleaning the floors in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles dubh-ròs, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“had a bunch of friends in different rooms and all were super satisfied. We had the loft”
 of 5 bubbles W9144SMlindah, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5