We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 475: English reviews
Start your review of Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
 Click to rate
New Orleans, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent stay. Great location. Wonderful breakfast. Stay here each visit. They provide reasonable rates, sometimes a little high, but comparable. Comfortable rooms, I like the ceiling fan. Street Car sound passing by is a nice background. Internet is good as is the selection of tv channels. Superior Grill is right next door. Easy dinner or lunch choices.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank colbyc759
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Colby, Thank you for reviewing your stay! I love our location also. There are so many great options for lunch and dinner without having to go too far. We will see you the next time you are in New Orleans! Kathleen Davis, Front Office Manager

florida
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This hotel is in the Garden District of New Orleans right across the street from a large hospital and many medical buildings. So parking is tight and the area a bit crowded. But the hotel had it all. It was a bit on the "compact" side but neat, clean and modern. We received a "clicker" to allow the gate to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mhirschberg1
About Hotel's Favourite Review
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! I'm happy to read you enjoyed our parking, breakfast, and rooms. We are conviently located on the streetcar line, so you don't even need to move your car to enjoy everything in New Orleans! Give us a call when you are ready to come back. Our front desk staff will be ready...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

pros-great location, across the street from the St. Charles street car -beautiful neighborhood (Garden District) -great restaurant next door (Superior Grill) -gated free parking cons-breakfast was less than desirable (and we have stayed at many, many BWs across the nation) - room was on the small side -noisy on the dumpster side of the building - plumbing problems (toilet overflowed-wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Ann, I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am glad you were able to enjoy our location and one of the great restaurants in our area. I will pass along your issues to housekeeping and to the breakfast staff. Thank you for your feedback. I hope you will stay with us again one day...

Stony Brook, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Located in the Garden District, you’re 75 feet from the nearest streetcar stop to take you east towards downtown or west towards Tulane. You’re also a 4-5 block walk to Magazine St. with its shops and restaurants. Our room was comfortable although there was a noticeable mildew/musty smell to the room. The room had two sinks and vanities which made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Dave, Thank you for reviewing your stay! I'm glad you enjoyed New Orleans. Most of rooms do come with the two sinks. Everyone tells us that they really do make a difference in the morning while getting ready! You are right about finding convenient street parking being difficult. Luckily, parking is included in our rate. Both of our parking options...

East Canton
Reviewed 1 week ago

We didn't get the king room we reserved. We were stuck with two small double beds. Couldn't sleep together on a couple's vacation to NOLA. Discovered when checking out that the refrigerator stopped working. AC didn't work right. Breakfast area is too small. No place to sit so we skipped breakfast. Parking is a block away and very inconvenient access...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jclapper4
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry for your experience and for the issue with the room type. We always want our guests to enjoy their stays in New Orleans. I'm glad we were able to provide you with a discounted rate during your stay. We hope you will visit us again to give us another chance to provide you with excellent customer service....

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We loved our stay at the Best Western St. Charles Inn. The location was excellent - we didn't want to stay in the crazy French Quarter, but it was easy enough to access with the streetcar right outside the hotel. The hotel is also close to the Garden District. The rooms are quaint and clean, and they provide the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank runrabbirunn
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay! I also love our breakfast. I eat it everytime I work in the morning! It changes a little every day, and there is always something for everyone. We hope to see you the next time you visit New Orleans! Kathleen Davis, Front Office Manager

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The area is safe. The crime rating on Area Vibes is C. Lots of places deliver here, including sushi. Poseidon makes a great crunchy roll. The breakfast hash in the lobby is great stuffed inside an omelet with sour cream. They leave drinks and snacks out in the afternoon. It is very nice to take your tray to the patio...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mommy121416
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay! I love our porch too. It is a great place to people and pet watch! I'm glad you were able to enjoy some of the restaurants in our neighborhood. It is quieter than downtown in our location, but we have a lot of great places so close by! We hope to see you the...

Wyoming, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location. Hotel tries hard to please. There was a problem with the waffle iron, but it was replaced. This is a classy New Orleans place, with a good restaurant right next door. Not too near the craziness of the French Quarter.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Phillip, Thank you for reviewing your stay! I'm glad we were able to get the waffle iron back up and running quickly for everyone. The waffles are always a popular breakfast option! We hope to see you the next time you visit New Orleans! Kathleen Davis, Front Office Manager

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelling with 2 big dogs can be difficult, but the staff at Best Western were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and welcoming. The breakfast was one of the best I have had for variety. I would highly recommend this hotel. After visiting the center of town, we were glad that we were staying a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexvgtwo
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Alex, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is great, because you can spend all day down town and then have a quiet neighborhood to come back to while still having plenty of restaurants and bars to check out in the evening. We always love when our guests bring their pets! I hope your dogs enjoyed...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay would have been great without the strong smell of air freshener. We stayed for 2 nights and asked not to have our room cleaned and the smell was still strong when we would return to our room. Other than that the hotel is nice, the bed is great and parking is included. The breakfast was very good with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rocky1895
melissaalbert, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! I'm sorry you did not enjoy the air freshener we use at the property. I will pass that feedback along to my manager. I'm glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay, though! We do sometimes have hot oatmeal as a breakfast option. We use the packets if the breakfast...

303 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Cityview King Room (28)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen Room (28)
Viewed
Standard King Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Prytania Park
Prytania Park
#83 of 162 in New Orleans
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
216 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
203 reviews
Garden District
Prytania Oaks Hotel
Prytania Oaks Hotel
#109 of 162 in New Orleans
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Garden District

Neighbourhood Profile
Garden District
Head to the Garden District for the full-on New Orleans experience replete with quaintly clanking streetcars, proudly grandiose antebellum mansions, picture perfect avenues lined with live oaks loaded down with Spanish moss, and a wealth of beautiful churches and many more architectural marvels. Even a brief excursion here makes plain why it’s called the Garden District. So, when you visit be sure to give yourself ample time for admiration at a languidly slow pace befitting such gentile strand of riverside living and to allow you to maximize each opportunity to stop and smell the roses – and whichever other blooms you might come across. While taking it all in, you’d do well to dine at one of the city’s most beloved destinations for regional cuisine. Gourmands from far and wide (and right round the corner) swear the age-old Commander’s Palace is the best restaurant in town – and have been doing so since it opened back in 1880.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This charming New Orleans Garden District hotel is located on historic St. Charles Avenue and provides convenient access to the French Quarter, the Super Dome, The WWII Museum, and the Aquarium of the Americas. Situated in historic uptown New Orleans near the beautiful Garden District, the Hotel is an easy streetcar ride away from Audubon Zoo and is the closest hotel to Tulane and Loyola Universities. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is the ideal getaway destination.Enjoy convenient access to many local attractions when staying at this Louisiana hotel such as the New Orleans Art District, the French Quarter and several nearby museums. Hotel guests will also be close to a variety of outdoor activities such as biking, horseback riding, golf, hiking and fishing. Each of the 40 well-appointed guest rooms comes equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, cable television and wireless high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests are welcome to a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include a state-of-the-art exercise facility, business center, and free parking. The BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn is conveniently located directly on the streetcar line to provide convenient transportation to other areas of Louisiana. Take a ghost tour of some of the many historical cemeteries nearby or spend an afternoon in the City Park. Families especially will enjoy visiting the Audubon Park & Zoo or the Aquarium of the Americas. Both Tulane University and Loyola University are within one and a half miles of the hotel, making the BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Charles Inn ideal lodging for those visiting students. New Orleans also hosts a variety of events year round such as JazzFest, Mardi Gras and several major sporting events ... more   less 

Additional Information about Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn

Address: 3636 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70115-4690
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Garden District
Price Range: €142 - €332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus St. Charles Hotel New Orleans
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#42 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#58 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms that front St. Charles Avenue”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisTravels2000, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Street view gets a view of Garden District”
 of 5 bubbles kimberlyk287, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors might be quieter during Mardi Gras / busy times just because they'll be further from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles 137ColleenH, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The street car goes all night but you get used to the gentle rumbling”
 of 5 bubbles 728marjorier, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing Saint Charles have a view of the parades!”
 of 5 bubbles Nolafan2164, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5