We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Soniat House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Soniat House
Soniat House
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

309 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Soniat House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 300: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Soniat House. It came highly regarded by a trusted friend, and I am pleased that we chose to stay there. Room: We booked a junior suite, but was upgraded upon our arrival. Our room was across the street and overlooked a beautiful courtyard. The room itself was large, with a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AEMcJ
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with a stay at Soniat House. Unless you have little regard for historic sites and genuine southern hospitality and charm. Yes, there are modern luxuries you may need to live without here (like one other reviewer, our bathroom didn't have hooks for robes!) but, really, why would you choose a modern hotel in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SuperSneak
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Upon entering the the doors, it felt as if we had arrived in a magical land of peace and quiet. The busyness of the street and the people didn't enter those doors at all. My husband and I spent three nights here and were elated at what we found at this perfect retreat. We had made last minute plans to...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank maryrountree
Collierville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have stayed at the Soniat House several times since 2007, alone and with my husband. When you walk through the green doors into the courtyard, you step back into time, into a world where service and soft spoken manners were once considered de rigeur. I have stayed in two of the grand suites, #64, which is located across the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ElizabethWeimer
London, England
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary having stayed at the delightful Soniat House in 2004, we wanted to return. It was all the things we remembered and more. We had a magical stay in this little idyll within the French Quarter. Our room was as gorgeous as we remember it and the team at Soniat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FamilyOubridge
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I can not recommend this place enough. The Soniat House is the perfect place to stay if you are visiting the French Quarter. The room was the perfect mix of old world charm and modern day amenities. The entire staff was not only super friendly but super educated and informative of all things New Orleans. Once we got there they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

We look forward to your return to Soniat House, soon and often. Thank you for your kind words,

Mill Valley, California
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

I hate to admit it, but I've stayed at Soniat House three times this year and it gets better and better.. I met a lady my age who has stayed five times this year! It's fun moving around to different rooms. I've stayed in at least six different rooms since I was in my 20's, 21 being my favorite. There...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cobramom415
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

Oh Kate Thank you so much for being so loyal and writing such glowing reviews. I really needed to receive this one today while I was attempting the reply to the previous reviewer. Hurry back. We will always be here for you.

New York
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Just checked in to this adorable well situated hotel that came highly recommended and was extremely excited to stay here. To be given a room the size if a closet with NO windows and an unbearable musty smell. Closet in the tiny dark bathroom. Save your money and stay anyplace other than this horrible establishment. Couldn't be more disappointed!!

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank suzyQ_3636
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

Don't you think that you could say a kind word about the hotel which moved you from you $245 room which you did not like to a $ 550 suite for the same $245 rate as soon as we had a check out and were able to clean the room ? It took me a couple of days of research...

New York
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Soniat is perfect in so many ways and staffed by such charming people that it pains me to gripe about anything. However, as it's billed as a luxury hotel and charges accordingly, it seems to me that the bathroom in a two-bedroom suite should at least be fully functional, if not actually luxurious. Ours (we had room 50) had...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank prettymongoose
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

No hooks? I can't apologize enough. How could we have missed that? It will be rectified immediately. We are in the process of redoing all of the bathrooms. Thanks to your constructive comments we will move that bath to the top of the list. Give us another try. We will try to do better for you next time. We'll have...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We've stayed at Soniat House twice now - for my birthday in February, 2014, and in 2012. I'm hoping to make it a yearly experience! This is a beautiful, romantic and historic inn complete with a charming courtyard! The staff are both friendly and accommodating, including the resident cat - Claire! The location is perfect too! Within the French Quarter,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marna G
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

Why just your birthday? We would love to see you more often. Thank you for the charming picture of Claire. She has so many friends I am thinking of getting her a facebook page!

508 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (306)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Grand Suite (45)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Suite (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 163 in New Orleans
3,777 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Maison de Ville
Hotel Maison de Ville
#92 of 163 in New Orleans
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#32 of 163 in New Orleans
386 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#22 of 163 in New Orleans
2,327 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 163 in New Orleans
4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Soniat House

Address: 1133 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2593
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: €258 - €634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soniat House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Soniat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soniat House Hotel New Orleans
Soniat Hotel New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Soniat House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Soniat House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Both of our rooms (my sister was traveling with us) were excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles 194sarac, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“For a special occasion the Grand Suites are magnificent!”
  • Bedroom
  • Sitting room settee
  • Sitting room chandelier
  • Sitting room
  • Reception hallway
  • View into sitting room from bedroom
  • Chartres St. in the fog
  • Gaslamp - View of Soniat House from our balcony
 of 5 bubbles BAM1113, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Other guests implied their rooms fronting the balcony could become a bit noisy both from the street and from balcony conversation”
 of 5 bubbles 680tedh, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“there wasn't a bad room I could find! But you have to want authentic....lovely, old world New Orleans.....a better place does not exist.”
 of 5 bubbles penelopeb298, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Grand Suites are immaculate!”
 of 5 bubbles DestinationDiaries, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5