We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Soniat House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Soniat House
Soniat House
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 291: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked 3 nights in a suite in October. Room number 16 for a nightly rate including tax at $800 a night. The room stunk. They had a small Air Purifier in the room but way under sized. A hotel employee came to the room to verify but they could not move us until the next day as they were sold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jed G
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

I can't imagine why you couldn't reach me. I rarely leave the hotel property. I have my office and live on property. Your review was the first that I knew that you were trying to reach me. I do have a hotel extension next to my bed in case I am needed at any time but I do not get... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My fiancée and I spent three nights at Soniat House last week, our base for a trip to plan our wedding. We're experienced travelers with 104 years between us. We chose Soniat House on the basis of a strong recommendation from a colleague of mine, a former NOLA resident who's since stayed there several times. It's a warm and entirely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ted H
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We think that our staff of over 20 for a 30 room hotel is pretty high. Granted quite a few of us are not visible to the guests but we are here. It is a shame that you did not inquire about a workout facility. Soniat House guests have complimentary use of the private... More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A trip in the past, an old house with Nice courtyard in the middle, our room was 21 and had a superb balcony for breakfast, or have in the courtyard, which is peacefull and full of greens. The room had great high bed, and old furniture which blends to the southern feeling. Great bar for drinks and very friendly staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank zdaati
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

And no hotel can ask for better guests. Please come back soon and often. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

If you're coming to New Orleans and want N oasis from the hubbub then this is the hotel for you. But only if you want French quarter style. If you want 24/7 food and waiter service choose somewhere else. This is a quality bijou hotel and not to be missed.

Helpful?
Thank Mike K
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

We love being called a " bijou". Merci mille fois. More 

Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We loved almost everything about this hotel. Our room was well appointed and clean, however dirty glasses were not always removed. Breakfast served in our room was delicious. The shower was powerful, and the towels luxurious. We selected this hotel in hopes that it would be a bit quieter than the ones more centrally located in the French Quarter. Unfortunately,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

It is very kind of you to give us such a nice review since you obviously were disturbed by the drainage project on Governor Nicholls Street. In an effort to get the job completed quickly they have started arriving very early. We were advised of the project the week before it started and at that time we were told that... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016

When enough five-star reviews show up for a hotel, one wonders whether there is a point to posting yet another five-star review. But the Soniat House deserves another five-star review. We stayed for four nights in early October. Without exception, the staff was friendly, gracious, and helpful. The hotel was decorated exquisitely yet not preciously. Our room - 63 -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Godzillabird
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

No business can ever have too many five-star reviews. Thank you so very much for your kind words. More 

Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

A beautiful hotel just outside the hustle and bustle of the Quarter. The Courtyard offers a quiet respite and view of the historic structure. The staff is most gracious and accommodating and the breakfast is reasonable and delicious. Definitely would return!

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

Oh please do return soon. It is easy to be gracious and accommodating for lovely people like you. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016

In the beautiful and atmospheric French Quarter. One walks in to a courtyard. It is completely breathtaking.....if you are interested in the Southern experience....and especially the completely unique French Quarter in New Orleans. You are in Europe. Exquisite taste; atmosphere,.......antiques everywhere. the topper is the buttermilk biscuits in your room in the morning........OMILORD! I bought the terra cotta "brick" to... More 

Helpful?
Thank penelopeb298
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

What do we have to do to secure First Place? You are obviously a very faithful longtime client. We have not been able to offer the warming stones for sale for many years. We unfortunately have lost our source and are protecting them as if they were made of bullion. I hope that you are enjoying yours, Take care of... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2016

A charming hotel with a tranquil courtyard garden and lovely staff. We did have to change rooms due to a booking mistake but we didn't mind. We received a complimentary bottle of champagne as it was my birthday. The breakfast is a simple biscuit (scone) and jam affair. Staff gave helpful tips and local recommendations. The rooms had gorgeous antiques... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anoki01
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I hope we helped to make your birthday special. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

The perfect old mansion experience in the French Quarter. Decoration is authentic, beautiful rooms and garden, service is very welcoming and smiling, confort is great and location extremely convenient. We slept 3 nights and came back for another last night at the end of our vacations. Our kids loved the place and so did we. Breakfast could be improved (have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie F
Frances S, Owner at Soniat House, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. What you like about our small intimate hotel is the very reason that we can't offer a full breakfast menu. We don't have space for a full kitchen. We have just recently added menus to the rooms offering a little more variety to our traditional homemade buttermilk biscuits, strawberry preserves , fresh orange juice... More 

486 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (306)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Grand Suite (45)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Suite (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
3,502 reviews
French Quarter
Le Richelieu in the French Quarter
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 162 in New Orleans
2,199 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
354 reviews
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in French Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port of call for folks in search of a good time and a great story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the Quarter, brightly colored Victorian homes and businesses, famously done up with wrought-iron features, provide a distinct and immediately recognizable backdrop for all varieties of fun. At any given moment in this historic riverside setting, some of America’s finest meals are being cooked, most potent cocktails are being mixed, and most engaging music is being performed.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Soniat House

Address: 1133 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2593
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Price Range: €260 - €588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Soniat House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Soniat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soniat House Hotel New Orleans
Soniat Hotel New Orleans
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#68 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Soniat House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Soniat House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Other guests implied their rooms fronting the balcony could become a bit noisy both from the street and from balcony conversation”
 of 5 bubbles 680tedh, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“there wasn't a bad room I could find! But you have to want authentic....lovely, old world New Orleans.....a better place does not exist.”
 of 5 bubbles penelopeb298, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Grand Suites are immaculate!”
 of 5 bubbles DestinationDiaries, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the other side of the street from reception are quieter. First-floor rooms are cooler.”
 of 5 bubbles travishm, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are on the first floor and they enjoy a courtyard balcony. Ground floor rooms open onto the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles RebeccaT509, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay