We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Magnuson Grand Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Magnuson Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 137: English reviews
Portage, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked last minute for a night out in Madison. We were impressed by this hotel. Good location off interstate, close to casino. Room was very spacious and clean. Nice Keurig coffee makers was a plus. Morning breakfast was good. Ice cold milk was a plus! It was great coming back to hotel after a nice out and being able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burnstad87
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thrilled you enjoyed your stay! I'm so glad you found your room accommodating and comfortable. Always happy to help a guest out with their needs, even if it means heating up a pizza! Thanks for the kind words, and we look forward to having you back next time you're in town! All the best, Ingrid, Manager

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You could travel the world staying in hotels every night and I doubt you'd find a worse front desk staff anywhere. The kid working the day shift is the worst I've ever seen and the night girl wasn't much better. This hotel obviously doesn't believe in cash, despite having things for sale, and when I voiced my frustration that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pearl3131
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Though you enjoyed our location and bed, I'm sorry your customer service experience was not of the same caliber. I expect each and every guest to receive a welcoming and kind attitude from my team, and I'm disappointed we dropped the ball with you. I'll be sure to have a chat with my staff about this. Again, I apologize and...

McHenry, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were guests at your hotel on November 12, 2016. We stayed in Room 217 as part of a wedding party. At check out we mentioned to Anna that the toilet in the room did not work properly. She offered us a 20% discount on our next stay and we said that we wanted a discount on our current stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 444Reviewer
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I understand your frustration, and I am so sorry it has taken us awhile to get your discount credited to you. I truly apologize for the miscommunication and will do everything I can to speed up the process. As for your book, I'm disappointed you haven't received it yet. I'll double check to make sure it was mailed out to...

Howards Grove
Reviewed 6 December 2016

This is the 4th year we held Our Family Christmas, at the Magnuson Grand Hotel in Madison WI. We were greeted by some new faces. Sherice greeted us as we checked -in and throughout or stay, she checked with us to make sure everything was okay. After checking- in, we met Ward. He assisted us with any needs we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueBobK
Ingrid R, Owner at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Words can't describe how much your feedback means to us. Thank you for noticing all the hard work we've put into our hotel in the last two years. We've always had our guests in mind, and I'm thrilled your experience has continuously improved since. Honored you've stuck with us over the past four Christmas seasons to celebrate with your family....

Montgomery, Illinois
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nites in a king suite. Everything was clean and comfortable. The front desk was efficient and cordial. I especially enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. Breakfast bar was acceptable, but nothing special, so if a nice breakfast is important to you, plan to go out. (Still making this location a great value). It took only 10-15...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PunkinPeaks
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Glad your stay was a pleasant one! I'm so happy you were pleased with your room and our overall cleanliness. We try our best to make every guest's stay a comfortable and relaxing one! Thrilled you got the chance to take advantage of our pool and hot tub as well. If you're ever in the area again, I'd love to...

Kenosha
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We have stayed at the Magnuson Grand Hotel at least 5 times and have been very pleased with all visits. The stay is friendly, rooms are nice, and it's close to the highway. And for gamblers, the casino is right down the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia O
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Thrilled each visit has left you pleased, Alicia! We'll always make sure your room is comfortable and our service is cheery. Looking forward to having you back for more stays in the future! Sincerely, Ingrid, Manager

Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Stayed here a couple of nights while getting work done at a nearby business. Reasonable price, friendly staff, breakfast OK, room clean, indoor pool OK. Casino nearby, although nothing like Vegas (hotel staff can provide coupon and request ride).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TAXGUY_10
Management response:

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit! You can always count on getting friendly service and a fair price with us. If you ever find yourself back in the area, we'd love to have you stay with us again! Sincerely, Ingrid, Manager

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This was the choice location for a group price with a family wedding. We started out by getting the wrong room. They quickly corrected that. Then there were no hand towels or washcloths. They brought them promptly but not enough for all the people. There was only very tepid water for showers in the morning. There were new Keurig coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy75070
Management response:

Though some time has passed, Tammy, I still wanted to apologize for our lack of preparation. I'm sorry you were sent to the wrong room and then later left without towels in your new one. We usually have things ready to go for our guests, but it sounds like we dropped the ball this time around. Hot water, whether it's...

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We haven't been here for a few years after a very bad experience with very rude employees. We decided to give them another try. Very much improved. Check in went very fast even though the poor girl had to deal with rude drunk people before us. She kept very calm even with the phone ringing like crazy and these guys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

I'm thrilled you gave us a second chance, Sandy! We've been working hard at perfecting our guest's stay, and I'm glad my team gave you the service you deserve. Looking forward to having you back next time! Sincerely, Ingrid, Manager

Walla Walla
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Arrived at 9:30 pm on a Friday night. No desk attendant on hand to check us in. Two other parties arrived at the same time. Rang the bell several times and no attendant came. Finally called the front desk from the house phone. Pretty soon two female employees meandered to the desk. No apology/reason for absence was given. The first...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chalkjb
Ingrid R, Manager at Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Though a few months have passed, I wanted to apologize for all the front desk confusion. I'm disappointed my team wasn't on hand at such a reasonable time. I'm not quite sure why you were told two completely different things about your payment, but I've been doing my best to make sure my team is better organized with our guests'...

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
2.0 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Madison
2.7 km away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#35 of 61 in Madison
425 reviews
11.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
4.1 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
4.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Under new management and new renovations. A complimentary hot breakfast is served early each morning. In addition to indoor pool and hot tub, Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison provides 24-hour fitness room and business center with complimentary fax and copy service. Magnuson Grand Hotel Madison also features conference rooms and party rooms. Flat screen television in lobby. The property has a knowledgeable 24-hour front desk staff eager to help guests with any questions. Wine, champagne and beer available on site until 2am. Many packages available including golf packages and casino packages. Frequent stay program and discounts available upon request. Rate match guarantee program available upon request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Hotel

Address: 3510 Millpond Road, Madison, WI 53718-6810 (Formerly Grand Hotel Madison)
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range: €61 - €151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnuson Grand Madison
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay on the top floor if you can”
 of 5 bubbles lognshadow73, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the Cambria Suites for the same price were luxury vs. this abysmal dump.”
 of 5 bubbles 311marij, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles lindalA3112HY, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Staying again this weekend!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles gregoryb327, 31 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Home wood suites is next door and much more modern. Wifi is super slow.”
 of 5 bubbles 346mariej, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay