We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Show Prices
#11 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

976 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Showing 967: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We booked this hotel over the phone at a special block rate for a friend's wedding. We specifically requested two queen beds because originally four of us were going to be staying in the room. Luckily two people backed out at the last minute, because there's no way we could have fit four in our room. The beds were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlyn A
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you Kaitlyn. Sorry about the beds. We do offer two full size or one king size for bedding. I'm glad it worked out OK and otherwise you enjoyed.

Boechout, Belgium
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Spent a night at this Hilton and enjoyed it. A warm welcome at the reception, a great steak and wine at the restaurant, a nice cup of coffee in front of the fireplace in the early morning. I keep good memories of this hotel, which felt cosy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LUC T
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review

Sounds great....thank you. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I was really disappointed in my stay at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. AC was broken and the room was hot. Windows wouldn't open. The door lock had serious issues with sticking. The beds were horribly uncomfortable with deep depressions and springs that could be felt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience Steven. We will look into these room concerns right away. Thank you for making us aware. I hope you will consider giving us another chance. This is not typical of our guest's experiences.

Dublin, United States
Reviewed 14 October 2016

The Hilton Monona Terrace was an excellent stay as always for business or pleasure! The restaurant, bar and breakfast room were top notch as always. Room was clean, renovated, and comfortable. This is the place to stay in Madison!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David Todd K
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review

Fantastic...thank you David!

Reviewed 14 October 2016

Rooms are very bland. Construction is understandable, but it was active even during the weekends making it difficult to rest or work during the day in the room. Parking is expensive and not even guaranteed at night! If the garage is full you have to drive a block away to another garage. Albeit they validate the ticket, but what's the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MnLe
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry your experience was mediocre. Our parking garage does fill up at times, which is why we offer our guests complimentary parking and pay for a garage one block away when this happens. We always offer valet parking too if you prefer. I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you...

Chicago, United States
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This is a boutique style hotel in a charming neighborhood directly on the lake. We were greeted warmly curbside by the valet, at the desk and by the housekeeping staff as we approached our room. This alone was noteworthy. Our room was updated, perfectly kept and nicely decorated. We chose a king facing the lake. We found the room large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review Susan. I will be sure to share with the team! Look forward to having you back.

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Breakfast is expensive; parking is expensive; nice hotel but overpriced; when checking out, be sure to review all your costs.....I was charged for two days of valet parking which I did not use. I questioned the charges of $40, and they were removed without any fuss. Nice hotel.....just overpriced.....have stayed in just as nice hotels for a lot less!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 411sallyf
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We have some times that are not such high demand that we offer great value. I hope you will consider giving us another opportunity.

Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I have stayed here many times and have always enjoyed myself. I usually travel for business but this time was a weekend getaway. The hotel is always spotless and professionally run by great a great staff. The rooms are big with great views all around. A must if your in Madison.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review

It's true, our location is one of our best features. Thank you for the very nice comments and Five Stars!

Milwaukee
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Nice hotel in a great location. We were in town for a wedding at Monona Terrace. The sky walk over to the Terrace was very convenient. Also within walking distance of plenty of bar and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmyaeger
Jackson, Tennessee, United States
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

A weekend stay for family wedding - nicely appointed rooms on the 9th floor looking out at the Capitol building which is an amazing site. The Saturday Farmers Market is only two blocks away surrounding the Capitol and is not to be missed. We had a crisp morning so grabbed coffee at Ancora and walked the entire market, enjoying the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patti S
Skip_Harless, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback Patti. I'm sorry about the parking garage. We actually do have elevators to every level. I will look at how we might make those more visible. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

438 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (172)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (206)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Corner King Room (28)
Viewed
King Room (34)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)
Viewed
Two Double Room (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
1.1 km away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
588 reviews
0.6 km away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.6 km away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 61 in Madison
606 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, perfectly located in downtown Madison just two blocks from Capitol Square, is an elegant property connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with spectaculor views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. With an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces, the hotel boasts full service dining and bar options as well. Transportation service is provided complimentary to downtown locations, including the University and Kohl Center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 E Wilson St, Madison, WI 53703-3421
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Price Range: €122 - €218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#10 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Madison Monona Terrace staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Lincolnwood, Illinois
1 month ago
Chicago, Illinois
3 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Madison Monona Terrace staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Come back when construction is over.”
 of 5 bubbles satchel21, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“King rooms offer TONS of room.”
 of 5 bubbles HughNL, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“water view is beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles B1790QZbrucem, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“lake view was beautiful but I'm told the capitol view is also incredible”
 of 5 bubbles 878christenf, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“select a stunning lake view room”
 of 5 bubbles 751susanl, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay